Canon S3 Accessories

zh2908 said:
hi all.. need some explaination on the purpose of using uv filters and polarizers.

from what i understand, uv filters are used to "protect" the lens. in what ways does it affect the image? same for polarizer.. kindly advise. thanks! ;)

UV is there to so call "protect" the lens. Cir Polariser is to take pics of water scenes and sunsets. Cuts diwn reflection of water and sun ray.

felixcat8888 said:
UV is there to so call "protect" the lens. Cir Polariser is to take pics of water scenes and sunsets. Cuts diwn reflection of water and sun ray.

hm... ok... so the uv filters doesnt affect the image i suppose? thankz!

Hi, actually UV filters by its name is to filter the UV spectrum of light from entering into the camera. It was invented during the SLR (film) era when film is sensitive to UV, which a cast a blue/purple fringe on the picture....UV fringing is worse at higher altitude, like highland.

However, there is a debate whether digital camera CCD is sensitive to UV? Apparently diff CCD will have diff results. So, the UV filter became the lens protector instate loh. But the lens coating on it is very fragile too, dun scratch it, protect it with a lens cap woh.:)

So, use a lens cap to protect the filter and a filter to protect the lens lah. :bsmilie: U noe why? Cos the lens cap cannot protect the lens while taking pic loh;)

zh2908 said:
hm... ok... so the uv filters doesnt affect the image i suppose? thankz!

So, use a lens cap to protect the filter and a filter to protect the lens lah. U noe why? Cos the lens cap cannot protect the lens while taking pic loh
lastboltnut, you forgot to put your camera in the camera bag, and keep it in a dry box, and even put inside a safety box. so even sutnami or earthquake you still can keep your camera safe. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

tomlowct said:
lastboltnut, you forgot to put your camera in the camera bag, and keep it in a dry box, and even put inside a safety box. so even sutnami or earthquake you still can keep your camera safe. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

SG no Tsunami or earthquake lah only earth tremors :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Buy insurance for your home can liao....include all the funiture and valuable lah.;p :bigeyes: :bsmilie: :sticktong

felixcat8888 said:
SG no Tsunami or earthquake lah only earth tremors

folks, i just bought a 58mm UV filter for my S3 , however it can't fit onto my wide converter

Jackals said:
folks, i just bought a 58mm UV filter for my S3 , however it can't fit onto my wide converter

What is the diameter of your converter? You should get for that not your adapter size.

EG if wide diameter = 62mm then you need to buy 62mm UV filter.

felixcat8888 said:
What is the diameter of your converter? You should get for that not your adapter size.

EG if wide diameter = 62mm then you need to buy 62mm UV filter.
it fits on my adapter...but not the wide converter

wah.....meaning to say i got to get separate filter...like this siong man

Jackals said:
it fits on my adapter...but not the wide converter

wah.....meaning to say i got to get separate filter...like this siong man

yes dear friend, 58mm for adapter and another one for the lens
but never put UV filter between adapter and lens otherwise it will cause vignetting or dark corners in thte pics.

frontview-001.jpg

Jackals said:
wats the UV size for the lens?

look at the front of the lens and you can see a number with the / in the 0 next to it. In the pic, the diameter is 58mm. So yours will be 62mm or 72mm or 77mm or 82mm

If you put filter in front of your WC, you may end up with vignetting also (depends on WC and filter used). If you can, bring down your cam and WC to the shop and see if they allow you to try out the filter to check the image on your cam. That way you will not end up unhappy with your purchase.

http://www.lensmateonline.com/newsite/S2.html

See pt 11: Can I put a polarizer on my wide converter?
Of all the wide converters we tested, only three, the Raynox DCR720, Tiffen .75x, and Raynox 6600 have a front thread. Of these three, only the Tiffen can accomodate a filter or hood (not both) without vignetting.

boogle said:
If you put filter in front of your WC, you may end up with vignetting also (depends on WC and filter used). If you can, bring down your cam and WC to the shop and see if they allow you to try out the filter to check the image on your cam. That way you will not end up unhappy with your purchase.

http://www.lensmateonline.com/newsite/S2.html

See pt 11: Can I put a polarizer on my wide converter?
Of all the wide converters we tested, only three, the Raynox DCR720, Tiffen .75x, and Raynox 6600 have a front thread. Of these three, only the Tiffen can accomodate a filter or hood (not both) without vignetting.

Anyone who got the Canon Lens Adapter recently?
I'm looking for it but it seems to be out of stock.

Appreciate some info. Thanks!

davsmiths said:
Anyone who got the Canon Lens Adapter recently?
I'm looking for it but it seems to be out of stock.

Appreciate some info. Thanks!

Oops, you are a little late.:( There was a mass order recently to purchase a compatible adapter from Lensmate, which is agreed by most that it is better than the original Cannon adapter.

In fact, I just received a PM that our 'stuff' has arrived. Maybe you'll like to start another mass order for the new S3IS owners.

lol. it's ok then. I shall go hunt. I want the 58mm thread size.

davsmiths said:
lol. it's ok then. I shall go hunt. I want the 58mm thread size.
I have a freind who wants to get the 58mm lensmate adapter for his S3IS.

Regarding the free Sanyo charger given by Canon, how long do u all charge the Sanyo 2100 batteries? :sweat:

I dun have that Sanyo charger, but it should have LED indicated to tell you when the batt is fully charge rite??

iboey said:
Regarding the free Sanyo charger given by Canon, how long do u all charge the Sanyo 2100 batteries? :sweat: