Contax G1 or G2???

XXX Boy said:
I had shot B&W using my T3 before. It tends to give a sharper contrast than my 30-years old Leica 50 Summicron lens. But the tonality produced by T3 is very very good. The white area and the dark area still have the abiltity to show detail!

wah.. :think:

like dat must start saving up for another drybox and G2 system liao :bsmilie:

any nice website or reviews about contax to wash my brain ?
nothing to do tonite..kekeke

kex said:
wah.. :think:

like dat must start saving up for another drybox and G2 system liao :bsmilie:

I also need to save money on a G2 and a 90mm lens too!
To me, Contax G-series lens offers very good optical quality at a fraction of the cost as compared to the Leica glass.
Btw, which lens are you going to purchase?

Do watch out when you use the TLA200 as you can get photographs that tend to be overexposed. Furthermore, manually working with the flash can be very difficult, and I have not come across one single method that works everytime. One method that was suggested, and I have actually tried this, is to set the focal length of the flash one step lower than the lens that is used e.g. if you are using the 45mm, set the flash to 35mm or 28mm. Excellent conditioned TLA200's can be obtained for less than SGD250 off eBay if you are lucky. The TLA140 is not much of an option, but fairly good for fill in flash. It seems that the TLA280 or TLA360 are the only usable Contax flashes, but they look kinda big on the G2. Alternatives are Yashica flashes, and Nikon flashes set to auto mode.

XXX Boy said:
I also need to save money on a G2 and a 90mm lens too!
To me, Contax G-series lens offers very good optical quality at a fraction of the cost as compared to the Leica glass.
Btw, which lens are you going to purchase?

i'm leaning towards the 35mm planar and the 90mm..
but i'm abit concerned about the parallax error the 90mm may cause during framing..
most probably getting the G2 to use with these lenses..

this hobby is quite expensive hor.. :(
But all the $$ seems worthwhile everytime u get very good results with it. :bsmilie:

Parchiao said:
Do watch out when you use the TLA200 as you can get photographs that tend to be overexposed. Furthermore, manually working with the flash can be very difficult, and I have not come across one single method that works everytime. One method that was suggested, and I have actually tried this, is to set the focal length of the flash one step lower than the lens that is used e.g. if you are using the 45mm, set the flash to 35mm or 28mm. Excellent conditioned TLA200's can be obtained for less than SGD250 off eBay if you are lucky. The TLA140 is not much of an option, but fairly good for fill in flash. It seems that the TLA280 or TLA360 are the only usable Contax flashes, but they look kinda big on the G2. Alternatives are Yashica flashes, and Nikon flashes set to auto mode.

Nikon flash? You had tried it on a Contax body before? The only thing I afraid of is that the Nikon will trigger a flash at a different voltage and it might damage the Contax camera! Can you pls kindly confirm that?
For me, I would like to mount a Leica SF-20 flash on my Contax T3, is it possible?

XXX Boy said:
Nikon flash? You had tried it on a Contax body before? The only thing I afraid of is that the Nikon will trigger a flash at a different voltage and it might damage the Contax camera! Can you pls kindly confirm that?
For me, I would like to mount a Leica SF-20 flash on my Contax T3, is it possible?

Dunno about the Leica flash, but this is what I read. BTW, try this at your own risk. See this post off contaxinfo.

XXX Boy said:
If I'm not wrong, the parallax error is automatically corrected by the camera body!
More info on the Contax G2 can be found on :-

Contax G2 review (1)

Contax G2 review (2)

Contax G2 review (3)

Glad to know ya! Cheers! :p

wah lao.. :bsmilie:
i saw a 90mm for ard S$500 nia leh..dunno can buy anot
http://www.ebay.com.sg/viItem?ItemId=3803527190

abit too good to be true hor ? :dunno:

how much does a used G2 cost har ?
saw s few going for ard S$700+ on ebay leh..
issit a good deal?
cannot find the 35mm planar leh...sian½..

kex said:
wah lao.. :bsmilie:
i saw a 90mm for ard S$500 nia leh..dunno can buy anot
http://www.ebay.com.sg/viItem?ItemId=3803527190

abit too good to be true hor ? :dunno:

I told you liao mah! Hehe..Contax lens offers a very good optical quality at an afforable price! Good hor..hehehe.... :lovegrin:
Welcome to the Contax world! :devil:

ps. I am in love with the Black Contax G2!!! Damn coooool! :heart:

Look at this :-

blackg2_new.jpg

Damn coooool! Isn't it??? :lovegrin: :heart: :heart: :heart:

black color looks cool,but used lens available in black finish seems to be very rare leh..
titanium color seems to be more common and easier to get used..

kex said:
any nice website or reviews about contax to wash my brain ?
nothing to do tonite..kekeke

You do not need to be brain-washed! You just have to see it to believe it! ;)

kex said:
black color looks cool,but used lens available in black finish seems to be very rare leh..
titanium color seems to be more common and easier to get used..

TCW sells the black G2 and 45mm for a super high price. And you are right, especially when it comes to buying from Singapore, the lenses right down to the black UV filter can be very difficult to find.

parchiao..
do u recommend buying off ebay or from keh.com ??
how much does shipping cost usually for a camera with a lens ?
how long does it takes to arrive ??
Any idea?

keh.com have a few 90mm in excellent condition selling at US$199 nia..
the 35mm ard US$200.
wah lao..
really tempting..

kex said:
parchiao..
do u recommend buying off ebay or from keh.com ??
how much does shipping cost usually for a camera with a lens ?
how long does it takes to arrive ??
Any idea?

Never tried keh.com, not very certain about them. I have tried hksupplies (Poon) for new stuff, and some other secondhand stuff from eBayers with a very high degree of good feedback. Everything is transacted via paypal. I did transact with odekogakusai (Jason), and his description is spot on, only a bit rude though. Shipping from the US via USPS is cheaper, anything from USD25 onwards. HK and Japan are much much cheaper. Just watch out for 5% GST. Shipping from Europe tends to be highest. delivery from the US takes about two weeks onwards. HK and Japan takes only about a week at most.

Some tips buying off eBay.
1. Ask for the shipping costs before bidding to get an idea of how much it will cost in total.
2. As about the condition of what you are buying. My standard question will go something like this. "Any dust/scratches to the viewfinder or optical elements? Any scratches/dings/dents/brassing to the body?"
3. Never buy from sellers who have not transacted on eBay recently.
4. Never buy from sellers who sell a basement prices.
5. Always snipe at the very last seconds if you want the item.
6. Sellers who claim to sell only within the US sometimes make exceptions. The price of the item tends to be lower too.

u mean i buy 2nd hand stuff from japan oso must pay the 5%GST ??
how much does it cost to get a money order from a local bank for US$500?
i read up on western union and they charge ard US$15 for it..
wonder y would anyone use them since they dun provide escrow services..