Consolidated NKF Thread

After reading this, will you still donate to NKF?

ykia said:
Sorry about your sis, man :cry: My relative, too had kidney failure, but as a family, we gave them enough to support. She died peacefully. Thanks for sharing.

thanks for the sympathy... not my sis, the sis of someone else on that forum. But yeah, there are many such cases out there of NKF turning down aid to people... :(

ykia said:
Sorry about your sis, man :cry: My relative, too had kidney failure, but as a family, we gave them enough to support. She died peacefully. Thanks for sharing.
Extend my condolences. :(

jsbn said:
I guess frm the previous shows records of apprx $10m for each show, we're seeing like juz $5m for 2 shows now?

My heart was hoping that they prolly wun generate more den $3m. Unfortunately, with the stupid old trick of putting up the 1-call = 5-call number, flashing on BIG BIG, I think lotsa ppl who called with the intention to make juz 1 call ended up making 5 calls.

Dumb but effective trick. Gotta take my hat off 'em.
No lah... i think last week's show already 5.3m liaoz....

NKF describes itself on its website as "the largest charitable organisation in Singapore" and the "largest not-for-profit dialysis provider in the world". :think:

yah right....

Anyone knows why a charity body like NKF, whose sole funtion is to help the sick in Singapore need to fly their CEO out of the country on offical business? I don't think I've heard of any doantions that came from outside Singapore. But I think I've seen somewhere that NKF is going to other countries to help/teach them how to set up their org. Why are they using our money ( stuff cost, etc ) to do something not related to their main objective? Can anyone confirm this?

nemesis32 said:
For example, if he suppose to meet a foreign donor (Say can donate 1m/year) in US, the meeting is schedule say at 8am in the morning (busy donor think bill gates/george bush) and not a minute late. If SIA business class have seats but can only reach there at 9am, it's of no use to him. On the other hand, if Northwest airlines 1st class have seat (assume business class is sold out) and can reach there at 6am. Which do you think the BOD will put him into?

The answer is Northwest 1st class and he'd still have to top up from his own for first class on northwest? Now we know why he needs 12 month bonus ;p

judeseah said:
hi bro,
we might be wrong, u know?

someone claimed(don't sue me if its half truth)
that NKF is transparent leh.

hahaha,
sad that i m enjoying this thread so much.

I've heard alot inside stories of NKF, words from the mouth of their own employees. Eg. Their office clerk who only got O'level cert, can earn $3k per month. Staffs can get 6 months bonuses and of all the donations, 25% is for helping the poor. Then where does the 75% goes to? :dunno:

NKF booo.... :thumbsd:

K_bridge_sink_mixer_deck_mounted.jpg

tao said:
NKF describes itself on its website as "the largest charitable organisation in Singapore" and the "largest not-for-profit dialysis provider in the world". :think:

yah right....
By all counts, they are right. Their profits are rolled into reserves and not paid out as dividend. Of course, it does not stop them for giving the money to employees as bonuses.

tao said:

yah right....

it's true. they do not make profits. they have huge "reserves" and obscene paychecks/perks. but no profits. ;)

lavenderlilz said:
The answer is Northwest 1st class and he'd still have to top up from his own for first class on northwest? Now we know why he needs 12 month bonus ;p
No lah... what the lawyer is implying is that the contract is carefully worded such that he can still fly 1st class (without topping up) as it still costs less than SIA business class (his entitlement).

palvin said:
I've heard alot inside stories of NKF, words from the mouth of their own employees. Eg. Their office clerk who only got O'level cert, can earn $3k per month. Staffs can get 6 months bonuses and of all the donations, 25% is for helping the poor. Then where does the 75% goes to? :dunno:

NKF booo.... :thumbsd:
That is very unlikely but possible. In some organisations, some staff stays there forever, so assume they started at 1000, work for 30 yeasr, they would be paid 3000 or more. Thats why those mid-age people who got retrenched cannot find job....

XPeriment626 said:
it's true. they do not make profits. they have huge "reserves" and obscene paychecks/perks. but no profits. ;)

Now, that is BRILLIANT! :rolleyes:

nemesis32 said:
Well... IIRC Lee Hsien Loong (Singtel) and Jackson Tai (DBS) earned much more than their basic salary as their bonuses are tied to the share performance and other KPIs. Wee Cho Yow earns much more as well.... esp since you ahve not taken into account his profit sharing/dividends etc.
They are running a business. I believe for IPO holders, Singtel and DBS do send out detailed financial audit reports to all shareholders stating everything they had done for the past years?

NKF is a CHARITY ORGANISATION which draws its fund primarily on donor's blood money.

Dun take a business and compare it with a social welfare, charity, non-profit organisation.

yqt said:
Anyone knows why a charity body like NKF, whose sole funtion is to help the sick in Singapore need to fly their CEO out of the country on offical business? I don't think I've heard of any doantions that came from outside Singapore. But I think I've seen somewhere that NKF is going to other countries to help/teach them how to set up their org. Why are they using our money ( stuff cost, etc ) to do something not related to their main objective? Can anyone confirm this?

http://www.nkfs.org/news/IMMEDIATE_Rel-Samoa-NKF Dialysis Ctr_15Mar05.doc

nemesis32 said:
Yes, if the amt used on patients is the way you say, i would also fired him. But likelihood is the more he raised, more will go to patient (due to 70% requirement for all charitable organisations).
70% goes to paitents.

Proportionally, we are seeing a push for more and more funds. Assuming a show draws in revenue for over $100m. 70m goes to the paitent, $30m goes to the staff when it can be significantly reduced thru cost-cutting measures to provide even MORE help to an even WIDER audience?

AReality said:
For a tap over 900$, I would expect to have at least auto-on/off sensors lor...

aiyah mai hiam leh ... I only managed to find this one. :bsmilie: