D5100 user...fall in!! Part Two

Konspire said:
nope bro, i tested on 18-105mm, 55-200mm, 70-300mm.......it's all in manual manual manual focus....u shld try it, it's very nice cos u get the effect of the $20,000 video camera......sweee.......

I'm gona try on my 18-55mm n 18-200mm too...

yes bro, do try but remember, manual mode only.....play on the focus ring. u'll be amazed with the effect you can get.....;)

I'm gona try on my 18-55mm n 18-200mm too...

Konspire said:
yes bro, do try but remember, manual mode only.....play on the focus ring. u'll be amazed with the effect you can get.....;)

Okie ..bro

eh sorry, one more thing, this effect requires largest aperture size so set the aperture first then record n play the DOF. to get all view clear, stop recording n just reduce the aperture again then start to record again...

Okie ..bro

Konspire said:
eh sorry, one more thing, this effect requires largest aperture size so set the aperture first then record n play the DOF. to get all view clear, stop recording n just reduce the aperture again then start to record again...

I try to use 50mm f1.8 d first I had the clips which I use tis lens borrow from friend just trying to manual focus during recording cos I don like to sound of AF motor ....maybe I should try the DOF too.heeee...

Konspire said:
bro, i dunno good news or not but for it's certainly good news. i managed to play with the DOF in the movie mode like focus foreground blur background then focus background blur foreground. was very happy with the results.....:D

Alamak, you want that kind of effect ah? Play with zoom can liao. Hahaha...

For better effect, get those prime lens like 105mm or 135mm with big aperture. They work wonders. 85mm also can

Reno said:

For better effect, get those prime lens like 105mm or 135mm with big aperture. They work wonders. 85mm also can

I think he means the result is front defocus centre well focus n behind defocus almost like 3D....only main subject is center .u need wider apature to do tat bro .

Reno said:

In actual fact for movie recording focus n defocus are widely use but not zooming most of the time u keep all subject in ur parameter

Konspire said:

Hahaha...bro ur becoming a videographer ...ok bro not to zoom during recording play with the focus n defocus , zoom only when u stop recording go to the next scene continue a few clips join than using window movie maker or other video software .....there u are u directed ur own movie .

Haha...ya la. That kind of effect. I saw it in d800 joyride movie n thot its beautiful. Cant do it in a normal video cam so dslr can do ok la.

I try everything from photography to videography...just for the fun of it. National geographic mah...hahaha....chey...

Konspire said:
Haha...ya la. That kind of effect. I saw it in d800 joyride movie n thot its beautiful. Cant do it in a normal video cam so dslr can do ok la.

I try everything from photography to videography...just for the fun of it. National geographic mah...hahaha....chey...

Hahaha..u use this method sure looks great ..enjoy ... I'm new to photographing but not videography ....Hahaha...just kidding . Bro .

limmisha said:
Hahaha..u use this method sure looks great ..enjoy ... I'm new to photographing but not videography ....Hahaha...just kidding . Bro .

Haha...same la bro, learning all the same....still noob...

Paiseh... Not play with zoom... Play with focusing... Hehehee... Sorry sorry... Wrong tip...

Reno said:
Paiseh... Not play with zoom... Play with focusing... Hehehee... Sorry sorry... Wrong tip...

Haha....its ok bro. As long as we understand its alrite

Konspire said:
the 3rd one bro. the one we can fine under FX category in nikon website....in fact i asked my fren abt the sound, he says its the VR sound. strangely the AF is quiet unlike other lenses i have with the whizz sound but never encounter the VR sound like that.

Normal for VR lens, my old 80-400VR also behave the same. But not the same for those high end lens with VR. Those are more silent

Reno said:
Normal for VR lens, my old 80-400VR also behave the same. But not the same for those high end lens with VR. Those are more silent

Reno bro mine sent fro repair before 18-200mm.VR faulty , so I seldom use VR unless I zoom. I notice when u release ur shutter button u hear a click sound something like tat .VR not cheap ...

Reno said:
Some more it takes almost a month for repair ...long. long Q man ..

Reno said:

I see. So its normal la...

Reno said:

Bro ask u. The 50mm f/1.8g, is a fx lens. When used on dx will be equiv to 75mm, the question is, how is it for u? Is the lens tight for indoors? Thxs to comment.