Buying from B&H/Adorama

Even got warranty, you will have to ship to them... it will not be local warranty, and there is no receipt given, just the warranty card.... for a $500 - $600, sometimes its not worth the trouble to ship back if there is a problem...

however, as a ebay seller, they will also avoid having problems with the buyer... as the buyer can

1) give a bad feedback

2) Raise a dispute

so usually they will try to send you a copy without problems...

so always buy from a reputable ebay seller with at least 98% feedback, or 100% if you are kiasu... as they are more honest in their dealings and also they will try to protect their good feedback score... and dun give them a feedback until you have received and check the items...

I pm him b4 . He say got warranty .... with shop stamp ... but dun know how true also

wow. Thanks.

btw, your sig says you are using Tamron 17-50mm as well. Dun mind if i ask how much you bought yours? How is it compared to the kit lens? Very significant difference or just very minor? Tks

i just ship to borderlinx address. for new items usually you can find free shipping within conus/uk by amazon, b&h, adorama, established ebay sellers like prodigital2000. for 2nd hand stuff, instead of getting rip off by keh international shipping, i find something from pentaxforum and look out for free or cheap shipping from the sellers. dont understand why some want to use expensive shipping compared to ups or usps though...

borderlinx will then charge you based on weight lor. if i buy only a few items, shipping average out to be S$20/ea. once, i bought books, clothes, bags, electronics, and they avg ~10/ea.

plus there is free shipment holding services, so i just break out the shipping into <400 if possible.

of course, i only go through these trouble if there is something i cannot find locally, or that the price is too expensive.

for example, you can save $200 getting a hadley pro bag from amazon uk compared to getting from directly from the sg distributor.

ok lah. fair enough. the nature of the items we buy are different. i almost never buy new stuff. for such ebayers, they seldom offer free shipping.

i'll end up paying twice if i use forwarding so no point.

ok lah. fair enough. the nature of the items we buy are different. i almost never buy new stuff. for such ebayers, they seldom offer free shipping.

i'll end up paying twice if i use forwarding so no point.

ebay? if you consider those auctions that offer shipping within US only, you get more options, then you might win bids lower than the one offering international shipping? especially if you're into takumars, adaptall2, and russian lenses etc.

If you buy from a legit shop on Ebay, receipts are always given.

Hi guys,
Why don't you guys have your order sent to a Malaysian address? That way, you can save the 7.5% GST and it could be substantial if the item cost a lot of money. Last year I bought my Olympus 300mm F2.8 lens from B&H (cost:US$6,000.00) and got away with about $114.00 Malaysian Tax.

ebay? if you consider those auctions that offer shipping within US only, you get more options, then you might win bids lower than the one offering international shipping? especially if you're into takumars, adaptall2, and russian lenses etc.

i do actively source and bid for auctions that only offer shipping within US. must be my luck but the ones i'm interested in usually do not offer free shipping. :bsmilie:

i'm not into taks and russian lenses. i'm mostly hunting for macro lenses and accessories.

wow. Thanks.

btw, your sig says you are using Tamron 17-50mm as well. Dun mind if i ask how much you bought yours? How is it compared to the kit lens? Very significant difference or just very minor? Tks

I bought my Tammy locally with slrr for $620 . To me different is great and worth the upgrade . To me , tamron 17-50 is almost a all rounder with the focal length cover . 17mm make a very decent wide angle lens 35 a great walk about and 50 a nice portrail .

Then y I buy a uwa + 35 + fa50 ? Well the LBA is just too serious . Lol .

Hi guys, I wanna get a DA 15 lens, and it's having a sale on those websites.
After shipping, it's around 550 USD, which sums up to less than $770 with 7% GST.

If comparing to buying it locally, it's around $900.
Should I get it from these websites? Is it safe? o.o

And would I get the international warranties, if any. :dunno:

Locally, Slr Revo is selling $792 cash with 7% gst. Lens comes with warranty. :)

I bought my Tammy locally with slrr for $620 . To me different is great and worth the upgrade . To me , tamron 17-50 is almost a all rounder with the focal length cover . 17mm make a very decent wide angle lens 35 a great walk about and 50 a nice portrail .

Tks.. I just bought my Tamron 17-50 for $610/- at Orient @ SLS.
Asked around and discovered a few shops at SLS selling the same lens but without warranty for $450-$500/-. Almost the same or cheap compared to buying off ebay (if those from ebay have no warranty)

Planning to get a Panasonic Camcorder from BH Photo and came across their 3yrs "Sagemax" protection plan. Called them up and they confirmed that in the event of any damages (including Accidental Damage due to Handling), we will have the option to send the item to US for repair or we can repair locally in Singapore (including the Spore Panasonic Service Ctr) and Sagemax will reimburse us up to the purchase price for the product. If we choose to send the product to US for repair, Sagemax will pay for freight both ways. Seems like it is perfectly alright to buy from BH Photo as we are fully covered.

Those interested can visit BHphoto website and search for SageMax. Camcorders in US are so much cheaper. Almost half price...

Nope, this is the actual new price from SLR Revo, was there yesterday, and price just went down!

Very good news, looks like a wonderful lens... But no cash left from K-5 already:dunno:;p

since there's a member representing Adorama, do they ship internationally? Do they provide international warranty for all products?

Is it me or I feel the Dal 35 owns the Tammy in IQ.
The pics I took with the Tammy, seems dull now.