Cheap cheap D70 Body Price???

Sk8te said:
Here is my personal experience with AP the day before I got my D70 from CP. I am a fan of AP having bought all my P and S digital cam from them as well as bringing all my ang mo collegues there to buy as well.

However I think they are making too much money already, service was the pits. Walked in and asked how much for the D70 kit. Quoted me 10 bucks more than CP. I already am ready to buy there and then, finger very itchy lar.. wanna play with new cam. Just told the guy I can get it 10 bucks cheaper at CP. He pratically challenged me out of the shop. Say that that price was FANTASTIC!! and I should just go there now and get it. Do not get from him, he say, CP price is super good. I was very shocked as I NEVER encounter this kind of service from AP. Think they make wayyyyy too much money already. Really used to love the service there, with their hard to beat prices. Maybe its just that particular sales person there. (Guy with plump face and very short fringe, seems more intend to chit chat with this other guy there who is NOT buying a camera).
Sorry to hear about your bad experience man...

I bought it from AP at SLS so it could have been a totally different experience at the other outlet.

mine also at SLS...

That's the worst "ah beng" reply... sad and disgusted for you man...

Sk8te said:
Here is my personal experience with AP the day before I got my D70 from CP. I am a fan of AP having bought all my P and S digital cam from them as well as bringing all my ang mo collegues there to buy as well.

However I think they are making too much money already, service was the pits. Walked in and asked how much for the D70 kit. Quoted me 10 bucks more than CP. I already am ready to buy there and then, finger very itchy lar.. wanna play with new cam. Just told the guy I can get it 10 bucks cheaper at CP. He pratically challenged me out of the shop. Say that that price was FANTASTIC!! and I should just go there now and get it. Do not get from him, he say, CP price is super good. I was very shocked as I NEVER encounter this kind of service from AP. Think they make wayyyyy too much money already. Really used to love the service there, with their hard to beat prices. Maybe its just that particular sales person there. (Guy with plump face and very short fringe, seems more intend to chit chat with this other guy there who is NOT buying a camera).

Anyway I did not want to bring this up in CS but since someone mantioned about AP, here is my 5 cents worth. Again this is my own personal experience, and you can believe and not believe. :nono:

Hi, me too have a bad experience with AP in SLS. Some sale people attitude are very bad. :(

JL1500k said:
Hi, me too have a bad experience with AP in SLS. Some sale people attitude are very bad. :(

i've had my share of bad experience from AP as well.. just walked away screaming "cocky B*sT*rDs!" in my head..

anyway, i think services from these outlet shops are bad in general.. or should i say inconsistent? can't really expect much from them for the cheaper bit of discount

Man... seems like I started the flood gates here... well... they still got good business so I guess they can afford to be this cocky... anyways its our money so lets spend it somewhere that will make us happy :)

Screw all the lousy retailers, its the camera we are going for!!!

Good that u brought it up! :thumbsup:

No more bad attitude sales people at AP for CS!

Photominia said:
Good that u brought it up! :thumbsup:

No more bad attitude sales people at AP for CS!
No more ?! I hope so !!! I hope people at AP see this.

lui002 said:
No more ?! I hope so !!! I hope people at AP see this.

Well, I think their business is really good until they can afford to loose customers here lar... man... just typing this make me remember that sales person's smug face.... hahha actually its his stupid fat face and short fringe that I will remember... hahahha

Well, to each his own I guess, I am extremely happy with my D70 bought at CP. Also went back to buy my 50mm and some more misc accessories.

i also had a funny experience when i went to enquire the price of a compact digital camera from them about a month back....

i asked 3 sales personnel and all three gave me different prices...
the prices were something like $600, $625 and 580, all with GST......

also, the sales personnel dun seem to be bothered to want to make the sales...
anway, will be going to CP or MS to enquire about 50mm f1.8 liao.....

satan_18349 said:
Got an e-quote from MS color and Cathay for the D70 body at $1370 and $1365 respectively...(GST included) Anyone have got a better price?

Do not need the kit lens and card cos i have already got some lens and the 1gb lexar so i can't join ESPN's MO :( Now need to source for the cheapest price cos my gf buying one for my bdae present... :embrass:
buy from ESPN with the whole bundle, then come and sell the unwanted stuff away.

i'm sure got buyers. :)

in KL, D70 body only = RM2800 nett or lower :) One PMer bought it.

obviousdude said:
buy from ESPN with the whole bundle, then come and sell the unwanted stuff away.

i'm sure got buyers. :)

do u think there will still have pple willing to pay more than $335 for the kit lens? $1365 + $335 = $1700.... if cannot sell the lens for more than $335....it would be better to get the body alone....

kegler said:
do u think there will still have pple willing to pay more than $335 for the kit lens? $1365 + $335 = $1700.... if cannot sell the lens for more than $335....it would be better to get the body alone....

thing is, i dont' know espn's price or package ah..... if he also throws in a card at that price, then can consider.

plus, there are buyers who don't know the price. (let the buyer beware)

i've also seen sellers who still ask for $400 at least. buy and sell forum ethics stops me from saying anything in those threads. anyway, it's the seller's business what price he wants to sell it at.

Folks, be realistic when looking at prices. If you know it's impossible, don't ask for it. If $1700 can include a 1GB CF, I think most of the shops would be willing to take stock from you :)

obviousdude said:
thing is, i dont' know espn's price or package ah..... if he also throws in a card at that price, then can consider.

plus, there are buyers who don't know the price. (let the buyer beware)

i've also seen sellers who still ask for $400 at least. buy and sell forum ethics stops me from saying anything in those threads. anyway, it's the seller's business what price he wants to sell it at.

what i meant has never stop anyone from selling at any price they want.... pple selling at $400 in the B&S doesn't mean they will get to sell at that price... probably they are not being updated abt the D70 kit price now.... or just being jack up the price for bargain hunters to price cut...

i believe espn's deal is considered very good deal even theres no 1gb included... me too no idea wats his deal now....

so far i ask a few shops out there, pple are quoting me the price between $1685-$1700.... taking the worst price of $1700 - $1365(someone mention in the a few post above) = $335... the price of the lense worth if bundle with a D70... if u have no intention of keeping it.... n wanna sell it... the most u can get $400-$335= $65...thats being the MOST.... having the hassle of meeting the buyer to pick up the lense...

Ya..thats why i don't want to go through the trouble of putting up on sale-> bargain->meetup etc etc...