Consolidated NKF Thread

After reading this, will you still donate to NKF?

eikin said:
Mediacorp isn't giving much coverage on the incident :(

becos they are buddies....

if no NKF's variety shows means no more sales for Mediacorp's advertisment air
time...

Just call Starhub to cancel my donation. From what I know, if we don't pay the bill for the donation, NKF will not get the money. All telco will only pay NKF if the bill is paid. I've inform them that my payment will not include the donation amount. Starhub will call me back about the cancellation after checking with NKF.
Not sure if it will work but that's what I'll be doing.

try calling your bank's hotline and speak to the customer service officer.

i'm quite sure that the hotline will be even more hotter with cancellations requests.... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
maxonline said:
Hey frends,wat is the number to call if i wana cancel my monthly contribution to NKF?

nemesis32 said:
Please try to be Sensitive....

One black sheep (no pun intended) does not make NKF a bad organisation. I have to agree with Mrs Goh, the patron, that the lawsuit is about defamatory comments by SPH and not about transparency of NKF. She even mentioned that for a organisation like NKF with 189m in reserves, paying S$600k is peanuts....

I do hope that the patients will not suffer because of this.

On the issue of sensitivity, imagine your total family income is $2000. And imagine you have to pay $250 a month because the subsidy doesn't cover the full amount. Now imagine how much you can do with the $250 and how much burden can that be. And lastly imagine someone saying $50K a month is peanuts against the 189m reserve and here you are worrying about your next $250 payment. There are 100 x $250 in every $25K bonus. I think some patients have already suffered indirectly because of this. If every cents count like what they advertise, here it do count both ways.

yqt said:
Just call Starhub to cancel my donation. From what I know, if we don't pay the bill for the donation, NKF will not get the money. All telco will only pay NKF if the bill is paid. I've inform them that my payment will not include the donation amount. Starhub will call me back about the cancellation after checking with NKF.
Not sure if it will work but that's what I'll be doing.

Maybe they will delay till you paid the last contribution for the month than they'll cancelled for you, I think? :think: Anyway, good luck dude. :)

nemesis32 said:
Why are we talking abt CAD? Is there any fraud committed? Guys, don't get overboard and let the incident cloud your judgement....

nobody said a fraud is committed.....but dun the public have the rights to know and the authority has the need to act to clear public's doubt??

Honestly, i dun see any other way for NKF to clean their image and restore public confidence unless an independent body conduct a full audit/investigation into how NKF handles all its affairs....perhaps the board of NKF should itself commission an independent investigation....

what really pisst me off is their tactic of projecting an image that if no donation, NKF fund will dry up in 3 years time.....while they are sitting on a reserve of >S$200mil....as history and precedence taught us, most frauds or wrongdoings happened when there is big sum of wealth involved.....

dawgbyte77 said:
On the issue of sensitivity, imagine your total family income is $2000. And imagine you have to pay $250 a month because the subsidy doesn't cover the full amount. Now imagine how much you can do with the $250 and how much burden can that be. And lastly imagine someone saying $50K a month is peanuts against the 189m reserve and here you are worrying about your next $250 payment. There are 100 x $250 in every $25K bonus. I think some patients have already suffered indirectly because of this. If every cents count like what they advertise, here it do count both ways.

actually according to the link below, it is $850/- per treatment.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/show...88&page=1&pp=15

Just walked past the NKF around LKN building in Shenton Way. A couple of Plasma TVs and expensive looking furnitures for a enquiry centre or something. Wow, did those donated money went in to these stuff? :thumbsd:

NKF show only proves one thing...when you gamble, most will lose. the NKF show is just a big lottery game where you buy a ticket to win by donating some money.

though i never supported NKF's gambling tactic, i must say that CEO has done well in being able to raise so much money time after time.

If NKF in oversea, now we see riots liao. Lucky sg still do by stopping donation only :angry:

swing123 said:
Honestly, i dun see any other way for NKF to clean their image and restore public confidence unless an independent body conduct a full audit/investigation into how NKF handles all its affairs....perhaps the board of NKF should itself commission an independent investigation....

i think it should be acted fast if any audit is to be conducted...otherwise, plenty of time or opportunity to cover up the trail.....

I think too many people accessing the petition now....cannot see the number of signatures suddenly...whole singapore flooding it...

no worries, bro.

what is disturbing is that such things can happen in squeaky-clean singapore.

it not only brings nkf disrepute, it'll stain the notion and cast doubts of contributing to charities in singapore....

Virgo said:
Cannot edit leh bro...I thought most, if not all, donate in one way or another to NKF.

Does anyone know that the chinese 'guanyin' temple at Waterloo street is also one of the main sponsor of NKF? Pity those Ah Gong and Ah Mah who donated to the temple and in the end the money goes to...

yqt said:
actually according to the link below, it is $850/- per treatment.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/show...88&page=1&pp=15

It depends on the treatment. There is one patient who were interviewed in The New Paper. Her parents earn $1800. She is paying $240 out of $1700+. She is appreciative of the help but was dismayed when she found out about the bonus because her family still need to borrow money to pay for the $240 but is now afraid of losing the subsidy. I think the reserve should be able to cover that if worst comes to worst.

yeah cant access it too

They are currently compiling the names and email and will be taking each and every individual to court liow. Better be careful :sweatsm:

user12343 said:
no worries, bro.

what is disturbing is that such things can happen in squeaky-clean singapore.

it not only brings nkf disrepute, it'll stain the notion and cast doubts of contributing to charities in singapore....
Very true indeed...

Well, actually you can see there's only 2 types of patient (the rich & the poor).
The rich:-
1) No problem paying all medical expenses till the day they recover or die.
2) No public appearances to show pityness.
3) Big news & big paper prints for condolences.
4) And so on...

The poor:-
1) Many porblems on medical expenses & need help from the public/relatives or friends.
2) Puplic appearences to hope someone willing to give a helping hand through NKF.
3) No big news but just a little print on the condolence page.
4) And so on...

So, can you all justify that? :dunno:

Maybe theres even a larger force at work...maybe someone is deliberately blocking the petition...

dawgbyte77 said:
It depends on the treatment. There is one patient who were interviewed in The New Paper. Her parents earn $1800. She is paying $240 out of $1700+. She is appreciative of the help but was dismayed when she found out about the bonus because her family still need to borrow money to pay for the $240 but is now afraid of losing the subsidy. I think the reserve should be able to cover that if worst comes to worst.

Reserves can last about 4 years if patients do not pay anything. 30 years if patients pay current subsidy.