Canon EOS 350D unveiled

haha... i will wait till the 300D dies on me!

PS: Actually $ no enuf lah.... haha :cry:

art2d3d said:
my goodness... i still using 300D... 2million more pixels.
Rather wait for the 11million pixels one in year 2007. just wait for two more years la.

Actually if the price is around the same as the 300D when it first came out, I would think it's a rather good buy. And I feel, it's not really that crucial to have spot metering lah. Actually, spot metering has very specialised usage lah, it's pointless if you dun know how to use it properly. Especially when these cameras are targeted at beginner/ intermediate users.
My only gripe with canon, why they can't make better kit/consumer lenses???

Prismatic said:
Actually if the price is around the same as the 300D when it first came out, I would think it's a rather good buy. And I feel, it's not really that crucial to have spot metering lah. Actually, spot metering has very specialised usage lah, it's pointless if you dun know how to use it properly. Especially when these cameras are targeted at beginner/ intermediate users.
My only gripe with canon, why they can't make better kit/consumer lenses???

will they be selling the 350D without kit lens ?

dennislim said:
will they be selling the 350D without kit lens ?

most probably will be like 300D - package with the EF-s 18-55mm.

virgo & garion - heck lah... all 3 of us wait out till next yr? by then, 20D and 1DmkII replacements will be out. then consider upgrade. :devil:

nightwolf75 said:

virgo & garion - heck lah... all 3 of us wait out till next yr? by then, 20D and 1DmkII replacements will be out. then consider upgrade. :devil:
As what Garion has pointed out, if the 350D is eating into the 20D market, and there's a drop in pricing, I may consider getting the 20D, provided that the drop is significant enough. If not, let's all sit there and wait for the replacement of 20D.

Ok.. So it's finally out..

And guess wat..

I'd still stick to 20D.. LOL

U get wat u pay for, and noeing myself, a beginner DSLR might not be enuff to satisfy my learning needs.. :)

I still think it looks ugly...

VampTreSS said:
Ok.. So it's finally out..

And guess wat..

I'd still stick to 20D.. LOL

U get wat u pay for, and noeing myself, a beginner DSLR might not be enuff to satisfy my learning needs.. :)
For a 'beginner DSLR' it has quite impressive specs indeed. This time they didn't cripple anything like what they did in the 300D. It has the three selective metering modes (One-Shot AF, AI SERVO and AI Focus), mirror lock-up, 2nd curtain flash sync, 1/4000 max shutter speed, etc. Of course the build is not as solid as the 20D lar.

But what you said is right, you get what you pay for, of course.

nightwolf75 said:

Yah thats prolly what I would do....wait till next yr when the replacements come out...den maybe can get a 2nd hand 1D Mk II body for abt half of what it costs now... :lovegrin: Or maybe even the 20D replacement, if it has impressive enuff specs.

Garion said:
Yah thats prolly what I would do....wait till next yr when the replacements come out...den maybe can get a 2nd hand 1D Mk II body for abt half of what it costs now... :lovegrin: Or maybe even the 20D replacement, if it has impressive enuff specs.

actually, i believe the 1DmkII body dropped abt $1k+. think its going for ard $6.5K+ new? :dunno:

yeah. wait till next yr when they clear stocks. then buy via installments.... or might just get used 20D? :think:

Just noticed something peculiar...
When I got back to the www.pma-show.com main page, I couldn't find the link back to the Rebel XT review page! So I went to look for news on some news on other webbies. Like dpreview, canon BeBit etc etc, but couldn't find any official news release. Maybe Let's Go Digital announced it a bit too fast liao?Haha...

nightwolf75 said:
actually, i believe the 1DmkII body dropped abt $1k+. think its going for ard $6.5K+ new? :dunno:
I should think so...didn't really keep track of the latest prices. Hope the price will drop a bit more to counter the D2x market launch....den maybe by next year drop to around 4k when the replacement is announced....den mai tu liao... ;p

This is for new body btw...not 2nd hand.

Garion said:
I should think so...didn't really keep track of the latest prices. Hope the price will drop a bit more to counter the D2x market launch....den maybe by next year drop to around 4k when the replacement is announced....den mai tu liao... ;p

ah? going to drop so much ar?! i'm drooling for one as u guys say the price dropped so much liao..

Garion said:

Wow, you guys talking about pro bodies leh...not for me lah...I'll either go for used 20D or new replacement for 20D if got impressive specs.

X-sync still at 1/200s max... :thumbsd:
'You get what you paid for', I think I'll echo that.

Looks like a winner... an entry level DSLR w/o the cripples. It should be having similar sensor output as the 20D up to ISO1600. Which imho is very good. At ISO1600 + noise reduction, the 20D's images are very usable.

It also should have the same write to CF speed as the 20D and its fast startup time.

Another good inclusion is the FEC function which many 300D users wanted. Meaning you can now FEC on a 420EX.

Also liked the 3fps with 14 images buffer. Hehehe...

Looks like this will eat into the D70 mkt. ;p

Now the only cons I can forsee is whether its grip is as bad as the 20Ds. And whether the fast startup created more problems like the initial 20D firmware. Oh yeah... wished they stuck to the BP511 batts....

Other than that, it should be a very good walk about camera, back up camera, entry level DSLR, and a good travelling camera. Small, light, unobstrusive and fast. ;)

specs are not unexpected :) the new battery is a damper though. also interesting is the version II of the EF-S 18-55.

but no usm?!
does anyone remember the japan version of the kit lens? ;)

dunno what's improved in version II ;p it seems to look the same physically as the old one.