Canon S3 IS Users

felixcat8888 said:
This is a good price.

Yah... tats wat i personally feel also.. will be going down ms lata 2 take a look...

shuumi said:
I got my s3 already.
Can add me to the list pls?
Thanks!

my name still not in the list leh.... :(

O, if you haven't, better do it quick. I think they may change the deal since the PCShow is over......Hopefully not.;)

Ed1975 said:
Yah... tats wat i personally feel also.. will be going down ms lata 2 take a look...

Hi Shuumi,

Jackal may be busy......before he does it, I do like that ok?? :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Jackals said:
Hi folks,

Noticed that quite a number of canon fanatics have bought the Canon S3 IS after it was launched recently.

Hence, the purpose of creating this thread is to identify all the S3 IS users.
Of course, S1/S2 users are welcome to exchange pointers with the S3 users.

Hopefully, the base of S3 users will multiply as each day goes on so that we can organise
a photo-shoot gathering for all S1/S2/S3 users :bigeyes:

Could the moderators please assist by making this thread sticky.;)
Txs!

S3 Owners
1.Jackals
2.Whitelion
3.Nakedtoes
4.Tks
5.Longlegs
6.Skyraider
7.Lastboltnut
8.Williamku
9.Tutumakbuk
10.Lowem
11.JWT
12.Yipdanny
13.Zh2908
14. Juric
15. A friend
16. Shuumi

S2 Owners
1.NightZ88
2.Cerebrus
3.Wishxtreme
4.Felixcat8888
5.Trojan75
6.Catseye

lastboltnut said:
O, if you haven't, better do it quick. I think they may change the deal since the PCShow is over......Hopefully not.;)

Haha... Haven't got time 2 go down 2 take a look eh... Hopefully got betta deal lor...

Think you better give them a call to check on the deal and the stock before going down......save some time on the trip.

Ed1975 said:
Haha... Haven't got time 2 go down 2 take a look eh... Hopefully got betta deal lor...

Hi , a newbie in this forum and would like to get your opinion. I was thinking of getting a camera for the purpose of taking dog sport pic, thus wonder whether S3 suitable for this purpose.

Should be able to do the job and it comes with Sports mode. Anyway, it has shutter priority mode and full manual mode, so should be a prob.:)

i think its song brothers that is selling below $740. MS Color said they would have problems with Canon if their price differs any further from Canon's RRP.

lastboltnut said:
Should be able to do the job and it comes with Sports mode. Anyway, it has shutter priority mode and full manual mode, so should be a prob.:)

Thx for the prompt reply.

Anyone have taken a pic before with the Sport mode?? Do post :embrass:

Radeonic did in the following thread, post 603, beach volley ball match.......but now cannot see....may be u can PM him for the pics. Think he has taken down the pics.

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?p=2184811&highlight=ball#post2184811

Or you check out tks's post 741 on the dolphine show shots.

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=194274&page=38&highlight=ball

aristosmilagros said:
Thx for the prompt reply.

Anyone have taken a pic before with the Sport mode?? Do post :embrass:

wow u really fast in response.

hmmm i tink i will get the S3 instead of EOS 350D cos dun have so much money to invest in the len and lazy to bring so many accessories out;p

Thereafter will share wif u guys on the dog sport.:) :)

Sure! Pleaes post over at the Pics thread. Enjoy shooting!

aristosmilagros said:
wow u really fast in response.

hmmm i tink i will get the S3 instead of EOS 350D cos dun have so much money to invest in the len and lazy to bring so many accessories out;p

Thereafter will share wif u guys on the dog sport.:) :)

Unless you can be bother to lug around a few kg of stuff everytime you go shoot for fun then get the DSLR, otherwise the S3 is good and cheap enough for the same purpose. My nick tells you the stuff i use...

I just my S3 today. Am a noob in photography, need pointers and help~

gan55 said:
I just my S3 today. Am a noob in photography, need pointers and help~
Do not worry, all of us are quite new to this stuff :) You can check out pointers in the pictures thread here. You can also post questions & all. One word of advice, shoot in P mode, instead of Auto, you will get to learn your camera faster. Happy shooting!

folks...is S3 considered a mid-range DLSR?

No lah, S3 is NOT a DSLR at all. It is a high end consumer compact model, or prosumer (professional consumer) model.

Based on my rather limited understanding, I think the technical construction of a DSLR is very different. You use the view finder to view through the lens. For our S3, this is not the case. There are other differences but I am not sure. DSLRs also tend not to have these frills like movie mode, LCD preview etc.

tks said:
No lah, S3 is NOT a DSLR at all. It is a high end consumer compact model, or prosumer (professional consumer) model.

Based on my rather limited understanding, I think the technical construction of a DSLR is very different. You use the view finder to view through the lens. For our S3, this is not the case. There are other differences but I am not sure. DSLRs also tend not to have these frills like movie mode, LCD preview etc.
i see....thought S3 is a mid-range DSLR :)