buying of equipments/solutions for developing

West_ray

anyone wants to get the stuffs for developing of BW neg???? i wanan go and buy lehz, but i wan some accompanying me (an experience one would be nice) ... coz dun wanna get anything xtra ....

*thought of going to seed and ask around, but my weekly schedule doesnt allows me ...

West_ray said:
anyone wants to get the stuffs for developing of BW neg???? i wanan go and buy lehz, but i wan some accompanying me (an experience one would be nice) ... coz dun wanna get anything xtra ....

*thought of going to seed and ask around, but my weekly schedule doesnt allows me ...

I can go with you if I'm free.

chyeo said:
I can go with you if I'm free.

yeah!!! let me know if u r free ~~~ i'm available during wkends ... TIA !!

Ray @ 93884977

West_ray said:
yeah!!! let me know if u r free ~~~ i'm available during wkends ... TIA !!

Ray @ 93884977

If you can see this post in time, I going down later at about 4pm. If u wanna meet gimme a call @ 94799265.

chyeo said:
If you can see this post in time, I going down later at about 4pm. If u wanna meet gimme a call @ 94799265.

:cry: :cry: ... i 4-6pm got class ~~ ! :cry:

West_ray said:
:cry: :cry: ... i 4-6pm got class ~~ ! :cry:

Wanna join me for shoot??sun morn, then we go konota to see mr nelson, will intro you to him then hopefully got discount lah.me wanna go armoy street to shoot temple leh, trying out my new camera. :D

Me buy rodinal & fixer from him...

andylee said:
Wanna join me for shoot??sun morn, then we go konota to see mr nelson, will intro you to him then hopefully got discount lah.me wanna go armoy street to shoot temple leh, trying out my new camera. :D

Me buy rodinal & fixer from him...

hmmm ... not a prob !!! but no promises, but my exam is next next coming wk and i always study at night ... so dunno whether will wake up on Sun morning or not .. anyway, wat time and where u wanan meet ? i see whether i can acommodate or not ...

but konota open on Sun meh ??? hmm ... wat is the total cost if i going to get all the stuffs for developing ? at least let me prepare 1st ~

West_ray said:
hmmm ... not a prob !!! but no promises, but my exam is next next coming wk and i always study at night ... so dunno whether will wake up on Sun morning or not .. anyway, wat time and where u wanan meet ? i see whether i can acommodate or not ...

but konota open on Sun meh ??? hmm ... wat is the total cost if i going to get all the stuffs for developing ? at least let me prepare 1st ~

Let me do a brief breakdown of prices for you:

Dark Bag: $28 [Konota]
Developing tank: $20 [Konota]
Film picker: $8 [Anywhere]
Long Thermometer: $16 [Ruby]
Measuring cylinder 600ml: $12 x 3 [Ruby]
Measuring jug 1000ml: $15 [Ruby]
Developer small bott: $8 [Konota]
Fixer: $8.50 [Konota]
Wetting agent: $6 [Konota]

You might need some pails if you not doing near a sink

Sunday morn at 7.30,if rain cancel lah.at raffles mrt, station control.me carry domke f3x bag.

chyeo said:
Measuring cylinder 600ml: $12 x 3 [Ruby]
Measuring jug 1000ml: $15 [Ruby]
Wetting agent: $6 [Konota]

I got a simple 1000ml measuring container (for cooking/baking use) from my neighborhood grocery for only $2.50. As for wetting agent, I used 2 drops mama lemon + 1 liter water ... works great. And you do not need that many measuring cylinders - just get a few empty containers in your kitchen to hold the chemicals after you measured them. (I use PET bottles since I can easily funnel the reusable chemicals back into them)

If you want to shorten washing time and remove hypo from the fixed negs, you'll need the HCA too ($9.50 for 1 pack). But if you just want to try out developing for fun, you only need the developer and fixer. That's all you need, really.

My suggested and certainly *basic* poor man's kit is therefore:

Dark Bag: <$28 [Ruby]
Developing tank: $20 [Ruby]
Cheapo measuring jug 1000ml: $2.50 [Econ minimart]
TMAX Developer: ard $16 [Ruby]
Ilford Rapid Fixer: $8.50 [Ruby]
A couple of empty PET bottles: $0 [Home]

[Optional]
Film picker: $8 [Anywhere]
Long Thermometer: <$15 [Ruby]
Kodak HCA (powder): $9.50 [Ruby]
Wetting agent: $0 [Mama lemon!]

So your basic kit will just cost you $75 ... more than half of the cost is one-time cost so it's quite affordable. I list film picker as optional because you can use other methods for picking the film out (check out Offstone B&W forum) and any thermometer will do so it's also optional. But if you have spare cash for these things, by all means buy them!

Have fun shopping!
sfhuang

andylee said:
Sunday morn at 7.30,if rain cancel lah.at raffles mrt, station control.me carry domke f3x bag.

hmmm ... too early liao ar ... but anyway shouldnt be a prob ... whose going with u andy ??? after tat we heading to konota ar??

by the way my number is 93884977 .... urs?

thanks sfhuang and chyeo ... got a rough idea for my budget liao ... btw, i have a dark bag liao ... so i estimate my cost would be around $50 ...

thanks guys ~

Haha,pm you liao.konota opens late on sun. if you want, meet outside ruby photo on sat can?they also have those stuffs.sat, 2.15pm.

BTW, the time now is 6.17am wed and I'm listening to westlife... :D

andylee said:
Haha,pm you liao.konota opens late on sun. if you want, meet outside ruby photo on sat can?they also have those stuffs.sat, 2.15pm.

BTW, the time now is 6.17am wed and I'm listening to westlife... :D

meet sat outside ruby at 2.15pm ??? ookok !!!! ... no prob .... cya!!

*westlife got new single lehz .... "Hey Whatever!" ...

West_ray said:
meet sat outside ruby at 2.15pm ??? ookok !!!! ... no prob .... cya!!

*westlife got new single lehz .... "Hey Whatever!" ...

Me carrying domke f3x bag and wear cap one..my trademark...ok??

eh ... THanks andy and ya friends for giving advise on my needs ...

West_ray said:
eh ... THanks andy and ya friends for giving advise on my needs ...

don't mention it, if you need the timings for the processing pm or sms me.due to the nature of my work, i may not be able to ans your call if you call me. :thumbsup:

Eh...you remember how to caculate to amount of chemicals??sorry if I'm too fast... :embrass:

andylee said:
don't mention it, if you need the timings for the processing pm or sms me.due to the nature of my work, i may not be able to ans your call if you call me. :thumbsup:

Eh...you remember how to caculate to amount of chemicals??sorry if I'm too fast... :embrass:

eh u mean the developer and the fixer ... 1+4 , 1+9 type ??? yah i taught me tat liao ... i know abt tat ~~~

West_ray said:
eh u mean the developer and the fixer ... 1+4 , 1+9 type ??? yah i taught me tat liao ... i know abt tat ~~~

i mean how to calculate to single part of the chemical.good luck to you. :thumbsup:

hey i was advised to use detergent as wetting agent .... but wat is the calculation of the detergent n water????

and i also can sub stop bath with tap water right ?