Crappy software bundle of Dynax 7D

Del_CtrlnoAlt

just installed the CD that came with the 7D & the viewer actually hangs over & over again... and its so... old, the icons, the layout, nothing feels as a 2004 version of a software.

the point i wanna install the CD is for viewing the Raw, and it can't even read raw... omg!!!

oh ya, whats that PC Capture software?

hmm have not shoot raw b4 using my 7D, but on my A1, i can open up using Paintshop Pro 7.

the point i wanna install the CD is for viewing the Raw, and it can't even read raw... omg!!!

Cannot read RAW? :dunno: You didn't install DVD movie player instead hor? :bsmilie:

just as a confirmation hor, the cd is the Dimage Viewer rite, suppose to be released with other KM prosumer cams right? nothing special for the Dynax rite...

Correct lor.. that's the one.. but you said cannot read RAW? That's weird leh.. from the browser tool in the s/w, you should able to see the MRW file displayed liao mah. Just double click on the file, the RAW converter dialogbox should appears.

i browse downwards den it hang lor... sian 1/2

DCA bro, actually very few people use the supplied software. Most (if not, all) of the pros i met use stuff like ACR, Bibble, C1 Pro etc....

i browse downwards den it hang lor... sian 1/2

Huh? Like tat..

Try this one.. custom made Minolta RAW plugin for PS CS.. don't ask me where to buy a PS CS.. :bsmilie:

http://www.dalibor.cz/minolta/plugin.htm

This one damn good.. it even can display your AF point position when the spot is taken.. Try the demo version first lah..

Still waiting for Dimage Master.. see how bad it is.. :D

I using the Dimage software since I got it with my 7i. I thought my Maxtor HD keep giving me problem but now, I think that software do have BUGS! KM should patch it. ;(

Hmmm... wierd... i'm happily using the Dimage viewer for my RAW files, both on my home desktop and my GF's lap top, no problems ley...

Hi guys,

I'm using iView Media Pro to download my images from the camera rather than using the crappy Minolta bundle.

iView is brilliant. It originally came out for Mac only but now they make a PC version. I've got 2.6.2 and it supports reading Minolta files in RAW. You can check it out at iView-Multimedia.com :D You can trial it for free!

Once I've got my files I'm processing the RAW files in Capture One (light version) and getting good results, even though I'm finding I need a more powerful computer and bigger hard drives :D

Happy shooting guys...

Pete

Adobe released Camera RAW 2.4 beta which supports Dynax 7 Digtal.

Waiting for Capture One for Windows OS which is scheduled for 20 Dec.

266DimageViewerOSX.jpg

Just changed my workhorse from a Dell 2.4 P4 to an Mac iBook, and notice that the Dimage Viewer looks so much better on OS X than Windows XP. The layout of the windows, frames etc, seem to be consistant with Mac programs like iPhoto... And seems to work better on a Mac than on Windows although it essentially functions the same way, perhaps it's a personal thing.

Makes me think, perhaps Dimage Viewer is actually designed for Mac and then ported over to Windows? And yes, Dimage Viewer works well with Mac's architecture, operating at speed comparable to my Windows desktop with more ram and almost double the clock speed... With my iBook running itunes at the same time ;)

Now i'm eagerly waiting for Dimage Master, hope it lives up to my expectations...

I gave up trying to use it. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Waiting to try out Capture One once it adds support for D7D.

I've been using it for some time to process my Dimage 5 images and RAW files from A1, so i guess i've adapted to it. yes, it's quite limited, but I do the bulk of the editting on other software, it's just like a first step in my work flow.

Hoping that Dimage Master will be faster as they claim and includes a bit more editting functions like constrained aspect ratio selecting, rotating etc... not expecting high class tools like healing brush and layers, but just a little more tools and I can use it to process the bulk of my images and use more powerful programs only for images that needs rescuing and for heavy editting... It will make my work flow and life simpler by make processing faster, for one thing, I need not have another program chewing up system resources...

And i'm trying to resist buying Neat Image for the Mac... The Mac trial version doesn't has the functionality of the free Windows version... (The mac version limits the size of the image you can use with it) ;(

Ha... The site's s(rewed up... can't download... stuck in the survey page for new registration... I'll check back again...

Thanks! Will try it out later tonight...

OT: ... Why are you still up almost 3 in the morning?!?!? well, I can't sleep, too much espresso...