Chit chat thread #2 (slowest thread ever! ha!)

zaren said:
it is shameful only if you believe it. less is sometimes more. examine your mind first, then you will understand better.

that's why we like nude pictures? :think:

hwchoy said:

zaren said less, not nothing... so it's soft-core lah! ;p

The_Cheat said:
Anyway, come to think of it, I don't know what's choy's stance in religion leh. I know zaren is quite a religious man... catholic issit?

i am trying to be....but not succeeding very well.

hwchoy said:

let's look at two example of the concept of "less"

less clothes = better pictures
less nude pictures = better morality

different folks would subscribe to different applications of "less is more", depending on their core beliefs.

The_Cheat said:
Anyway, come to think of it, I don't know what's choy's stance in religion leh. I know zaren is quite a religious man... catholic issit?

no stance haha, you believe what you believe in, I believe what I believe in :cool:

hwchoy said:
no stance haha, you believe what you believe in, I believe what I believe in :cool:

well said.

zaren said:
i am trying to be....but not succeeding very well.

Trying to be? So you ain't a catholic? :dunno:

hwchoy said:

What a load of male-cow defecation. :bsmilie:
Generic statements like that will work on unassuming gals lah. But here? Come on! Saying this common-sensical things to muddle up the issue is like *cough* *cough* bull-sh!t *cough* *cough*

Definitely you must have a stance in terms of religion. Even being agnostic is a stance!

zaren said:
let's look at two example of the concept of "less"

less clothes = better pictures
less nude pictures = better morality

different folks would subscribe to different applications of "less is more", depending on their core beliefs.

ah perhaps picture of translucent teddies?

zaren said:

So what's with the trying to be part? Trying to religiously go to church every week huh? Or trying to religiously fast on fridays? :D

I know! Trying to religiously pro-create!! When is little z cometh huh? :bsmilie:

The_Cheat said:
So what's with the trying to be part? Trying to religiously go to church every week huh? Or trying to religiously fast on fridays? :D

I know! Trying to religiously pro-create!! When is little z cometh huh? :bsmilie:

trying religiously to be a better catholic!

The_Cheat said:
Choy likes the middle path.

the middle path is the path of contentment.

zaren said:
trying religiously to be a better catholic!

Hmm... I am really tempted to ask how does a better catholic looks like or behave. Then again, I guess somethings are better left undiscussed. Once the topic spiral too deep into religion, the thread may be stop dead, and all of us kena booted out of CS lor... :bsmilie:

The_Cheat said:
Hmm... I am really tempted to ask how does a better catholic looks like or behave. Then again, I guess somethings are better left undiscussed. Once the topic spiral too deep into religion, the thread may be stop dead, and all of us kena booted out of CS lor... :bsmilie:

looks and behaviour may not be all that different. the greatest change will come from within.

The_Cheat said:
What a load of male-cow defecation. :bsmilie:
Generic statements like that will work on unassuming gals lah. But here? Come on! Saying this common-sensical things to muddle up the issue is like *cough* *cough* bull-sh!t *cough* *cough*

Definitely you must have a stance in terms of religion. Even being agnostic is a stance!

orh you want understand the "what I believe in" part?

erm… OK in my limited understanding of "religion", is that I didn't need one. never felt I needed one. don't think I'd ever need one.

I also would not describe myself as agnostic, it is too simplistic.

anything else you want to know? :sweat:

zaren said:
the middle path is the path of contentment.

Not necessarily. The middle path is the path for the undecided as well.
It's also the path that most will take.

Of course, if you'd considered the consequences of the two extremes and decided to take the middle-way, then it's one of contentment. But if you don't consciously think about the possibilities, and just take the middle-way out of convenience/ pressure (peer)/ indecision, then it's just blind satisfaction.

hwchoy said:
orh you want understand the "what I believe in" part?

erm… OK in my limited understanding of "religion", is that I didn't need one. never felt I needed one. don't think I'd ever need one.

I also would not describe myself as agnostic, it is too simplistic.

anything else you want to know? :sweat:

Hmm... you don't sound like an atheist to me leh. And if you think agnostic is too simplistic, how would you define your belief system then?

The_Cheat said:
Not necessarily. The middle path is the path for the undecided as well.
It's also the path that most will take.

Of course, if you'd considered the consequences of the two extremes and decided to take the middle-way, then it's one of contentment. But if you don't consciously think about the possibilities, and just take the middle-way out of convenience/ pressure (peer)/ indecision, then it's just blind satisfaction.

i look at the middle path as one not of indecision, but one of moderation.