Consolidated NKF Thread

After reading this, will you still donate to NKF?

yqt said:
The CEO of NKF himself have agreed that what was stated in the papers is true. They were the one who bought the case to court. Now they are the one who withdrew the case. Yet the patron of the NKF, who is the wife of our Minister Mentor, says that the retraction is valid and what the papers stated is not true. Till date she still have complete faith in the NKF and Mr Durai. IMO that says alot about her own judgement when it comes to right and wrong.

wife of Senior Minister lah....not MM

tao said:
they should REMOVE the ENTIRE board of directors too! :angry:

well, the Patron of NKF said that S$600k is peanut as compare to the reserve of NKF wor.......and is a fair pay for a man to run million dollar charitable organisation....

if her comment is not taken out of context by ST, then i rest my case and decided to donate my hard-earned money somewhere else....

What about that lady who owns the phonecall centre that have a service contract with NKF?

student said:
Remember, peanuts are donated to monkeys! :bsmilie:
For those who have no peanuts to donate, i understand monkeys also love bananas!
If i have the chance, i would donate my banana to the Chief monkey.

Astin said:
By the way, who is the lawyer that represent NKF/CEO?
Ya, Davinder Singh is very good, I believe he did all his homework beforehand, and debated excellently.

Michael Khoo (Senior Counsel) represented NKF/CEO.

I am so surprise to learn of this figure from the papers today

Spectrum said:
Can I donate peanuts instead? ;)
Funnily, you seemed to have migrated from Buy/Sell to Kopitiam.

dawgbyte77 said:
Better wait n see first... what id Durai is just the tip of the ice berg... someone has to approve of the salary... and these someones must also earn so much... if Durai is removed... it will seem like a payoff and a scapegoat... the practice will change actors but story remains the same...

of course, removal doesn't necessary mean solving all problems....

i would think the alternative solution is, make NKF board of trustees more accountable...publish their accounts with more disclosure...implement guideline as to the way they approve expenditure and payments...

i don't see why NKF should not follow Temasek's footstep...

Bluewater said:
I am so surprise to learn of this figure from the papers today

why is this so? is it becos the rest can't afford to pay the $850 to NKF to further enhance their $262 million reserves, and are therefore asked to "go and die"?

Sounds like changes are needed to safeguard the money from being abused in charity organisations - sad fact is the guys playing as a true blue charity will get hit with the cost of these safeguards.

You know the ones that pay peanuts and have staff that work that because they believe in the cause. The ones where to repair a worn out washers in their taps hurt because the coffers are some what bear of cash. The ones that end up with 90 or 100% of the cost of treatment for some the people under their care. The ones that do not know how to do high power fund raising.

If any one want to support kidney patients I think KDF is a more worthy cause. It still more focused on client care and less on fund raising.

Hi Tupi Guy,

There are many ways to donate, I'm not saying we cease donations, but do it without going through too many middle man. :)

The same tale with lining up 10 men and telling the first a short story. By the time the last men hears from the 9th men in line. The story is distorted beyond original meaning already. :)

Meanwhile.

SUPPORT THE "BUY ESPN A D2X" FUND IS STILL ON.

CALL 1900-FUR-BALL!!!

You don't get the picture, do you? For you this whole thread is just one big joke.

yqt said:
You don't get the picture, do you? For you this whole thread is just one big joke.
It's just one big complain thread. Isn't it?

Are all are just trying to be noble and declare their intentions... :) The irony.

And don't forget these patients pay on average 2/3 of the treatment costs.

sfhuang said:
I'm sad after reading this post by a signatory named Celine on the petitions page:

i never made any call since the time they refuse to save my granny. Reason cited was, your granny is already of age, there are many younger people who needs our help. So what does that make my granny, WORTHLESS? To everyone, if you want to donate in future, give personally to the people really in need. For organisation like NKF, their FIRST priority is not the patients. Isn't it so evident to us now?

another sin committed by NKF - trying to play god and decide who to live and who to die....in the first place, NKF has S$223m in reserve....so, what is the rationale of the above comments??.....

and yet the CEO admitted that they were using the tactic to cry foul of their reserve won't last 3 years to drive for more donation....really, this is the most scandalous act in probably the history of Singapore....

I'm just wondering? :think: Is our CPF also for investment? Think if you have a certain amount of CPF right now till the day you retire, how much will you get? And, if you put this $$ into investment from now till you retire, how much will you get? :bigeyes: :think:

swing123 said:
another sin committed by NKF - trying to play god and decide who to live and who to die....in the first place, NKF has S$223m in reserve....so, what is the rationale of the above comments??.....

and yet the CEO admitted that they were using the tactic to cry foul of their reserve won't last 3 years to drive for more donation....really, this is the most scandalous act in probably the history of Singapore....

yep....the hypocrisy is hideous. an organisation that is rich beyond belief, refusing to save some lives, while gladly paying for a luxurious lifestyle for its CEO, all using public donations.