Canon 5D mk3 in Spring

Wowo, seems I missed quite a lot of info while I am away from the site. So we r discussing abt the cf and sd cards now?

Anyone think of what should we take note when we buy the new ff body? Like how to test the functionality in the shop. Or how to see if the AF system is working correctly?

: )

5dmk32_mini.jpg

5dmk31b_mini.jpg

5dmk3_mini.jpg

Source: Canonrumors

Wowo, seems I missed quite a lot of info while I am away from the site. So we r discussing abt the cf and sd cards now?

Anyone think of what should we take note when we buy the new ff body? Like how to test the functionality in the shop. Or how to see if the AF system is working correctly?

Always good to bring your working lens to test the camera - which is a lens that you have used personally and produced sharp images and good colours. Mount that lens on the camera at the shop, take test shots at different aperture settings and compare any issues with the AF or not. You may also want to do some burst shooting and check the results also.

Actually if you are picky, there is alot of things you can inspect.. haha..

Always good to bring your working lens to test the camera - which is a lens that you have used personally and produced sharp images and good colours. Mount that lens on the camera at the shop, take test shots at different aperture settings and compare any issues with the AF or not. You may also want to do some burst shooting and check the results also.

Actually if you are picky, there is alot of things you can inspect.. haha..

yeah. like bringing along a laptop. transfer the shots to screen ,zoom in and check :bsmilie:

That's a really good question!

Without fully understanding the new AF system with all its complexities and nuances, I think that this alone would be difficult to test. Of course we can focus on an object and check it in the LCD for accuracy but that would be so basic that it wouldn't even constitute a small percentage of the over-all functionality of the AF.

Having said this, there is so much more to this camera than just an AF system and therefore so much more that could be checked. I've posted earlier that I would not buy for a month or two after availability (depending on how hard the BBB virus strikes). This should provide enough time for the millions of early adopters that will pick this camera apart and find weaknesses (if any). Secondly, studying the specs and reading the manual would help to find specific areas that could be tested before making a final purchase.

Anyone else have ideas?

niccon2 said:
Can we select JPEG for sd n raw for cf card storing at same time?

Please read from top of page. I mentioned this in post #524.

Yes you can, and this is one of the most useful feature of this dual media in a camera body.

yeah. like bringing along a laptop. transfer the shots to screen ,zoom in and check :bsmilie:

haha.. if you really very stingy, can even bring tripod and shutter release, shoot at f22 to see got dust on sensor or not :bsmilie:

or bring along your GF or friend, ask her to walk around the shop and test the AI Servo.

maybe I should try one day.. see if the salesman will angry or not :bsmilie:

provided u really pay and buy lah.. else confirm angry . :bsmilie:

haha.. if you really very stingy, can even bring tripod and shutter release, shoot at f22 to see got dust on sensor or not :bsmilie:

or bring along your GF or friend, ask her to walk around the shop and test the AI Servo.

maybe I should try one day.. see if the salesman will angry or not :bsmilie:

Cannot wait for the announcement this coming Friday or Saturday... Wahaha

;p everyone waiting for 5D3; am I the only one waiting for used 5D2 to drop below $2k and 5Dc below $1k?

Have read through the previous replies and...

1. Will the shop owner tolerate customers to test the new cam with a laptop?

2. Having said we r testing the cam, means we fire some shots from it. And what if we don't want the body at the end of the test, the shop owner will simply change one for us? Bear in mind that the tested cam is already considered 'used'

I hv been thinking of these for some time, but no perfect solution so far? Any suggestions? Feel free to discuss

yrh0413 said:
;p everyone waiting for 5D3; am I the only one waiting for used 5D2 to drop below $2k and 5Dc below $1k?

You are not the only one:) camping in the bns section waiting:)

But dono how long can i hold back the bbb virus:x

2. Having said we r testing the cam, means we fire some shots from it. And what if we don't want the body at the end of the test, the shop owner will simply change one for us? Bear in mind that the tested cam is already considered 'used'

I hv been thinking of these for some time, but no perfect solution so far? Any suggestions? Feel free to discuss

I kind of did this when I bought my Canon 100-400 while living in Hong Kong about 3 years ago. I went to 5 different shops and asked to test their 100-400. I didn't have a tripod so I set up the camera and lens on the counter and used the count-down shutter to get a clear, sharp shot. Amazingly, in the first 4 stores I couldn't find a 100-400 that focused properly without front or back focus. Finally at the 5th store I managed to find something that was acceptable.

To their credit, each of the shop owners were very patient (I've never done this before or since). I spent about 30 minutes doing some careful testing at each store. Finally I would give the lens back after showing them the front/back focused photo. They never complained (only one suggested that I could buy the lens and take it to CSC to have it calibrated - which I declined).

I'm not sure if I would do this again but regardless, I got a pretty good 100-400!

provided u really pay and buy lah.. else confirm angry . :bsmilie:

of course want buy then go shop test lah.. if never buy I not so bo liao or daring yet to go shop to dee siao the salesman.. later tio hoot ah! :bsmilie:

Actually, a reputable shop wouldn't mind you to inspect the image in your laptop, and it is only fair that they let the customer test the body. I've never encountered issues like this. But of course, you must play your part as a sincere buyer. If you are not sure if this is the camera you want, test it yourself at showroom first, use the test camera. The ones in the shop are for sale, no one likes to buy a camera that has been tested like umpteen times.

Once you are sure that you are going to get one, proceed to your favorite shop and test the camera there to check for defects before paying :) I think that's fair and square :)

You would be surprised that if you are sincere, the shop will assist you as much as they can in buying. Just share with you - I walked into a shop to get a BG-E6 without my own camera. I was quite a "sudden thing", because at that point of time I was just walking around checking out prices and I just happened to get a best price.

I told the salesman - I don't have my camera with me. Can you take out your 5D Mark II and let me test? He really take out a copy of the 5D Mark II and let me test the battery grip, and the Mark II isn't a test camera - it was right from a new box that is meant to be sold.

Great service comes when you show sincerity in buying IMO, experienced salesman can tell if you are there just to look see or not.

LittleSid said:

I've been to some shops previously and they will assess how you approach them. Some will let you try their demo sets only, and will only let you open a new set if you commit to buying (as long as the body has no issues).

They will not let you anyhow open a new box and try the body. Buyers are particular about the shutter count.

Alright, I will bring my 2470 and 100 L to test the new 5d when I purchase it. If the shop does nt allow it, I will go to the other one.

actually I don't think there will be any shops who will give you a NO when you tell them you want to buy something but you want to test for defects. ;)

Does CSC charge to calibrate a lens to your new camera (5D3-under warranty)? If so, how much do they charge?

If it's a free service, is there a limit to how many lenses you can calibrate?

Oops, apologies for having started the CF/SD Card OT hor, hehe! :D

If this 5D3 is really a very very good cam (fast AF like 7D and super good low-light, etc etc), would you 7D owners sell off your 7D's? I'm thinking of doing that...

I've tried jalan-jalan n window shopping in some of the reputable stores many times on my off/free days, but till now have not yet seen a person who brings a lappy to the shop to 100% zoom into the image to test quality. Based on what you guys are saying, I feel like bringing my own laptop when 5D3 comes out! ;D But then again, to wait or not to wait for a few weeks after initial launch is another mystery :D

The Force is strong! :sweatsm:

Definitely gonna buy 1Dx or (1Dx + 5D3) if I win TOTO/4D big big! :D

Does CSC charge to calibrate a lens to your new camera (5D3-under warranty)? If so, how much do they charge?

If it's a free service, is there a limit to how many lenses you can calibrate?

wah this one I dunno liao. actually never went to CSC before :P