D200-what settings for your portraits?

_espn_ said:
What? You're one testicle less now? :bsmilie: I'd go with you, RAW always :D
:think: din know they are worth any value, I've heard of kidneys being traded..... :bsmilie:
Anyways, I shoot in RAW and JPG. JPG as proofing, and RAW for touch-ups. ;)

ipin said:
:think: din know they are worth any value, I've heard of kidneys being traded..... :bsmilie:
Anyways, I shoot in RAW and JPG. JPG as proofing, and RAW for touch-ups. ;)

even for events you will shoot raw and edit? wont there be a lot to do?

_espn_ said:
What? You're one testicle less now? :bsmilie: I'd go with you, RAW always :D
i said almost... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :sweat:

what.. u're with me? one testicle also?

we should form a one testicle support group for all of us pitiful pple...

surge said:
show clients jpg, they like, want to buy, charging them for the pics, have RAW to touch up the way they like it, worth the effort liao mah! :bsmilie:

surge said:
If you got your basics right -exposure, framing/composition etc, what PP is there to do on most of the shots?

jOhO said:
i said almost... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :sweat:

what.. u're with me? one testicle also?

we should form a one testicle support group for all of us pitiful pple...
:bsmilie: Kopi on you, I'll form the group :bsmilie:

_espn_ said:
:bsmilie: Kopi on you, I'll form the group :bsmilie:
i'll choose the place! :bsmilie:

You can try setting for 'more vivid' in your cam, but not sure how exactly, though.

Remeber you can always PS!!!

photographique said:
You can try setting for 'more vivid' in your cam, but not sure how exactly, though.

more vivid?

not recommended for portraits. dun kill urself.

photographique said:

oh please..

anyone reading this, the above stmt is WRONG!!!... :bigeyes:

more vivid makes skin RED, and too contrasty, and try bringing up the shadows in PS esp if i've accidentally underexposed (alot of digital users like to under expose btw, not that i know why...)

please.. don't ever to that....

I agree, Vivid setting is too much. Red on the D70s was even worse.

With D200, no matter how good I think it is on the LCD, it still comes out seemingly underexposed when downloaded (which is just fine for me). BTW, in my work, I need to shoot in dark dimlit rooms where metering sometimes show 15" to 30" shutter speed, no luxury of tripods, no time to set up CLS flashes, just one flash, 15 to 20 minutes to take 30 - 40 shots. On a calibrated monitor screen, this is where Nikon Capture 4 comes in, a lifesaver, it just works brilliantly to make the photo clear up and have very high resolution. This is through a combination of the wonderful D-Lighting feature, Curves, and Exp. Comp (really important and I find it way accurate over that in PS CS2), and a few more.

Other touches is to balance contrast and brightness using Nik Color Efex Pro 2.0 software. The Brilliance filter of Color Efex is fantastic in improving vividness, without saturating color. This is what I would call real Vivid function, indispensable filter. Will wait for Nik's compatible Color Efex version for Capture CX before moving on to CX :)

I only use PS now to "Save To Web" ...

This is just me of course, I find post processing an essential, inescapable task, whether in automated batches or manual, and I prefer vivid but not saturated shots depending on the subject.

_espn_ said:
If you got your basics right -exposure, framing/composition etc, what PP is there to do on most of the shots?

pardon me...if you can get everything right, then why don just shoot in jpeg?

clubgrit said:
I agree, Vivid setting is too much. Red on the D70s was even worse.

With D200, no matter how good I think it is on the LCD, it still comes out seemingly underexposed when downloaded (which is just fine for me). BTW, in my work, I need to shoot in dark dimlit rooms where metering sometimes show 15" to 30" shutter speed, no luxury of tripods, no time to set up CLS flashes, just one flash, 15 to 20 minutes to take 30 - 40 shots. On a calibrated monitor screen, this is where Nikon Capture 4 comes in, a lifesaver, it just works brilliantly to make the photo clear up and have very high resolution. This is through a combination of the wonderful D-Lighting feature, Curves, and Exp. Comp (really important and I find it way accurate over that in PS CS2), and a few more.

Other touches is to balance contrast and brightness using Nik Color Efex Pro 2.0 software. The Brilliance filter of Color Efex is fantastic in improving vividness, without saturating color. This is what I would call real Vivid function, indispensable filter. Will wait for Nik's compatible Color Efex version for Capture CX before moving on to CX :)

I only use PS now to "Save To Web" ...

This is just me of course, I find post processing an essential, inescapable task, whether in automated batches or manual, and I prefer vivid but not saturated shots depending on the subject.
hey can't help but ask, are u ihsan chua?

Cheesecake said:
hey can't help but ask, are u ihsan chua?

hahaha.... must be lah. i thot he kwanon user? :bsmilie:

nightwolf75 said:
hahaha.... must be lah. i thot he kwanon user? :bsmilie:
ihsan chua owns both the Nikon and Canon system.:D

Cheesecake said:
its ok. not interested either unless he's ***.:)
you wanted yo know in the 1st place ;) Let clubgrit tell you personally.