D300 Pricing

yeps.. both definitely overlap.. 18-70 at BnS is selling ard 200.. 16-85 Brand new is going for 950.. but both are really nice lens that can deliver... unless ders a need for VR and slightly wider + slightly longer.. else cant fork out the extra 700.. haha..

just nice the tamron 17-50 F2.8 sits in nicely between em though..

where is BnS btw? and y does the 18-70 and 16-85 has such a big price range different?

BnS-> Buy and sell in this forum.. haha

hmm.. good question no idea, maybe cuz of the VR, wider and longer.. :D

BnS-> Buy and sell in this forum.. haha

hmm.. good question no idea, maybe cuz of the VR, wider and longer.. :D

what about 1st hand 18-70?? any idea about the price?

Cool ! $2K ! That's a good price.... Making me darn gian..... ;p

Lens wise... I'd think that the 18-105 VR that folks are unloading at $350 on CS BnS is a good workhorse lens. Seems to have pretty good reviews.

I'd double that up with the 70-300VR cos it's an unbelievable lens with superb IQ! I have it so I noe.... heh heh......

Add the 50mm f1.8 for portrait to complete the entire setup. Add an UWA or Macro if you're into those. Personally, I'd go for the Tok 11-16mm for UWA and either the 105mm Nikon or the Sigma 150mm for the macro depending on your reach.

Anyways, I'd think that the main lenses being considered depends on the type of photos you normally capture. Fast lens wise, I've heard good stuff abt the 17-55 f2.8 I think.

Alan Photo.
Sim Lim Square.

served by which salesperson?

from my past experience the competition within the shop is quite high..

i like the service and price quoted by a sales person there- Ben, wonder if u were served by him :D

woot... the price different not a lot actually...get 1st hand better?

hmmm.. :think: i would save up on the extra cash to fund a 50mm.. since i know 18-70 might be a stepping stone to a better lens :D

Heya guys,

Was looking at the D300 in April May this year but did not buy then cos was still pretty new to photography. Reconsidering now looking at the offerings that are coming out or had came out (D700, D90, 5DMk2, 50D) that is "helping" to push prices down.

Appreciate if you can offer information on D300 pricing and your thoughts on upgrading during this period with a moderate need ?

I am using the D40x since Jan 08 and still ok with it. Mainly my complaint is that my Tok 11-16mm UWA and Nik 50f1.8 is manual focus on this body and also that the D40x body has some limitations - like no cable release for bulb modes.....

THANKS ! ;) BBB virus huh ?

i donno what to say, but i feel a nikon d300 replacement gonna come next yr, probably with HD video, higher mp, higher iso..

but d300 is good enuf to warrant a buy now, though 2.1k still a bit high for street prices ;p

hold back ur purchase if u can, wait for the next price drop ;)

lol just went to the BnS section and see found out that all the lens they sell there less than $1k... woot cheap sia...i would sure like to buy a 70-200 or 70-300 haha dam dam dam cool... but 1st i need a BODY!!!..where to buy better wor?

i donno what to say, but i feel a nikon d300 replacement gonna come next yr, probably with HD video, higher mp, higher iso..

but d300 is good enuf to warrant a buy now, though 2.1k still a bit high for street prices ;p

hold back ur purchase if u can, wait for the next price drop ;)

Hey, thanks ! Will work on my looning kungfu..... See how long before true needs come in perhaps ?

lol just went to the BnS section and see found out that all the lens they sell there less than $1k... woot cheap sia...i would sure like to buy a 70-200 or 70-300 haha dam dam dam cool... but 1st i need a BODY!!!..where to buy better wor?

Where to buy body? Try Lords or TK (their prices are generally lower (Based on quotes they give me))

like no cable release for bulb modes.....

THANKS ! ;) BBB virus huh ?

for this, D90 with remote will give u AF and ur "cable release" with bulb.

or if d90 no remote, u can just get a remote for ur 40x. cost under $20 iirc. ;)

for this, D90 with remote will give u AF and ur "cable release" with bulb.

or if d90 no remote, u can just get a remote for ur 40x. cost under $20 iirc. ;)

Hey, thanks ! Have been using my wireless remote from D70...... Still bearable but got new stuff leh.... ahahaha. :P

Eh get from cathay,damn cheap.
$2580 after GST.
With grip 8gb bag cleaning kit.

And the lengendary Nikon umbrella.

Hey, thanks ! Have been using my wireless remote from D70...... Still bearable but got new stuff leh.... ahahaha. :P

alamak u gian for new stuff just admit la :bsmilie:

then i will say, go for it. if u can afford, u will not regret:angel:

alamak u gian for new stuff just admit la :bsmilie:

then i will say, go for it. if u can afford, u will not regret:angel:

Yeah, I gian for new stuff la..... but still need to "justify" . :-P hahahaha !

i know what u mean. ;) pity the wife is never convinced by my justifications:dunno::bsmilie:

ok lets stop here before mod comes to fry our backside. back to topic on D300 pricing :angel:

Yeah, back to the cameras stuff.....

Anyone has any opinion on D90 body only at $1000 to $1100 ? Think it's worth it ?

I have been salivating over the specs so far and seems like the D300 and the D90 is a tough fight..... the main diff of cos is that the D300 is more pro-oriented and the D90 is more mainstream I guess.....

Well, if there's a DXX that's

1. CMOS sensor
2. 15 mpix or better
3. Full frame
4. 5 fps or better
5. Size & weight of the D70/D80/D90
6. Throw in HD video no max limit.....
7. No more than $1400 body only

Wooo..... my only headache will be OVER. Haha.... yeah yeah, dream on...... :embrass: