Claire @ Ang Siang Hill

My photos are

not bad dude..
just watch out the use of flash as a few had pointed out.
and i love ur watermark too!!!:thumbsup:

haha thanks yea flash flash flash will learn more (:

No problem! Yeah I was guessing Hwa Chong. In my opinion it's one of the few school photography clubs where the members are quite active in photography. haha. Cheers!

wow haha the chairman will be flattered seeing this (:

Actually WA-Lens can be used for portraits to your advantage. You can go closer to your subjects or further depending on the style you like. Do run a check on how others do it. It's good that you didn't show much distortions in most of the pics & some of them are actually quite nice.

Like what they say, be careful of unwanted people or clutter in your background, messy hair, unsightly strap, the perfect smile & it's worth to wait a while before pressing that shutter. You can try bounced/diffused/reflector on your flash head. Works wonders but not easy to master.

Otherwise, pick up a cheap 50mm 1,8 & be wowed by the bokeh. For limited F stops, open up widest & get your model to take a few steps away from the background or move yourself to have a far background to achieve the effect.

yea i wanted to borrow 50 1.4 from my friend
oh ya i didnt go that close to the models because it was my first modelshoot. scared i block other photographers as i was the youngest there. you know. hehe

Another way to isolate the things (background vs. the subject) you don't want is to use a zoom lens.
I'm using focal length of 80mm for my portraiture shots.. ;)

You can take a look..
Here's the link: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=574303

yea i would like to use zoom lens but all i have is a 12-24. nvm will try harder next time :D
maybe join with my friends so that we can share haha

to be frank. These are really good shoots for somebody starting out. Seriously. Cause i was worse when i started out. ;)

Yup, I agree.
When I first started out, most of my pics are OOF.

Learn to control ur exposure & flash, many over-exposured pics
Composition still ok.

yea i wanted to borrow 50 1.4 from my friend
oh ya i didnt go that close to the models because it was my first modelshoot. scared i block other photographers as i was the youngest there. you know. hehe

you pay the same amt of money as them. no such thing call scare block others. just ensure you have the courtesy of moving on and let others have their shot. :)

and yes primes are sick if you know how to use them appropriately

i like #13, good use of overexposure :) however, you need to watch your background, a lot of distracting things and stuff growing out of their heads (eg #2)

If you are using a wide angle lens, be especially sure to watch out for backgrounds. jia you! :)

Yup, I agree.
When I first started out, most of my pics are OOF.

Really? Your photos are really nice eh. Haha i really need to take more photos after my exam.. learn learn learn learn learn

Learn to control ur exposure & flash, many over-exposured pics
Composition still ok.

yup flash is my concern. :D some over-exposed photos are done deliberately actually.

you pay the same amt of money as them. no such thing call scare block others. just ensure you have the courtesy of moving on and let others have their shot. :)

and yes primes are sick if you know how to use them appropriately

true. i have my rights hor. btw, i dont understand your last sentence. would you mind explaining? haha

i like #13, good use of overexposure :) however, you need to watch your background, a lot of distracting things and stuff growing out of their heads (eg #2)

If you are using a wide angle lens, be especially sure to watch out for backgrounds. jia you! :)

haha ya for the #2 i didnt really notice until you point out eh. yup i have only a wide angle lens to use, should be more careful next time. thanks!!!

one awesome thing about schools is borrowing lenses/flashes from the photog store to test out and play play :D

i think it is a mess in the background.

one awesome thing about schools is borrowing lenses/flashes from the photog store to test out and play play :D

yea i agree. which school you from?

i think it is a mess in the background.

hmm. ya again, the mess in background is due to the high aperture which i cant really do anything without changing lens i guess. haha

yea i agree. which school you from?

hmm. ya again, the mess in background is due to the high aperture which i cant really do anything without changing lens i guess. haha

i dun think so , using high aperture to blur the backgound is not the only way to make your

subject outstanding .

but may be you like the result of the high aperture , haha

i dun think so , using high aperture to blur the backgound is not the only way to make your

subject outstanding .

but may be you like the result of the high aperture , haha

true. low aperture u mean? :)

quite good leh
jiayou

hi! yea i agree with you. i will shoot more to improve :)

ya the background is irritating. shooting using 12-24 F4 doesnt allow me to play with much bokeh. can teach me how do i prevent it?

haha thanks. Actually I use wide angle lens not because i want to be different :P it's because i have no other lens. Btw, what is TS? Ya i am still learning how to use the flash, like where should i point it at, power etc :)

You can try using fisheye lens for portraits. They do give very interesting results. However, experiment alot first as fisheye for portraits need ALOT of taming...

Cos I love to use fisheye for portraits.... the result is very interesting. :)

You can try using fisheye lens for portraits. They do give very interesting results. However, experiment alot first as fisheye for portraits need ALOT of taming...

Cos I love to use fisheye for portraits.... the result is very interesting. :)

yea i LOVE TO USE FISHEYE :D
should really try it after exam. lots of things on my to do list. ahaha

Don't know what you're seeing in the pictures to even post them. Maybe you're in love :-)

Don't you see the handrail going thru her head in the 1st shot? Second shot the wrought iron grill? (Shoot wide open to reduce DOF).

And the others I don't know where to begin. All not very flattering to your subject. Stay away noon day sun. Forget about colour treating your pictures for the moment.

Hi Nice post.. TS can i ask you what is the photoshop technique for me to get same effects in picture no. 3 and 13? Still learning...Thanks...:)

ya it helps :) thanks

Actually you just choose simple backgrounds with minimal distractions and it can help a lot!

#3 is nearly there, if only she's a bit more to the left (do frame accordingly). Cheers!

I think your shots are not bad, considering its a group shoot and its not easy to take portraits with a wide angle lens. Composition is not bad and I like your post processing too. :)

just to add on, don't be afraid to clone out stuff like the stop sign+lamp post in no.3.

(unless you're against touch-ups.)

also, be aware of lines that touch the model (tangents in composition). unless you want to create a specific effect. especially so for wide angles, since as you already know the depth of field is quite deep.