Canon EOS 450D Club - GED

Eh...let me guess, you changing to 5DMkII or a 50D....man...every one is leaving this club. All the old birds whom we started out are all leaving...sad..

GMAN

sad? why? the 'club' is only really an online forum...there isnt really much meetings or sharing sessions tbh. with your reluctance to turn up or share, i'd expect u to be the last person to be sad really. :bsmilie:

and no, your guesses are all wrong. :nono:

Eh...let me guess, you changing to 5DMkII or a 50D....man...every one is leaving this club. All the old birds whom we started out are all leaving...sad..

GMAN

sad? why? the 'club' is only really an online forum...there isnt really much meetings or sharing sessions tbh. with your reluctance to turn up or share, i'd expect u to be the last person to be sad really. :bsmilie:

Ya, must admit that this club has really become an online forum only.
For the meetings and sharing sessions, we fail to achieve that.
Partially, it is due to the fact that hard to meet different ppl shoot preference.
Just pm me if there is any outing sessions or share the information either here or in flickr.
I will try to attend one.

Err....ok then....i just feel real shy. Haha.

GMAN

Ya, must admit that this club has really become an online forum only.
For the meetings and sharing sessions, we fail to achieve that.
Partially, it is due to the fact that hard to meet different ppl shoot preference.
Just pm me if there is any outing sessions or share the information either here or in flickr.
I will try to attend one.

bro..u are gettin real bz sia....

Err....ok then....i just feel real shy. Haha.

GMAN

slowly the boy will turn to master....

ninja boy slowly promoting to ninja master:bsmilie:

anywhere i'm still here...:)

bro..u are gettin real bz sia....

slowly the boy will turn to master....

ninja boy slowly promoting to ninja master:bsmilie:

anywhere i'm still here...:)
Nope...long long way. Hmm...well, i'm going to have exams soon. That's why can't organize much. I still haven't put my pictures up either. Oh man...i need to find sometime to do that.

GMAN

anyway nn some recommendation.

lookin to buy a new tripod since i had given my old tripod away liao

lookin for something below 1.5kg and can hold ard 4kg. (as low as possible but definitely not CF..exp)

budget ard $160 wif head....:)

lookin for something below 1.5kg and can hold ard 4kg. (as low as possible but definitely not CF..exp)

Benro? Fancier?

Manfrotto? - There are some within your price range, but 3 way head. Not ball head.

GMAN

Well, as for the UV fliter, you need to pay for it. Depends on which type you get. Lousy ones, or good ones like Hoya and really good ones like B+W. The price range increases with the grade and size of the glass element on the filter.

I do respect your mindset, but we are trying over here not to have any member waste their money over a lens that does not justify its price. The 18-200mm, costs about a $1000, compared to the 55-250mm, which cost around $360-$400. The 55-250mm, can win the 18-200mm hats off in terms of picture quality. So that's something you have to consider. It's way lighter than a 18-200mm.

Trust me, half of the time, you'll won't be using anything above 100-150mm. A telephoto lens is useful when you have to take shots far away. Like you are on a boat, but you see a nice whale on the ocean, you can just walk up to the whale and take a photo of it, you have to use a telephoto lens.

Of course, if you have a 18-200mm, you can take it instantly, because you don't have to change lenses. Then again think of this. When you get into DSLR photography, you need to know the situation you are in. If you are looking across the ocean for some nice marine life shots, certainly you won't have thw 18-55mm kit lens attached on your camera. You would want to have something with a decent range that can capture the moment. This case the 55-250mm is suitable. Then when you are else where with friends, you can just take the 18-55mm kit lens. It's very good. Rather than to lug around a heavy 18-200mm lens that costs as much as an L lens.

Hope you undestand by what i mean. The members here wish not to see someone waste their money, but rather, use it wisely. Though, i'm not forcing you to go according to my option, you still have the choice to make your own decesion.

Hope my understanding helps. No offense if i sounded a little harsh. Take care

GMAN
Gman, no offense to me, didn't sound harsh at all. But I find it your information useful. Instead, I should thank you!

THANK YOU

Cleaning kit - pretty useless, because the free ones are lousy. A cleaning kit usually means to help you clean the sensor inside the camera, but you need a good cleaning solution to clean the sensor, otherwise you can spoil the sensor.

UV fliters - Useful to protect the first element glass of the lens. But you need to get good ones like Hoya or Tokina, those cheap ones with weird branding do work the purpose, but your image quality will be affected.

Lens hood - Usefull to prevent light streaks that cause flaring. These light streaks usually come from the side, so thats why the hood is useful. It's like wearing a cap on your head. :) There are 3rd party ones which are cheap and original ones that can cost quite a bit. Purpose wise, both satisfy the function, just depends which you prefer.

GMAN
Noted

you interested to buy 450D? are u interested to buy 2nd hand? if you are pm me, we can sort out the details. ;)
Will PM you later, still haven't figure the PM thingy over here since I am new to this forum;p

GMAN
Haha, am I stupid enough to join this club?:bsmilie:

protein also giving up 450D?

hmm u going to the dark side ah

You can give Slik a try too. The AMT are light as in meet your specifications.

nope, if can let go my set, will go for 40D body...coz now prices dropping.

ahh.. ok. so sad all leaving 450D liaoz..:(

ninja faster organise something la then they wun run liaoz.. :bsmilie:

leave also nvm ma...we can still meet up for shoots with our diff canon bodies.

Wah.

All moving on. I'm still in love with my 450D but will be contemplating a switch to XXD in the near future. I want my lenses 1st. ;p

Ninja is going to have exams soon. Why not someone else organize something? I will be starting school too on 12 Jan then can only meet on weekends, most probably Saturdays.

I'm organizing with Nitro on a 450D challenge, that comes with a small 1st prize. Have i become some kind of leader to this thread? Kekeke...everyone's calling me ninja. Haha. I thought of going to the dark side too. Haha...maybe only in Flim SLR first. Haha. If i were to sell my 450D away, my parents will hammer me. Haha...though i wished i had a litte more funding, i would get the 50D today. But who cares. I like my 450D and i'm using it till i'm ready for a 5DmarkII, most likely after NS. Use all those NS money. Haha.

GMAN

Don't worry, when we organize outings, we'll make those kind of NS signs, that come on TV, radio type. All must report in for duty. Haha.

GMAN

I'm organizing with Nitro on a 450D challenge, that comes with a small 1st prize. Have i become some kind of leader to this thread? Kekeke...everyone's calling me ninja. Haha. I thought of going to the dark side too. Haha...maybe only in Flim SLR first. Haha. If i were to sell my 450D away, my parents will hammer me. Haha...though i wished i had a litte more funding, i would get the 50D today. But who cares. I like my 450D and i'm using it till i'm ready for a 5DmarkII, most likely after NS. Use all those NS money. Haha.

GMAN

Good way to utilize the gahmen $$ for your needs. Haha.

Hope to have more GST Offset $$ and whatever $$ from gahmen to supply for my photography needs. ;p

GMAN

:D Got prize means I will get to be very busy liao :bigeyes:

Yeah...haha...i forgot to mention one more thing to you. The user, should have a canon 450D, because the prize is based on the 450D. And the prize is not for sale. Haha!!!!

GMAN