Canon Powershot A570 IS photos

around $380+ from mscolor, comes with free SD card, battery charger and batteries..

i bought this way back in May.... :)
do note that its only 5% gst last time....

I am planning to buy this camera too.

Where is mscolor? Are they the cheapest? have any tripod? with 1 or 2 pcs of 2GB SD card?
Canon give u the charger, 2 or 4 battery charger?

I am planning to buy this camera too.

Where is mscolor? Are they the cheapest? have any tripod? with 1 or 2 pcs of 2GB SD card?
Canon give u the charger, 2 or 4 battery charger?

mscolor is in ang mo kio.... check out their webbie

http://www.mscolor.com.sg

at that point of time, they were the cheapest..

now it comes with 1 pcs of SD card, 4 battery charger... hope it helps

mscolor is in ang mo kio.... check out their webbie

http://www.mscolor.com.sg

at that point of time, they were the cheapest..

now it comes with 1 pcs of SD card, 4 battery charger... hope it helps

Yes, it really helps. Thanks.

Have you check on places like Sim Lim and Funan?

MS now sell at 360 without any free items from theirself. Only Canon gives.

img0004mediumuo8.jpg

Taken on a moving boat cruise at night, no flash, no tripod were used

img0078smallfy9.jpg

Taken from an observation tower, at 273th floor.. no tripod, no flash used

Wow. I think these two night pictures are great. I just bought the same model of camera a few weeks ago. I have yet to figure out the manual mode.

Any idea on how to get started? How do you know what aperture and shutter speed to set?

Thanks in advance. =)

I bought mine @ $390 at John 3:16 (At Funan). Comes with 1 2GB SD card and 4 rechargable batteries. Hope that helps =)

Wow. I think these two night pictures are great. I just bought the same model of camera a few weeks ago. I have yet to figure out the manual mode.

Any idea on how to get started? How do you know what aperture and shutter speed to set?

Thanks in advance. =)

you could right click the photo and save them in ur comp.. then on the files saved, right click them and you will be able to see the EXIF information...

haha.. its all there... Canon Powershot A570IS... no bluff.. no photo shop.. no usage of neat image or whatever :bsmilie:

happy playing with ur cam ;) i kind of forget what settings i used.. but you will definitely get the hang of it... :sweatsm:

this price of $360, is before the 7% GST... :sweatsm: so it ard $380+ also...

Thx guys.

I have just bought this camera at 5pm today and been playing it for 4 hrs. Its alot better than most of the cameras I have seen belong to my friends. Maybe its the manual function and optical 4X which is higher 1X.

I bought it at Holland Village at $360 with GST inclusive Canon's free gift of 1 pc of 2GB SD and a charger with 4 pcs rechargeable batteries.
MScolor and another shop I found in Sim Lim through email quotation are the same price.

Well, better than Courts and Harvey Norman which has a higher price and forced you to buy the bundled mini tripod.

The red-eye function in auto mode is useless. In manual mode witth after required settings, the picture is still OK. Well, at this price of camera what can we expect? Its considered very good. I think I still have to polish up my noob skill on the manual mode. After 2-3 years later, maybe we all can upgrade to another better camera with better skills.

Some photos I have taken not so good due to skill and I need to use photoshop to repolish-up. Perhaps after mastering this camera, I need not use any other softwares.
I still dont like when pressing the snap button half-way, the red light comes up for a second.
My dog runs away whenever she sees this light. haahhahahaha. I cant get a clear photo she running around.

you could right click the photo and save them in ur comp.. then on the files saved, right click them and you will be able to see the EXIF information...

haha.. its all there... Canon Powershot A570IS... no bluff.. no photo shop.. no usage of neat image or whatever :bsmilie:

happy playing with ur cam ;) i kind of forget what settings i used.. but you will definitely get the hang of it... :sweatsm:

OK. Thanks. One thing abt this camera is I cannot get the background to be blur and the subject to be in focus. OK. Sometimes, it works but it is not very distinctive. I wonder why the Aperture Priority is there if the depth of field does not work. Or can it be I use it in the wrong way? Or maybe it works in manual mode? If you figure out, do update me :)

Thx guys.

I have just bought this camera at 5pm today and been playing it for 4 hrs. Its alot better than most of the cameras I have seen belong to my friends. Maybe its the manual function and optical 4X which is higher 1X.

I bought it at Holland Village at $360 with GST inclusive Canon's free gift of 1 pc of 2GB SD and a charger with 4 pcs rechargeable batteries.
MScolor and another shop I found in Sim Lim through email quotation are the same price.

Wow. Thats cheap. =) Have fun with the camera!

OK. Thanks. One thing abt this camera is I cannot get the background to be blur and the subject to be in focus. OK. Sometimes, it works but it is not very distinctive. I wonder why the Aperture Priority is there if the depth of field does not work. Or can it be I use it in the wrong way? Or maybe it works in manual mode? If you figure out, do update me :)

err.. what you are referring is the bokeh shots... for PnS cameras, and even pro-consumer cameras like S5IS.. our CCD sensor is really small 1/2.5 for canon series... 1/1.6-.7 for fujifilm F series like f31fd... there is so much of the depth of field it can accommodate..

this is one of the limitations of PnS cameras, including the S5IS and etc... nothing you can really do about it.. unless u take in macro shot mode, which has a limit of 5cm to 30cm... :bsmilie:

has to live with the limitations of our cameras, no choice... else have to grab a dSLR... even proconsumer cameras like S5IS also cannot take bokeh shots as well. there was a previous thread on this by a fellow consumer.. no wonder i keep seeing people selling away their precious "new" S5IS.. :bsmilie: they all spent too much liaoz..

Thx guys.

Well, better than Courts and Harvey Norman which has a higher price and forced you to buy the bundled mini tripod.

The red-eye function in auto mode is useless. In manual mode witth after required settings, the picture is still OK. Well, at this price of camera what can we expect? Its considered very good. I think I still have to polish up my noob skill on the manual mode. After 2-3 years later, maybe we all can upgrade to another better camera with better skills.

Some photos I have taken not so good due to skill and I need to use photoshop to repolish-up. Perhaps after mastering this camera, I need not use any other softwares.
I still dont like when pressing the snap button half-way, the red light comes up for a second.
My dog runs away whenever she sees this light. haahhahahaha. I cant get a clear photo she running around.

wah you found the best bang lobang! :bsmilie: good for u...

the red light is the red eye reduction thing.. if you want to remove the red light...

use the following
- remove red eye in setup
- remove infra red assisted auto focus

then no more red light liaoz! :bsmilie:

hope it helps

one more thing about red eye.. if red eye exists after the photo is taken, u can use canon's in-built red eye removal program within the camera.. it works wonders! its really quite the best bang!... read up ur manual... red eye removal is now possible even during play back mode!

one point to highlight to fellow users, if you are using high ISO like 800 and 1600.. u can use neat image for noise removal... then it would look like a f31fd photo in disguise..

one point to note that the photos i posted here are RAW from the camera, no post processing is done.. except resize.. :bsmilie:

RAW and unedited are different things. Might not wanna get them mixed up. I used to think that getting the photo right and not having to post-process was a good thing. However, good post-processing can make an okay photo become a fabulous photo, hence I started incorporating post-processing in my workflow (when needed).

err.. what you are referring is the bokeh shots... for PnS cameras, and even pro-consumer cameras like S5IS.. our CCD sensor is really small 1/2.5 for canon series... 1/1.6-.7 for fujifilm F series like f31fd... there is so much of the depth of field it can accommodate..

this is one of the limitations of PnS cameras, including the S5IS and etc... nothing you can really do about it.. unless u take in macro shot mode, which has a limit of 5cm to 30cm... :bsmilie:

has to live with the limitations of our cameras, no choice... else have to grab a dSLR... even proconsumer cameras like S5IS also cannot take bokeh shots as well. there was a previous thread on this by a fellow consumer.. no wonder i keep seeing people selling away their precious "new" S5IS.. :bsmilie: they all spent too much liaoz..

ooo ic... One more thing. Did u experienced a lag after taking a photo? The LCD will blank out. I am not sure if it is recharging the flash. Sometimes, it can be quite irriitiating. Or is it the IS mode that is causing it?

Its the recharging for the battery. When your battery power weakens, ur flash recharge time will be longer. It can goes up to 11seconds. Canon camera's flash are on the battery hunger side. For the types with 4 batteries have very fast recharge time.

There is one bad thing is after snapping the photo at ISO 1600, the LCD will be blank. You have to press the the button again to see the LCD again. For your info, you wont want to use the maximum ISO setting on any cameras. All of the highest ISO setting on all cameras tends to have lower quality shots.

if you use flash... yes it will lag for a couple of sec... depending on the intensity of flash and the conditions of the batteries at that point of time... but for me, i hardly use flash.. i hate flash.. so it doesn't matter... do note that if you use flash, this camera lags :confused: :bsmilie:

the flash recharge can be anything from 1-6sec.. :sweatsm: depending on flash intensity used and the state of the batteries :lovegrin:

RAW and unedited are different things. Might not wanna get them mixed up. I used to think that getting the photo right and not having to post-process was a good thing. However, good post-processing can make an okay photo become a fabulous photo, hence I started incorporating post-processing in my workflow (when needed).

ya, my bad.. i meant unedited ;)

Its the recharging for the battery. When your battery power weakens, ur flash recharge time will be longer. It can goes up to 11seconds. Canon camera's flash are on the battery hunger side. For the types with 4 batteries have very fast recharge time.

There is one bad thing is after snapping the photo at ISO 1600, the LCD will be blank. You have to press the the button again to see the LCD again. For your info, you wont want to use the maximum ISO setting on any cameras. All of the highest ISO setting on all cameras tends to have lower quality shots.

but then slow flash recharge time doesn't bother me, i dun really use flash that much.. i was able to take some 300-400+ photos on this camera before the batteries run out each time.. and to me that is top notch..

me using 2500mah batteries ;p

but then slow flash recharge time doesn't bother me, i dun really use flash that much.. i was able to take some 300-400+ photos on this camera before the batteries run out each time.. and to me that is top notch..

me using 2500mah batteries ;p

Hahahahaha! nice batteries!

Canon gave me 4 pcs 2700mAH free, LOL
Only the brand is lousy. Well, its free so and 4 pcs is more than enough for me. I can use for 2 years! LOL.

Ability to adjust the camera manually is really good. Luckily I choose this brand and model.
Normal and cheaper rechargeable batteries, standard SD card and best free charger and batteries which cost $30!!! at least. No funny things that will makes us regret on this camera.

Only disadvantage is heavy and a bit bulky. My gal dont like it but I dont care. I prefer cheap and good, LOL