sleepytiti
I am mostly doing advocacy work to represent the voices of the children.
To get their trust, you have to go very low to their level. I sit in the street pavement and mingled with them just to build rapport. I have sufficient trust from them that they started to look for me when they have problem... in social work we call that a life-line or first point of contact.
I remember in one incident how a 13 year old boy hide behind me when his 'master' forcefully brought him back to his home for sexual abuse. I shouted at that guy but he has many kaki..so I have to unite a group of senior street singers to confront him..sounded scary ya... but we won.
And another incident, the same boy with another of his younger friend were kidnapped by a group of gangster and brought to a forest stripped naked and tied to trees and whacked... I have to search high low for them with help of villagers.... luckily we found them..
many many stories lah bro.
I myself kerna threatened so many times..num liao... they even used the corrupted police to detain me...and asked for money... but I never give in and ended up I sue them back..:embrass:. But thanks to the children and their parents who gathered thousand people to strike for my release. But no fun in isolation cell for 21 days. Almost committed suicide
This happened in 2005.... then now we are so much stronger...no body dare to bully us liao.
Wa... So now u have a very big gang liao lor!!!:bigeyes: If 1 day I got into trouble, I call u ok? :bsmilie: Joking lah... Frankly speaking, I'm envious of u. Not many ppl have this kind of courage or time, especially in this era... Can call mi up if u need someone 2 help carry camera bag, if fight I cannot. Sorry :sweatsm: