Canadian Rockies

Shots are not bad but there is no shadow detail in most of them.
Also, it looks like a lot of your shots were taken in the middle of the day. I would try to shoot in the morning sunrise or evenning sunset for better lighting.
Anyway, it's nice to see photos of my home country :)
Thanks for sharing!

Fascinating shots. No shadow detail? Can be readily and quickly corrected in post-processing and turn those good ones to great ones!

Hi there,

I understand what you mean by letting go all those wonderful opportunities to shoot the beautiful scenery when you are in the coach. You probably need a video camera for that.

By the way, I went there around April but there was still quite a bit of snow everywhere.

I also intend to go there again one day soon.

Bye,

Dancemania

go in a different period of time so that you can capture the different effects of nature! =)

tltan

Fascinating shots. No shadow detail? Can be readily and quickly corrected in post-processing and turn those good ones to great ones!

thanks bro. I dont really like to do post-processing. I only know basic. maybe must get my brother to teach me. hehe.

tltan

:thumbsup: Lurve the skies....

beautiful place... wish i can have the time n xtra cash to take a break from everything here. haha

should be up for blue skies and long shadows. :thumbsup: to Vancouver!
Need $$ :sticktong

OT:
Remind me to talk to you about HDR & RAW files.....

Do not be lazy.... :nono:

I hate to do PP work lah. too many photos to do. hope to be able to take and dont PP. Easier said then done. =p

thanks!

tltan

Which part of canada are you going to? Vancouver?

Skies are blue. I think the dark blue is due to slightly underexposure. I wanted to use a polarizer but it spoilt after i shot a few shot.....not much difference though.

I shot RAW throughout. yes. =) Safer lah.

tltan

Hi Titan,

Yes, Vancouver. Spending 1 month there, hence possibly venturing a little outside of Vancouver also. Will be making a road trip down to Seattle too.

Any great places for me to visit?

Cheers,
Louis

Nice photos tltan.. did any skiing there? How long was your package tour trip?
Envy leh..:lovegrin:

Hi Titan,

Yes, Vancouver. Spending 1 month there, hence possibly venturing a little outside of Vancouver also. Will be making a road trip down to Seattle too.

Any great places for me to visit?

Cheers,
Louis

Hi Louist,

First, Seattle. Be prepared to be asked a lot of questions and ID by the US custom. And pay a 6 USD for the visa waiver. &*%#*$#* have to pay before entry even. A day trip. nothing much to do here. go up the space needle. Go to Pike Market place. I think thats about it. hehe.

Vancouver, one month! more then enough.

(1) Stanley Park (try biking the seawall (walking is 10km, I walked. with equipment and tripod...shag but not hot coz its cool!)
(2) Steveston Village (Whale watching 99CAD before Tax), PAJOS fish and chips (must try))
(3) Grouse mountain (if you drive, go to cypress viewpoint instead, nothing much up the mountain except the lumberjack show seriously)
(4) Downtown Vancouver (walk around, most things are more ex then here anyway), recommend on Davie Street, Stephos Greek restaurant (long queue) and a jap restaurant 2 doors away ( I think Samurai restaurant..good serving for the price and nice food)
(5) Granville Island (nice exploring in the day)
(6) Capilano Salmon Hatchery
(7) Lonsdale Quay for seabus and the market
(8) Rockies! If you drive, its good. Otherwise, try out the tour by Key West Travel.
(9) Harbourcenter Lookout tower to view most of Vancouver

There are lots more interesting places that you can visit on car. On public transport, I became pretty handicapped. and it was not cheap also. hahaha. Rental of car is cheap but insurance is not cheap so end up same price. taking cab is ex there!

Anyway, I dont know about whether it will be winter when you arrive. most of the activities I mentioned might be different once come winter. Skiing might be what you will be looking for. remember lots of warm clothes. its pretty cold there even in late summer when I was there. to me that is.

tltan

Nice photos tltan.. did any skiing there? How long was your package tour trip?
Envy leh..:lovegrin:

hey siriuslim,

thanks. photos are not that nice. i need to go there again to take better pics. hehe. If I have the cash.

Never do skiing :cry: coz it was late summer and not enough snow yet. Only went for the ice explorer thingy. Nothing much, walk around the glacier for a while and thats it.

It was not a package tour. Was there for a conference. then extended leave and took about 2 weeks for this. package only for the rockies, it was 4 days. effectively, only 2 days as 1st and last day are for traveling to and fro the place from vancouver.

Our Albus must have missed us dearly during the period of time. hehee.

tltan

Hi Louist,

First, Seattle. Be prepared to be asked a lot of questions and ID by the US custom. And pay a 6 USD for the visa waiver. &*%#*$#* have to pay before entry even. A day trip. nothing much to do here. go up the space needle. Go to Pike Market place. I think thats about it. hehe.

Vancouver, one month! more then enough.

(1) Stanley Park (try biking the seawall (walking is 10km, I walked. with equipment and tripod...shag but not hot coz its cool!)
(2) Steveston Village (Whale watching 99CAD before Tax), PAJOS fish and chips (must try))
(3) Grouse mountain (if you drive, go to cypress viewpoint instead, nothing much up the mountain except the lumberjack show seriously)
(4) Downtown Vancouver (walk around, most things are more ex then here anyway), recommend on Davie Street, Stephos Greek restaurant (long queue) and a jap restaurant 2 doors away ( I think Samurai restaurant..good serving for the price and nice food)
(5) Granville Island (nice exploring in the day)
(6) Capilano Salmon Hatchery
(7) Lonsdale Quay for seabus and the market
(8) Rockies! If you drive, its good. Otherwise, try out the tour by Key West Travel.
(9) Harbourcenter Lookout tower to view most of Vancouver

There are lots more interesting places that you can visit on car. On public transport, I became pretty handicapped. and it was not cheap also. hahaha. Rental of car is cheap but insurance is not cheap so end up same price. taking cab is ex there!

Anyway, I dont know about whether it will be winter when you arrive. most of the activities I mentioned might be different once come winter. Skiing might be what you will be looking for. remember lots of warm clothes. its pretty cold there even in late summer when I was there. to me that is.

tltan

Hi Titan,

Thanks for everything! I will remember to drop by the places you mentioned.

Strange... I thought Singapore Passport need no visa to enter USA? Need to be grilled by customs somemore?

I hear that things are cheaper in Seattle than Vancouver.. I think I'll have the put aside some money for the expenditure.

Where did you eat at usually? Food's expensive i heard...

If you don't mind, would you be able to email me at louistrd@yahoo.com.sg

Thanks!

Louis

Only complaint that I have... BIGGER IMAGES PLEASE!!! Lovely series... too bad they are so small... thanks for sharing them.

Hi Titan,

Thanks for everything! I will remember to drop by the places you mentioned.

Strange... I thought Singapore Passport need no visa to enter USA? Need to be grilled by customs somemore?

I hear that things are cheaper in Seattle than Vancouver.. I think I'll have the put aside some money for the expenditure.

Where did you eat at usually? Food's expensive i heard...

If you don't mind, would you be able to email me at louistrd@yahoo.com.sg

Thanks!

Louis

Yeh. US custom. Cant blame them. Too much "happenings" already. better to play safe. Anyway, sent you an email. =)

tltan

Only complaint that I have... BIGGER IMAGES PLEASE!!! Lovely series... too bad they are so small... thanks for sharing them.

Hi bro,

Thanks for the comments. Bigger image = higher upload capacity required. My flickr account buay tahan. hehe.

yeh. I think so too. I am still processing some pics. its a beautiful place and I have yet to capture the beauty. *EXCUSE* to go again. hehehe. Will definitely bring a wider lens then my kit lens the next time I go. And make sure I get ND filters. Think CPL not really necessary there though.

tltan

Hi Tltan,

Do you know if I can see the same kind of scenery that you have captured in mid Nov? Would it be winter season by then?

Thanks!

Hi Tltan,

Do you know if I can see the same kind of scenery that you have captured in mid Nov? Would it be winter season by then?

Thanks!

I think it would have been snowing by then. We were there late September and it was already going very cold. We were only the last second tour group that the tour guide will conduct for that season.

I think it should be winter by Nov. Also, that means, battery life drops, hands are freezing cold...but a different atmosphere to capture!