Camera shop in AMK HUB

Its not about the shop..its about who is serving you.
Some staffs can provide better service, and give quotes much lower as they are not out to "carrot" u..

Its not about the shop..its about who is serving you.
Some staffs can provide better service, and give quotes much lower as they are not out to "carrot" u..
Sounds like a melody.. let all of us look for Mr Loh.. haaa and whats the lady boss's name again..

wow, havent been on to forum for a while.. i guess it's always better to look for boss or lady boss since they are the ones who will know the true cost better than anyone else (since its their business). but let's also be objective.. maybe the staff who over-quoted for the lens is new and made a genuine mistake?

i'm sure this kinda issue happens with the various shops that we frequent.. like for me, i was looking for lowepro bag.. went to CP and got quoted nearly $50 more than M S.. and i swore never to go back to CP! but after i cooled down, realise on hindsight that every shop is also trying to do business. of cos it is bad to bluff the consumer and we get pissed.. but end of day, this is what u get in an industry that is v competitive and prices are negotiable. if it were like japan where the electronics industry is dominated by a few chain stores where u cannot bargain, then we will never have the satisfaction of a "great deal" right?

whatever the case, let's just share our bargains and help each other!!! i heard canon got new model after S5IS.. anyone knows anything abt it? :p let me know!

Build up the rapport with a few people, and you don't have to worry about getting "lousy" prices anymore...

Sounds like a melody.. let all of us look for Mr Loh.. haaa and whats the lady boss's name again..

Flowrence i think!

MS Colour is where me and my friends gets everything from battery to camera to tripods!
It's very reliable but you got to ask the lady boss or the main boss to get a Good Price!

Flowrence i think!

MS Colour is where me and my friends gets everything from battery to camera to tripods!
It's very reliable but you got to ask the lady boss or the main boss to get a Good Price!
Yup... nowadays... they quote me a good price.. but when i tell them i got a better quote elsewhere.. they apologise and tell me that that was their best price... the attitude not bad leh..!

I wanted to buy a Canon Wide Angle converter for my camcorder, and was told by Canon to buy from a reseller. So I called up MS Color asking them to quote me a price, so that I can buy from them. I also told MS Color that I have checked with Canon first that the stock is available, so they just need to call up Canon for a price and quote me. I called MS on a Friday morning, a guy named "Ken" said he was not able to call me back within that day, although the information was just a call away for him (to call Canon for price). He said will call me on Monday. Now is more than one week later, still no call from Ken. So I bought the WA from another store. For this case is I want to give them business they not interested. That's my recent experience.

Well, I feel I must put my 2 cents worth here.
I am living in AMK and I have been dealing with MS colour for a long time, i think as far back as 1995.
yes, sometimes the prices they quote are much higher than other shops but rest assured that the after sales service and help is really good.But there were many times they quote me better prices.

I have never faced sales tactics like having to "buy warranty" or "special packages of useless item or accessories" at a premium price at MS colour, they are fair plain and simple.
Just compare this with shops at Sim Lim square :nono::bigeyes::thumbsd:.

Yes, the retail business here is competitive and they have to make a living. I would really suggest that anyone going to MS colour make friends with the lady boss Florence, and usually better to go on weekdays and not at peak hours.
Yes, they do have sales people there but sometimes they just plain ignore you or may be even be a little rude to you. And yes, there are times when even regulars like me are ignored, even on a non busy day.

But take this as a reminder that sales people, day in and day out are explaining the same old specs to umpteen thousand customers; so they end up being bored and even plan complacent. Don't forget, i have even seen people who just walk in and ask questions and without saying a word of thanks and whatnot turn around and leave. So who is being rude to who? There is a common code of courtesy, but some choose not to follow either by bad habit or not.

So, if is about the price, please remember that locals in Singapore are really really really spoilt ! that's because there are so many retail shops selling everything with unbelievable prices under the sun with 5 to 30 mins of very efficient public transport! In many other places in the world, one has to travel very far and so few shops selling what you need, we really should be thankful that we can still shop with such "LUXURY", so be greatful at that.
If you think some where is selling at the price you like than go for it! Thats a loss to other shops and a gain for you.
Anyway, I believe most people are polite and courteous and I know how it feels to be let down be rude people especially sales or customer service agents.

So, in a nutshell, i would rather pay a little more for a fair deal and everything over the counter, than be penny wise pound foolish. In a word I would rather swallow broken glass than deal with "POLITE" "HELPFULL" salesmen in Sim Lim anyday!

I wanted to buy a Canon Wide Angle converter for my camcorder, and was told by Canon to buy from a reseller. So I called up MS Color asking them to quote me a price, so that I can buy from them. I also told MS Color that I have checked with Canon first that the stock is available, so they just need to call up Canon for a price and quote me. I called MS on a Friday morning, a guy named "Ken" said he was not able to call me back within that day, although the information was just a call away for him (to call Canon for price). He said will call me on Monday. Now is more than one week later, still no call from Ken. So I bought the WA from another store. For this case is I want to give them business they not interested. That's my recent experience.

I agree sometimes their staff are abit bochap attitude because last week i called MSColor and checked a lens pricing and he dont seem to "like" serving me.. But the lady boss is :thumbsup:

i can see some of the ppl here are MS color "lao jiao" and have quite a good relationship with the boss (Mr loh and florence).
so how come nobody is taking a trouble of highlighting to them.
1) how there is such a big difference in price between the one in AMK hub and the other at the AMK central. it would be good to hear the boss explanation.
2) service is quite poor at the shop at AMK hub, is the boss going to do something about that to bring the service up to par with the one at the AMK central?

Do remind me in 2 weeks time. I might drop by to say hello to Florence while I am back in SG.

I prefer dealing with the lady boss Florence.

Willy and Jason are also nice in my experience (S11 branch)

The fat one I dun like (AMK Hub). Think the other uncle (S11) is also ok I think.

I always go to MS Color at S11, not the hub. Willie, Jackson and Karen are alright. The rest are new so need to give them time to get to know you.

If you need to "know" the people at the shop for them to provide good service to you, then I don't see what is so good about the shop.

i don't have enough money to know sales staff well.

If you need to "know" the people at the shop for them to provide good service to you, then I don't see what is so good about the shop.

Very well said. I'm resigned to the fact that in singapore generally, there are no excellent shops. It's the personal experience that makes you define what is good or bad.

Sadly, i can get better service overseas. when i'm there, i'm a nobody, of different skin color, yet i'm assured of fair service and i'm not afraid the price will differ simply cos I spoke to the boss, or person A, or person B, or... whoever whatever.

i support u.....
can just ask someone here who know them to buy for us the stuffs that we want

I always bought things from them, also kena chop but it always depend on who you know. Lady boss is good but then discount also see people lah. Shop want to make money and it depend on how fast the product can sell.

I have been to both shops, Ken(S11) and Willie(AMK Hub) treat me well.. The prices they quote never far off frm the pricelist here in CS. Yes its business so prices always differ here and there. Its good that the pricelist is here to help fellow CSers. I guess its good to know the ppl u deal with as well to get 'special' price... haha..:bsmilie:

If they dunno that you know the boss, they see "carrot" in front of them. The names I mentioned are all long time staff there. THose not mentioned = new = dunno I know boss+lady boss, so if they give me a price, I will trun round n then ask "best price or not?" then dun buy if feel price not right. But I normally call b4 I go down.