best deal for S3pro

yowch said:
Cheesecake, the S2 HU you have should be the same as that for the S3.

yowch, from what i read and seen in dpreview, the software does look different from the HU u passed to me. i presume that this was the version that shipped with the S3. :)

Have you installed all the updates? Version 2, Version 3.1 Version 3.11 (whatever?)?

I meant sub-S$8,000. The D2X was too late and too pricey, the 1DII was a rock compared, while all other gear in that range just didn't fit my needs-price-performance spec lor. Especially the part on film-like out-of-cam quality - I love the F1 sim.

For my personal scenic/flora/feline/abstract shooting, nothing beats the joy of seeing out-of-cam Velvia. ;p

I dumped my S3's HU a long time ago.... I don't do RAWs - a darn waste of time and storage. Rather get it right on first time and enjoy the out-of-cam goodness. :D

OT / Cheesecake
Heeheh... There are 3 series over there now.... But they were NOT taken using S2/S3, but a measly 4Mp Nikon toy cam, which can be a surprise.
OT / off

Azure said:
snipped
I dumped my S3's HU a long time ago.... I don't do RAWs - a darn waste of time and storage. Rather get it right on first time and enjoy the out-of-cam goodness. :D

spot on

Azure said:
I meant sub-S$8,000. The D2X was too late and too pricey, the 1DII was a rock compared, while all other gear in that range just didn't fit my needs-price-performance spec lor. Especially the part on film-like out-of-cam quality - I love the F1 sim.

For my personal scenic/flora/feline/abstract shooting, nothing beats the joy of seeing out-of-cam Velvia. ;p

OT / Cheesecake
Heeheh... There are 3 series over there now.... But they were NOT taken using S2/S3, but a measly 4Mp Nikon toy cam, which can be a surprise.
OT / off
yo azure...

so i can safely assume that the jpegs are good enough to skip using CCD-RAW? i know that the file size of the Raw output are huge..

anyway, the jpegs output from S2 are good enough to skip Raw, for me at least...

back to O.T..

seen ur series 2 and 3, but i don't think they are as good as series 1. series 1 has more 'feeling' to it and is much more abstract. as for sensuality, i think Series 1 portrayed it much better alas in a more abstract way... ;)

nightwolf75 said:
cam too new lah. dun think anyone selling yet. keke.. ;p

someone is selling a s3pro in buy and sell

nightwolf75 said:
thanks, offspring... guess me have to wait another year... :bheart:
NW75 coming to over to the darker side? :bsmilie: come~~ come~~

lol :) he's always been a secret member of the dark side!! just have to unveil himself soon :P

Cheesecake said:
very high... :sweat:

I think he's throwing in the original Hyperlink Software as well. The S3 is sold together with the Hyperlink Software in North America, and prices there are even worse! $4300 after S$ conversion.

maybe this will entice nw75

shot this morning (1st test shots)

f2 mode, handheld, cropped 10% and USM.

43333915.jpg

offspring said:
maybe this will entice nw75

shot this morning (1st test shots)

f2 mode, handheld, cropped 10% and USM.

kns... ai si ah, u all...
nunu.gif

reflection - i guess for s3 users, bo pian lah. u need the software, rite? the latest RAW plugin from Adobe still cannot support CCD-RAW from fuji. strange.... :think:

Reflection said:
I think he's throwing in the original Hyperlink Software as well. The S3 is sold together with the Hyperlink Software in North America, and prices there are even worse! $4300 after S$ conversion.

the software can be gotten free if u know the right ppl to approach in Singapore. anyway, the software should come F.O.C and its a blunder from the boys in FujiFilm that left out the Asian market.

and if i'm not wrong, the hyper utility software is shipped together with the camera in the US and European region, no? :sweat:

nightwolf75 said:
nunu.gif

reflection - i guess for s3 users, bo pian lah. u need the software, rite? the latest RAW plugin from Adobe still cannot support CCD-RAW from fuji. strange.... :think:

here.

u can use this free application to run all ur S3Pro's Raw files.

True that the S2/S3's RAW files are horribly huge. Yet the Fine-JPGs are so good.... personally I do not need the HU software.

All that tech and stuff said, the S3 is a niched dSLR. Definitely not for the man-on-the-street shooter as one really needs to understand and have good grasp of using this baby to truly appreciate and enjoy it. And I'm still learning from mine.

One can go into the RAWvsJPG argument until D5XvsS7 and there probably won't be a settlement. Whilst the RAW files offer a bit more data for one to play with, it just isn't viable to shoot RAW all the way unless one has a lot of free time (read : hobbyist) to go around tweaking and correcting it, and even for the smaller RAW files from competing cams. Same logic (or lack thereof) when one debates number of pixels - I've been doing life-sized prints from my toy Coolpix.

Why some (very very select few) of us just love the S3 - I love its film-like output out-of-cam, I love its Velvia-like output. I can get around its apparent slowness, I don't really use the vertical release even though the grip give me a little more weight, the list can go on. It is a matter of the user (and his preferences), not the camera.

BTW, PhotoShop CS does read the S3's RAW files. Just treat them as S2 RAW files.

Yup. Totally agree on the film-like output of this baby. I've been experimenting with my sunpak 544, and the S3 sure as hell doesn't behave like the D70 does in terms of exposure and latitude.

nightwolf75 said:
nunu.gif

No lah...just curious abt the software. I don't shoot RAW all the time so it doesn't really matter. Just want to see how it runs compared to Nikon Capture. I've already got my hands on it.

Cheesecake said:
the software can be gotten free if u know the right ppl to approach in Singapore. anyway, the software should come F.O.C and its a blunder from the boys in FujiFilm that left out the Asian market.

and if i'm not wrong, the hyper utility software is shipped together with the camera in the US and European region, no? :sweat:

i dont know the right pple. can intro??

offspring said:
i dont know the right pple. can intro??

can. will PM u. he's a regular here too as well as the S2Pro forum. :)

anyone with the latest price on S3Pro?