D2x @ 6mp

Kodaks can do that? This is interesting to know! I've always wanted an ability to select the resolution of my pics but still retain the RAW format.....

Why doesn't Nikon have this!!????

oeyvind said:
How I wish that my camera can have feature like Kodak FF DSLRs that can record in lower resolution raw format.

RAW
• 13.5 MP 4500 x 3000
• 6.0 MP 3000 x 2000
• 3.4 MP 2250 x 1500

Ya, this would be a really neat feature. Maybe as a firmware upgrade?

agape01 said:
Totally pointless thread.

Totally pointless reply. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Wai said:
You've said it.

Yep, this is one feature I find lacking on the DSLRs nowadays, but can always do it after shooting, ie 12MP resize to 6mp NEF. Can be done.. but ... :dunno:

Wai said:
wah lau..... in that case I better +1 first.... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

BTW isn't D2x + 2X crop = 6mp......

Tell you what... Buy your new D2x body and pass your D100 that you're currently selling to Nikon Service Centre and get them you put your D100 sensor into your D2X. ;p

Voola... you've now got your dream 6MP D2X body!!!

Next, get Nikon Service Centre to put in the 12MP sensor to your D100 body... hmmm:think: I believe you'd fetch a very good resale value for your 12MP D100.

Good Idea rite?:bigeyes: :bsmilie:

Next prob is... how much NSC is going to charge your for the modifications?

i think very bo liao. if have $$$ just get the D2X, why bother thinking that Nikon should release 6MP one? which is plain silly and a camera that sane people will never buy for the price.

also, if one can afford the D2X, one certainly can afford a powerful enough workstation to do batch processing to convert RAW-->12MP JPEG-->6MP JPEG very quickly.

Why why why why is D2X at 12MP? Why ain't it 6MP? Sigh. Headache. It would be nice if D2X came with a 6MP sensor or even 8MP, but buy 12MP? I certainly for one can't use up all the 12MP and neither do I need it. :(

Would it be possible that Nikon might release a 6/8 MP version of D2X? ;p

Reading from your message above, it have been conclude that your destiny have been sealed.

Grap the unlimited power of the Dark Side.
Dun resisit. :devil: :devil: :devil:

I will be deleting Kingtigers 2 posts above on Tuesday night .. enjoy them while you can folks.

Reason: OT big time and bandwidth unfriendly.

sykestang said:
Tell you what... Buy your new D2x body and pass your D100 that you're currently selling to Nikon Service Centre and get them you put your D100 sensor into your D2X. ;p

Next, get Nikon Service Centre to put in the 12MP sensor to your D100 body... hmmm:think: I believe you'd fetch a very good resale value for your 12MP D100.

They'll charge? :sticktong

tao said:
i think very bo liao. if have $$$ just get the D2X, why bother thinking that Nikon should release 6MP one? which is plain silly and a camera that sane people will never buy for the price.

also, if one can afford the D2X, one certainly can afford a powerful enough workstation to do batch processing to convert RAW-->12MP JPEG-->6MP JPEG very quickly.
If you people think this thread is bo liao.. perhaps to you.

I would buy the D2X if it's 6MP. Believe me, I would. Have you even tried the D2X at 12MP?

I have a workstation powerful enough to convert 12MP NEF of D2X, but the point is at the end of the day I'm going to use only 6-8MP, so why would I want to waste time re-doing it to 6mp? Sure, I can do batch, but then, what for?

I never had a need for more then 4mp, I'm lamenting and hoping Nikon can release a 6-8MP D2X version instead. 12MP is nice, the details are SCARY, but also, feedback from 2 users, at 12MP the images are soft, personally I find them ok at Normal sharpness.

Affording the D2X is one thing... the usefullness of the 12MP is very subjective for me. Maybe Jed and Ian can use to the max of 12MP, but to me it's an overkill. And no, I don't like H/Hs series ;p not my cuppa tea. :bsmilie:

King Tiger said:
Reading from your message above, it have been conclude that your destiny have been sealed.

Grap the unlimited power of the Dark Side.
Dun resisit. :devil: :devil: :devil:
It already has, from prototype to launch to now ;p you're slow. KT :kok:

If you people think this thread is bo liao.. perhaps to you.

I would buy the D2X if it's 6MP. Believe me, I would. Have you even tried the D2X at 12MP?

I have a workstation powerful enough to convert 12MP NEF of D2X, but the point is at the end of the day I'm going to use only 6-8MP, so why would I want to waste time re-doing it to 6mp? Sure, I can do batch, but then, what for?

I never had a need for more then 4mp, I'm lamenting and hoping Nikon can release a 6-8MP D2X version instead. 12MP is nice, the details are SCARY, but also, feedback from 2 users, at 12MP the images are soft, personally I find them ok at Normal sharpness.

Affording the D2X is one thing... the usefullness of the 12MP is very subjective for me. Maybe Jed and Ian can use to the max of 12MP, but to me it's an overkill. And no, I don't like H/Hs series ;p not my cuppa tea. :bsmilie:
This speaks very clearly of your mind. Wat for arguing wif yourself? (Bo Liao=U, wanna buy n hiam this hiam that.)
Dun buy D2X(12MP). Wait for D2X(6-8MP), hopefully your wish can come true. Simple as that.:faint:
So now u WAIT WAIT WAIT...
Or call Nikon tailor 1 for you.;)

Soft? I do believe it is due to camera setting. Once the setting is right, it should be ok.
However, it is sensitive to vibration....;)

At 12MP, the sensor is definitely sensitive and ready to capture all details. :)

Thus I am not surprise that it is sensitive to little vibrations.

sigh... already told you to get the ML3 to go with your D2x, you don't want... CBD!

sykestang said:
At 12MP, the sensor is definitely sensitive and ready to capture all details. :)

Thus I am not surprise that it is sensitive to little vibrations.

sigh... already told you to get the ML3 to go with your D2x, you don't want... CBD!

So when you gettig yours? ;p :devil:
Did you manage to get the toy with the "flat" battery.....

LoL somebody called me during lunch, no prizes for guessing who. :bsmilie:

scanner: I'm ok with the sharpness, I've gotten good images out of cam without tweaking... Just voicing out only.

Also just demanded for a 6MP D2X... lol.. wonder if my wish will come true ;p

it will come true if you go look for this guy working at Nikon, Mr. Tan Gu Gu. :bsmilie:

hehehe...stick a D2X label on a D70. voila....D2X with 6MP. Got 1/500 flash sync!

sykestang said:

loudhailer said:
hehehe...stick a D2X label on a D70. voila....D2X with 6MP. Got 1/500 flash sync!
I don't need 1/500 sync, D2X supports hi-speed sync :sticktong