Considering getting the C750UZ

Pinkishy said:
Hi people..

C 750-UZ was the cam that i almost bought too... however i decided to wait :(

I was attracted to the zoom as it's 10x optical (wow!) However, a big flaw in the 750 is that it has shaky lens! Coupled with the 10x zoom, images can be blurrish. :cry:

I wish they would do something to improve the lens placement & also pop up flash which could spoil over time :what:

Hi Pinkishy,

The 'shaky' lens of the C-750 does not really contribute to the 'blurry' images of the camera. Most people use the camera with almost full zoom (equivalent to 300mm on a normal 35mm camera) at normal shutter speeds without using a tripod, this is the main cause of the 'blurry' pictures. Try taking shots at normal zoom (i.e. 1x-3x) and the pictures should be sharp.

However, the only drawback I find with the C-750 after using it for these couple of months is the poor autofocus ability in low light. This problem is common in most digital cameras which rely on passive autofocus.

Cheers,
David

romeo said:
Yah.. I bought a 512MB :) heehee... Set me back quite a bit.. yah.. I like my C750UZ.. but just the other day I saw the Panasonic FZ10.. sigh... feel a bit upset that I didn't wait.. but the battery suppossedly lasts only around 120mins... The C750UZ uses 4AA batteries.. so it isn't so much of a problem since I have 2 sets of 2100mAh batteries :) And they nvr seem to die... I usually only use 1 set :)

Btw, Out of topic, but How do you get to SBWR? I've been trying to find the bus that goes there.. is it 925 from CCK :) I live in Bukit Panjang.. maybe one day go together.. heehee... :) :bsmilie:

Hi Romeo,

Did some research on the Panasonic FZ10 before I got the C-750. The FZ10 looks good (especially the all black body!) with its stabilised 12x zoom and constant F2.8 aperture.

Only drawback is that it uses proprietary rechargeable batteries (100-120 minutes) and is bulkier thatn the C-750.

Anyone know if it is available yet in SG and the price??

Cheers,
David

Davey said:
Hi Romeo,

Did some research on the Panasonic FZ10 before I got the C-750. The FZ10 looks good (especially the all black body!) with its stabilised 12x zoom and constant F2.8 aperture.

Only drawback is that it uses proprietary rechargeable batteries (100-120 minutes) and is bulkier thatn the C-750.

Anyone know if it is available yet in SG and the price??

Cheers,
David

Errr... Yah.. I heard it's avaliable for around $890 or something like that... but only the silver one I think :)

Haven't checked it out yet.. there's a thread about it... :)

romeo said:
well after I posted that.. I bought my C750UZ on that exact same day.. been playing with it. I would say that I think I made a good choice :)

The only setback it has to me is that it uses xD cards... the price is a little comparable to an SD card. :)

Hi Romeo,
Can I check how much did u get ur C750 for??
I was quoted $820 with GST.....

Thanks

heh.. yeah.. I got it around that price too :)
IMHO, I think it's quite a good buy...:)

Loving it ... :)

guys care to enlighten me. i am wondering whats the standard package like? is there any charger included for the oem batt??

If you can wait a month or two, heard C760UZ coming out soon, but no image stabilizer for 10X optical zoom.
Read somewhere in magazine that more products with high-megapixels and image stabiliser coming out this year, maybe from canon, nikon, or fuji.
If can wait lah .... :think:

C-760 only has 3.2mega pixels and same 10x optical zoom. maybe the big different is the super macro and litium battery? :bsmilie: almost the same as c-750, didn't really check the spec, above just the 2 points that i have noticed :D anyone here want to add some more points to help for the buyer either go for C-750 or c-760?

for sure is the c-750 price will drop ;p

Wonder why they release a new model (C-760) with specs that seem to be almost comparable to the C-740 but lower than the C-750 ... am I missing something?

Click HERE for Specs of the C-760

Main differences spotted so far when comparing C-750 with new C-760:
- 35mm equivalent focal length of 42-420mm (as opposed to 38-380mm for the C-750)
- Larger LCD
- Different (larger) CCD but yielding lower (3.2) megapixels (affected focal length above)
- No external flash hotshoe
- Uses Lithium rechargeable batteries (not AA)
- 3X Digital Zoom

Cheers,
David

are they launching something backward instead with some "surprises"? :D what do you guys think for the price of c-760? i prefer C-740 cos 4.0 mega pixels

no lar... its olympus marketing.... in the past they also do something similar....

first launch a lower end model....
eg. C-720, den a few months l8ter, launch higher end model, C-730,
which has stuff like voice recordind/external flash capabilities.....
eg. C-740 den c-750, with c-740 the lower end without some features that c-730 has....
so i guess wait a while may have c-770.... same body as c-760 but with more featues....
if u look carefully at the specs u notice that its onli 3x digital zoom... step down from 4x in the c-750.... :think:
my guess its the 'lower end' model... OR maybe they juz wan a smaller, lighter 10x zoom model with larger lcd to fight with e competition....

Hi David,

Will playing ard with the manual ctrls help in reducing the blurry pics? And also any idea whether C-760 is coming 2 sg? Guess it be cheaper than C-750 with its lower 3.2 megapixels. Thanks!

Davey said:
Hi Pinkishy,

The 'shaky' lens of the C-750 does not really contribute to the 'blurry' images of the camera. Most people use the camera with almost full zoom (equivalent to 300mm on a normal 35mm camera) at normal shutter speeds without using a tripod, this is the main cause of the 'blurry' pictures. Try taking shots at normal zoom (i.e. 1x-3x) and the pictures should be sharp.

However, the only drawback I find with the C-750 after using it for these couple of months is the poor autofocus ability in low light. This problem is common in most digital cameras which rely on passive autofocus.

Cheers,
David

m3csl said:
Hi David,

Will playing ard with the manual ctrls help in reducing the blurry pics? And also any idea whether C-760 is coming 2 sg? Guess it be cheaper than C-750 with its lower 3.2 megapixels. Thanks!

I guess you will need to identify what is the cause of the "blurry pics". :think: The 2 most common causes are:

1. Camera Shake

The C-750 has a "warning" system that tells you if you are using too slow a shutter speed for the current zoom setting. (i.e. the flash icon will start blinking). Try and use a tripod and high shutter speed to prevent camera shake.

BTW, if using NIGHTSHOT mode, ALWAYS use a tripod cos the camera will tend to use a low shutter speed even with the flash on. This is meant to capture the night background.

2. Autofocus Problem

The C-750 uses a passive autofocus system using contrast detection. In low light, you could have problem obtaining focus. You could also have problems focusing on low contrast objects (i.e. a plain wall with no features) or horizontal lines (cos the sensor is aligned to detect contrast on vertical lines). When taking a photo, just make sure the "green circle" icon is lighted up and not blinking when performing focusing. Not blinking SHOULD indicate correct focus. ;) The C-750 by default uses iESP focusing, where the focus point will move to the area of best contrast instead of the centre. You can change this by setting it to SPOT focusing where it will always focus on the centre reticule.

Cheers,
David

Davey said:
I guess you will need to identify what is the cause of the "blurry pics". :think: The 2 most common causes are:

1. Camera Shake

The C-750 has a "warning" system that tells you if you are using too slow a shutter speed for the current zoom setting. (i.e. the flash icon will start blinking). Try and use a tripod and high shutter speed to prevent camera shake.

BTW, if using NIGHTSHOT mode, ALWAYS use a tripod cos the camera will tend to use a low shutter speed even with the flash on. This is meant to capture the night background.

Cheers,
David

But sometime with default setting also gt blur image leh , eg potrait etc

wenjiabao said:
But sometime with default setting also gt blur image leh , eg potrait etc
Hi!

If that is the case, either the shutter speed is too slow for handheld shooting (e.g. slower than 1/60 if your hands are not "steady"), or the focus is incorrect. (e.g. not focused or focus on wrong area with shallow depth of field etc.) For the C-750, after you press the shutter halfway for focus and exposure lock, the reticule move to show you where the camera has focused on. By default, it will try to focus on the centre of the screen.

The LCD screen on the C-750 is small. So almost every picture you take (even if it is "blur") will look sharp! Practice makes perfect!

Cheers,
David

Wow! Thanks david for the long and detailed explanation! Hmm...think i hve a rough idea wat u r driving at. Realli keen on the C-750UZ but if the C-760UZ is coming here (emailed Olympus sg and their reply is they r nt sure if C-760 is coming) i may buy that instead as it will be cheaper and has almost similar spec expect for the better MP. And its smaller too nt that C-750 is that big.

Davey said:

1. Camera Shake

2. Autofocus Problem

The C-750 uses a passive autofocus system using contrast detection. In low light, you could have problem obtaining focus. You could also have problems focusing on low contrast objects (i.e. a plain wall with no features) or horizontal lines (cos the sensor is aligned to detect contrast on vertical lines). When taking a photo, just make sure the "green circle" icon is lighted up and not blinking when performing focusing. Not blinking SHOULD indicate correct focus. ;) The C-750 by default uses iESP focusing, where the focus point will move to the area of best contrast instead of the centre. You can change this by setting it to SPOT focusing where it will always focus on the centre reticule.

Cheers,
David

dun know with the bigger LCD the c-760 battery will exhaust more than the c750? :what: