lao_chio said:
I think most Asian women look younger than their years - when I was in the US - NOBODY could believe I was this age!
Don't sound as if you're very old leh! :bsmilie:
Err... how old are you anyway? Or is that too personal a question liao?
lao_chio said:
Sigh... the thing is - I am rather tired of 'postmodernism' / 'deconstruction' / modern art ... - besides I don't think one can 'understand' fully ANY art let alone 'modern' art. And I am going to admit it once and for all - I don't like abstract art unless they are colourful or they speak to me - sometimes i just let things speak to me and NOT analyse/deconstruct/apply limitations by DEFINING them and putting them into boxes ...
A very valid point of view to art as well. Frankly, I still trying to strive for that see and appreciate things, without analysis. To most it's as easy as the act of breathing. To me, it's simply too incomprehensible. People are different, I guess...
lao_chio said:
In other words - SINGAPORE IS A UTILITARIAN SOCIETY - EVERYTHING MUST SERVE A PURPOSE - and at this moment - Religious Studies seem quite un-utilitarian (or is it non-utilitarian?) - sigh ... what to do when you live in a techno-Neo-Confucianist socially engineered paradigm? Even BEAUTY has to serve a purpose ... And God too - yes - God is there to BLESS and PROTECT ...and studying RELIGION? NO NEED - just PRACTICE will do.
Like duh! Hello! As if you need to second-guess what Singapore is about? :bsmilie:
There was a thesis by one of the History A/Prof saying that the ideology behind PAPa is pragmatism. It was an interesting read, and quite true to government now, as to then.
And as much as the idealist hated the utilitarian way, it is THE way in the reality call Singapore.
Do I hear a protest somewhere? Well, you have the right to protest of course, provided you follow the legal procedure... ...
lao_chio said:
Haaa~! So are you an atheist - TRULY an atheist? Not even agnostic? No CREATIVE DIVINITY / ENERGY etc?
No, I'm not an agnostic. I'm a true atheist who doesn't believe in anything supernatural, be it God, ghost or "divine energy". Maybe I was an agnostic before I step into uni, but I'm a true atheist right now. And frankly it's not easy to be an atheist, for every action ain't judged by anyone but yourself. That's why I believe in moral police see! Haa~! :bsmilie:
(Moral police argument somewhere in the last 10 pages...)
lao_chio said:
Yes - I understand about the 'conservative' side - in my last life as a Christian fundamentalist (yes - I went around with a Bible AT ALL TIMES asking people - strangers, anyone on the streets, my neighbours / classmates / relatives etc - whether they know Jesus Christ and whether they were saved - ok I was 16 years old - but I was like that till in my early 20s) - when I was going to church at least 4-5 times a week - my pastor discouraged us from taking up Philosophy if we do go to Uni. I guess he meant well - didn't want our faith to be tested etc ...
I don't argue with my christian friends anymore - I just listen to them - coz I like to hear about religious experiences - maybe I should write my own version of 'The Varieties of Religious Experience' - haha!
Hmm... so what are you "this life" then. Whatever that means...