Betrayed my A200 for a 1000D and I regret

Don't pose all these immature thread, betray..... etc etc. You could have post it in a way asking for help or advise.

can i also say:

There are more Professionals using Canon 100x or 1000x more than Sony.. I regret buying sony. How's that?

wrong.

we can be apathetic n let the TS get away thinking its cam's shortcoming,
or we can help him.

eh chill lah dude. LOL. okok. Let's help him. ;p;p

LOL.

ur above statement more or less reflects ur level of knowledge.

based on dpreview,
ur canon received a Poor n 3 average for the WB,
where as ur ex sony received 2 poor n 2 average.

My PhD is in image processing and I don't think you be in a position to judge my knowledge.

Could you show me the AWB rating of Sony on dpreview?

ermm getting too personal liao...with all the phd etc coming out..haha...

bro a phd doesnt mean u can shoot well or gauge well...unless phd means "impossible to get it wrong":)

back to the topic...i have nv used a sony before..but i do see a friend of mine taking really nice pictures with his sony a300 and kit lens.
I have another friend who uses the same camera but didnt fare as well...n all the while, he kept on blaming the camera....and even wanted to change over to nikon...

I am a canon user but seriously, i do hate my WB on my camera...i really need to pp and pp to get the color i want...but there are so much more things i like about my 400D that i decided to stay on. I am so used to the settings...

anyway im more of a film user now..on my rangefinder etc..:)

No need to be upset bro siamak, we will always welcome you back with open arms. :)

first thing i see is terrible WB.

anyway,
i think i stick my head henceforth in canon, nikon, pentax,.... subforum
than in sand.

Hi, could you share why the WB is terrible ?

The WB looks quite OK for me as compare to the actual, well.. it's not so pleasing for looking.. want it to looks original or nice look.....really depend on your taste.

There's nothing Sony users can do if Canon users want to do so. And there's nothing Canon users can do if Sony users want to do so, right? ;)

about the 1/4 sec, the steadyshot can't manage that. (from my experience, although I am not experienced.)

LOL.

1/4 for sure can be done... but the chances are quite low, regardless IS or SSS or VR. that the reason why we have the tripod and high ISO & the wide aperture lens :)

can be done lah but not 100%. Haha, maybe it's my hands. I can't go slower than 1/10 seconds, even with steadyshot.

LOL.

The WB looks quite OK for me as compare to the actual, well.. it's not so pleasing for looking.. want it to looks original or nice look.....really depend on your taste.

Yeah, I thought it was ok too. That's why ask if he could share his view in more detail. Personally, I think it's slightly warmer for my taste.

But I guess most DSLRs don't get the WB right with AWB all the time under artificial lighting, not even the highest end DSLRs. That's why there are options available to set WB manually. I would say if the camera doesn't get the WB right in daylight could possibly post a problem. But again, its a problem that can be solved by manually setting the WB.

Actually, I am like TS. I switched from A100 to Nikon D40 and now using a D90. If you ask me whether I would do the same I would say no. The A100 is good enough. I didn't understand how it works enough before switching to Nikon. It does have its limitation but it's all manageable.

Did I regret switching to Nikon? Yes, because I don't need to. It's not because Nikon make bad cameras. The quality of these camera makers are really close and leap frog each other from time to time. When Nikon lauched it's D3 and D300 people are admiring their high ISO capability. But today, Pentax and Sony also produced cameras with very good high ISO capability and so does Canon. These guys are very serious in this business and they won't lack behind for too long else they will go out of business.

So in my humble opinion, its better to stick with a brand as long as it meets your needs. Upgrading your bodies within a brand is so much easier as the controls would be very similar. You will spend more time shooting than learning how the camera behaves. It's the shooting part that gives us the joy. Enjoy shooting!

Agree with Tanwn...

--------------
Tanwn wrote "Don't pose all these immature thread, betray..... etc etc. You could have post it in a way asking for help or advise.

can i also say:

There are more Professionals using Canon 100x or 1000x more than Sony.. I regret buying sony. How's that?"

Agree with Tanwn...

--------------
Tanwn wrote "Don't pose all these immature thread, betray..... etc etc. You could have post it in a way asking for help or advise.

can i also say:

There are more Professionals using Canon 100x or 1000x more than Sony.. I regret buying sony. How's that?"

nah, I thought this is Sony/KM sub-forum,
if TS placed on Canikon sub-forum, I'll not dare to say anything...
Sometimes people only want to share your experience, and not only asking advices (CS not hot-line support site)

PS: I never knew if peoples driving Ferrari regret his choice of car since more people using Toyota

He could have asked for advise at Canon forum then since he's now on 1000D...

Am a newbie in this field and am not a canon or a sony user, but I am a proud DSLR user :) .

Before I bought my first DSLR, I have done quite a lot of research and have remembered the first rule which I still have been using and applying...

"It is not the camera, it is the shooter."

Here is the review of both A200 and 1000D from dpreview:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/SonyDSLRA200/page31.asp
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/CanonEOS1000D/page34.asp

They have both Highly Recommended ratings, so, whichever camera you settle, you will not go wrong.

If you also do browse this very helpful website, it shows so many happy users for both A200 and 1000D.

My suggestion to the TS:
Get used on the camera you have right now, spend some time with it and learn how to go around its negative side. Each of these cameras have their own advantages and disadvantages. If you think the advantage and disadvantage of A200 is right for you, then go for it and learn how to overcome the negative side of it.

For example, one of the cons in 1000D is
"Average automatic white balance performance, still very poor under incandescent light"
However, this can definitely be compensated using many method, i.e. setting the WB manually using custom, or shoot raw and do PP.

One of the cons for A200 is
"Poor white balance performance in artificial light"
Same solution as above.

So, I'd like to suggest to the TS not to be disappointed with what you have right now, but try and overcome the negative side of it. Even if you buy a high end camera (Canon 5D MarkII or Nikon D3, or whatever) ... there will always be negative side on it. You just have to learn how to get around it.

Good example.
I was shooting in Kentridge Park for sunset couple of days ago. An older guy with Nikon D3 was shooting at the same time. I only have a D5000. We compared our shots and he actually liked my shots better. I showed him my settings... and let him borrowed my ND filter :bsmilie: .... and he became happy with his shots on the sunset. He then realizes... there are lots of ways and means to shot a subject, it is how the photographer captures the subject. And he will buy an ND filter soonest ;).

Hope this helps.

I guess any cam with shutter speed range of 1 - 1/1000sec & aperture range f4 -f16 will be able to take a good pic:)
If auto WB is no good, then use custom WB. If colors isn't what you like, then adj picture settings :)

Anyway many ppl expect the cam @ default setting to cater to their every whim & fancy. I have used a KM5D & eos1000D and frankly the most effective IS TO ME is Canon lens IS (hv not tried Nikon's VR...shld be similar). Body IS to me, Konica Minolta (now sony) is more effective than Olypmpus (ep-1).
Now I am full time M4/3 with Lumix, the Lens IS is not bad...about similar to sony level. Now the image noise is more pronounced, but that a decision I come to make.

Anyway learn & tweak the cam to suit your preference. Both cams can take world class photos.....

He could have asked for advise at Canon forum then since he's now on 1000D...

yes, true. And I believe some good fellows there will help him (I has some buddies there also)
But he also allowed to share his experience on the correct forum, rite?

Every system has their own weakness and strong point. Just your choice to continue or dump the system for another option. Using my camera, I notice how noisy A350 in the high ISO. But on another side, I found the IQ is wonderful (with my [former] CZ1680, I found it on par with 50D + 17-55 f2.8). And I found the color is closest to the subject's color, compared to Canon which I think has more aggressive color (Never do any comparation test with my Nikon's buddy). At least that from my experience, another people maybe has different opinion/finding.

If auto WB is no good, then use custom WB. If colors isn't what you like, then adj picture settings :)
I believe TS knows that, just to compare pound for pound, A200 AWB images differs to 1000D's. Yeah he could do as much adjustment as he wants on the 1000D but for some situation where you are given 1-2 sec to capture the moment, his ex A200 could have got it.

Doesn't anyone get caught out in such situations b4 or is everyone's situation is always near perfect for photography.

Anyway many ppl expect the cam @ default setting to cater to their every whim & fancy. I have used a KM5D & eos1000D and frankly the most effective IS TO ME is Canon lens IS (hv not tried Nikon's VR...shld be similar). Body IS to me, Konica Minolta (now sony) is more effective than Olypmpus (ep-1).
Now I am full time M4/3 with Lumix, the Lens IS is not bad...about similar to sony level. Now the image noise is more pronounced, but that a decision I come to make.

Anyway learn & tweak the cam to suit your preference. Both cams can take world class photos.....

For me it helps to have SSS, but my basic fundamental is still required. Same goes to AF function, at times I need to switch to MF for certain reasons like long lens with slow/hunting AF.

They are just tools to aid your shooting and to me the Alpha system SSS allows me to use any lenses and still provides image stabilization capability.

To me, it's an economically more "cheaper" hobby alternative to Canon's IS lenses or Nikon VR lenses. I can use all lenses eg, Sigma 10-20mm to Tamron 180mm Macro to Tamron 200-500mm to Sigma 500mm F4.5 and still have image stabilization aid. I've once shot using a 1000mm Mirror lens using m42 mount on my cam and the SSS works. If 1000D have MLU function on tripod, that might work, such as shooting the moon.

SSS used to be the main factor getting an Alpha system. Now looks like other gadgetry like live-view or video is the main factor getting a DSLR which not necessarily aids one's shooting in many situations.

Yeah, I thought it was ok too. That's why ask if he could share his view in more detail. Personally, I think it's slightly warmer for my taste.

But I guess most DSLRs don't get the WB right with AWB all the time under artificial lighting, not even the highest end DSLRs. That's why there are options available to set WB manually. I would say if the camera doesn't get the WB right in daylight could possibly post a problem. But again, its a problem that can be solved by manually setting the WB.

Actually, I am like TS. I switched from A100 to Nikon D40 and now using a D90. If you ask me whether I would do the same I would say no. The A100 is good enough. I didn't understand how it works enough before switching to Nikon. It does have its limitation but it's all manageable.

Did I regret switching to Nikon? Yes, because I don't need to. It's not because Nikon make bad cameras. The quality of these camera makers are really close and leap frog each other from time to time. When Nikon lauched it's D3 and D300 people are admiring their high ISO capability. But today, Pentax and Sony also produced cameras with very good high ISO capability and so does Canon. These guys are very serious in this business and they won't lack behind for too long else they will go out of business.

So in my humble opinion, its better to stick with a brand as long as it meets your needs. Upgrading your bodies within a brand is so much easier as the controls would be very similar. You will spend more time shooting than learning how the camera behaves. It's the shooting part that gives us the joy. Enjoy shooting!

:thumbsup::thumbsup:I agree with this. I guess to stay competitive in the market , each brands has to got somet 实力 embedded , else how to compete in the race right ? The only difference really lies in their product segmentation and differentiation.

Like say Pentax decides to pack all the functionality of a mid class APS-C into its entry level camera and sells it a low price , other brand that doesnt feels that those functionality would not be so important for entry DSLR users , hence that was left out.

Or say some brand prefer to design their Sensors to give richer color tones and higher contrast , some brands prefer to have a more natural tone etc.

Dun care what camera you got , as long you know its limitation and work around it , and capture images you desire , i think its a good camera.

How do you know my level of knowledge? basic photography? :(

I do not do art. I am just interested in capturing images as perfect as possible.

Ok Ok, u are the perfect photographer:angel:, maybe just do not know how to adjust WB and depend on Auto WB. I think it's the digital age fault. Film cams no need to adjust WB.:bsmilie:

BTW, what manual setting on the white balance(WB) did u put on the example in ur 1st post? Do u know what I meant? Can 1000D do a manual adjustment instead of the preset WBs?