Canon 6D to 5Dmk2, upgrade or downgrade?

I would say u made the wrong decision to me.
and ofcourse the shop has to mark up to earn some profits.
the reason i guess he asked for trade is because 6D is easier to sell than the older 5D2 and moreover yours come with warranty.

The 5D2 should be similar to the 6D in terms of functions although the 6D is very much the entry level budget FF option for consumers. The 5D2 was probably something that was used by quite a few professionals back in its day so the shop is not entirely wrong when they say the 5D2 is more of a pros' camera than the 6D.

The thing that stinks about this is the feeling that the second hand shop you sold your 6D to did not seem to be entirely upfront, choosing to be selective about facts and putting things into context.

My suggestion is to forget about trading again with that shop unless you really get a good deal on the 6D which you have just sold. Plus please bring along another friend or two who really know their stuff well. Otherwise I would cut my losses and get a 6D off BnS, assuming you know how to check for flaws.

it is really hard to say which camera is better,but if u asked me probably both are similar or on par to me.
some things are good in 5D2 and some are good in 6D so it is the person who looks at which factors are more important in a camera. and also 5D2 is pretty old model and have u checked on your shutter counts? If shutter counts is more than 50K,i would dare to say u have downgraded.

He said was over 8k. Now im wondering it if is rigged. Scary.

That is such a lie that that owner have told you .. he really schemed to make u feel inferior of your own camera and downgraded ...
I got "cheated " by another lens cleaner at peninsula years ago.... from then on. I have never step into his shop again ... making friends with him is a mistake and gullible for me

Is it by any chance that fujifilm shop at peninsula plaza. Quite a bad reputation it has.

Yes, indeed. Stupidity on my part. I understand that he has to make profit but at the expense of his integrity... betraying trust... I dont know leh. I cannot accept it. You make a decent living cleaning sensors and lenses and earning difference selling consignment items la... dont do all these just to earn that one off profit. For what? My money can earn back, but their reputation is at stake. I stop short of naming and shaming them because I know everyone need to make a living. But cheating is what I really hate. If need be, I will not hesitate to expose them. I will never walk into the shop again.

I bought a 32gb cf at $128, China CPF a $55, 3rd party batt at $45, Screen guard all these... I think somewhat over priced, but nvm i still buy because I trust them to have integrity, let them make profit because zi have a "good deal" on the camera.

Disappointing.

this is very common for desperate sellers.
sometimes they see regulars and thought its easier to plot on them as they might believe these regulars will still return since they are regulars and not surprise if they sell higher price to regulars too.
at least u have learn your lesson and now he can lower the 5d2 price by another $150 for easier letting go.

He said was over 8k. Now im wondering it if is rigged. Scary.

quite unbelievable,pls PM me the shop name so i can be extra cautious when i step in.

Thanks.

Can also kindly PM me the name of the store?

this is very common for desperate sellers.
sometimes they see regulars and thought its easier to plot on them as they might believe these regulars will still return since they are regulars and not surprise if they sell higher price to regulars too.
at least u have learn your lesson and now he can lower the 5d2 price by another $150 for easier letting go.

You make a lot of sense. I didnt think about that. Anyway, I paid $100 to get back my 6D.

Hmmm... just be extra careful around the area lor. Do a lot of research and checks.

Good thing you paid only $100 to get it back. Still a relatively small amount as school fees. :) This would be a nice reminder when dealing in used equipment in the future! Not everyone would enter a deal with genuine well intentions no matter how they appear.

Best to be alert even when outside the area. It can happen to anyone anywhere.

Good thing you paid only $100 to get it back. Still a relatively small amount as school fees. :) This would be a nice reminder when dealing in used equipment in the future! Not everyone would enter a deal with genuine well intentions no matter how they appear.

Best to be alert even when outside the area. It can happen to anyone anywhere.

True that. At the end of the day, he still insist that 6D is not a professional camera because no professional camera uses SD card, is this true?

Er.... don't believe the hype about what equipment pros use man. Especially when a shopowner is trying to offer you something else. If you go by that logic we might as well say unless you are shooting tethered you are not a professional.

Just smile, thank him for his "advice" and go out there to make images.

I would rather make professional images with a non professional camera than have crap images with a professional camera.

There's no "pro" or "amateur" cameras. Only differences in spec and price. That is all.

Or else we'd see a Canon 5DmkPRO :)

There's no "pro" or "amateur" cameras. Only differences in spec and price. That is all.

Or else we'd see a Canon 5DmkPRO :)

Er.... don't believe the hype about what equipment pros use man. Especially when a shopowner is trying to offer you something else. If you go by that logic we might as well say unless you are shooting tethered you are not a professional.

Just smile, thank him for his "advice" and go out there to make images.

I would rather make professional images with a non professional camera than have crap images with a professional camera.

True that. Thanks guys. Haha, should have sought consultation from you all before all these trouble!

Better late than never bro. Enjoy using your 6D! Do try focusing more on taking good photographs than getting good gear if you are serious about your photography :)

i never heard that Pro cameras are judge based on the type of memory card used.
the only Pro cameras for Canon are 1 series. 5D are just semi-pro camera.
But then don't take these label too serious because they don't automatically make u semi-pro or pro.
i have both 1D and 6D cameras and both are for my different application.

Better late than never bro. Enjoy using your 6D! Do try focusing more on taking good photographs than getting good gear if you are serious about your photography :)

Thanks. Been enjoying my 6D, backside itchy go trade down. Now I think I will enjoy it more after seeing the noisy ISO of 5D2. I do take photos but, Whats an example of a good photo? ;p

Sigh suspecting what you do you still want to be told ? Smile I have a lorong thats just the thing you need, damm good one nor and just because I like you I give you good discount hor,

Dude walk away. If you buy back it going be like "Dumb and Dumber" Silly sod you can think you are friends but when it comes to money always be careful some people are never your friends, they just like the company of your money and the feel of it in their pocket. Get real get smarter or live life as a poster child for I'm a walking ATM

I got it near peninsula too. Wonder if its the same company. Mistake.

I'd like to know, if a third party vendor cleaned your camera, is your canon warranty void? I'm buying back my camera with a topup... they said they have serviced it.

please share the shop name for the benefit of other CSers

Er... TS... sorry to be a wet blanket person. But if that shop is so dishonest in many thing... did you check the serial number on the 6D that you gotten back from the shop. Was it your old 6D or was it another one that was actually there already? You might not be getting back your own 6D.

a very good points being brought up.

agree on this, since you still have 6months warranty left, better check.. also, test it well, hope nothing is unusual operationally.
AND pro uses SD cards, some pro uses 6D also. :bsmilie: