Beginners Outing(Part 21)-Holland Village on the 7 August(Photos thread)

Ok just my thoughts ar, you know I'm also new.

#1 & #2 is rather odd, the perspective from the ground doesn't seem warranted, there is nothing quite of interest on the ground. For #1, the point of focus being the road is also a tad uninteresting. For #2, though staring at the doorway seems creepy, the presence of an obviously populated HDB flat also negates that effect. I however am not experienced enough to give a suggestion on how to improve on the creepiness factor. I guess a wide angle used at the doorway might help.

#3, my eyes get drawn in from the bottom, and led straight out the top left. Or vice versa. I think for this instance, it would have been better if you could get a perspective from track level. And perhaps B/W :think:, I don't know, I see most of my world through my camera in B/W. :p
lol. all comment s r welcome. no pros or expert would dare to say their work is flawless. I welcome comments to bring my level to a new height. comments helps a lot ya..

I am not sure why the Pic i posted in my previous post is not visible... Anyways I will post both photos and link and hope you guys can access both or atleast either of them...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870360179/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870347447/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870327875/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870319777/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4868354355/

u posted the wrong way. go search for the thread how to post flickr images correctly. You dun use the link you see on your browser (*hint).

your #1 and #4 over processed. #1 sky colors looks unnatural and #4 too greenish until your rail tracks also become greenish.

lol. all comment s r welcome. no pros or expert would dare to say their work is flawless. I welcome comments to bring my level to a new height. comments helps a lot ya..

That's the right attitude and the reason why you're developing very fast. I shall call you "shifu" one day! :thumbsup:

nice pics guys. but i think its better to censor car plate number off. its not very nice to take other people plate numbers and post it online. u took without their consent anw. just a suggestion.

cheers,

Okok lah...Here's mine. So sad...The rain, being late, lost and hungry. Not much mood to shoot!

#4 : You:

4868439611_4ee20b81d5_z.jpg

This has my vote :) except the Oily feeling is it to be replaced by the watery feeling.. or is Oil that is dripping onto the table.. haha

Thanks for your feed back guys... Over processing noted.... anyways these are my initial days with PS... and thanks for letting me know the right way of posting the images... some more images... feedbacks welcome.... cheers

4871407868_5dea2d2bf0_b.jpg

4871407860_a4144acfea_b.jpg

4872136818_b2bfd8e1fd_b.jpg

Thanks
Sujay

That's the right attitude and the reason why you're developing very fast. I shall call you "shifu" one day! :thumbsup:

maybe u can be shifu faster den me.. U learn from the real master in landscape leh..
got DD123, Zero and Numball. They are master in landscape.. Hehe..

Tt's what i believe in. Like wad LKY say.. learning is nv ending.. As long as you still live on this earth, you are still learning.. Nobody is perfect at all cause there is bound to have somebody surpass you. :angel:

wah.. next time i put my photo last liao.. nobody comment de.. :'(

PS I post le went to sleep now just came home from zoo.

No lah...people shy to give their opinions ma....here's mine:

Firstly, they are all technically correct pictures in terms of exposure, depth of field etc. However in terms of subject matter abit lacking like the others said. #5 and#6 works for me best, especially #6!

Okay back to #1. I think I understand what you are trying here - leading line into the frame. GJ on the low angle. Actually composition wise, it is fine. I only find that the oversaturation of colours don't work well here because your depth of field is mainly on the yellow box meaning your viewers attention are mainly there.

What could be better would be that you increase the yellow channel saturation only rather than an overall saturation. In fact, desaturate the other colours. Otherwise like in this case, all the colours are competiting for attention, which makes it rather messy. Give it a try :)

I am not sure why the Pic i posted in my previous post is not visible... Anyways I will post both photos and link and hope you guys can access both or atleast either of them...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870360179/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870347447/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870327875/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4870319777/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sujay-mallesh/4868354355/

Here they are:
4870360179_fd0fd8ce1e_b.jpg

4870347447_75e1541803_b.jpg

4870327875_f134b99a3b_b.jpg

4870319777_b0c456765b_b.jpg

4868354355_85aa11802e_b.jpg

Here they are:
4870360179_fd0fd8ce1e_b.jpg

@ sujay

Nice meeting you bro :) Enjoy your stay!

There's potential in #1! From the photo can tell you had the intention to keep it simple. As you know, less is more (not always, but, yeah.) When you get new lenses with longer reach (hint hint, poison), can try to isolate more).

Nt so sure what to comment on the sky, looks a little strange to me. U did some PP to it? Like a background replace or something? Well have fun with PS! Shld try lightroom if you get your hands on it too :)

@ sujay

Nice meeting you bro :) Enjoy your stay!

There's potential in #1! From the photo can tell you had the intention to keep it simple. As you know, less is more (not always, but, yeah.) When you get new lenses with longer reach (hint hint, poison), can try to isolate more).

Nt so sure what to comment on the sky, looks a little strange to me. U did some PP to it? Like a background replace or something? Well have fun with PS! Shld try lightroom if you get your hands on it too :)

Seems to me that either that is an ND filter on or PP has been done to the sky to increase the saturation.. dun rmb the sky being so blue on that day, resulting an unreal feeling to the overall mood of the pic..

Agree with Jon, a tighter crop to the right maybe be nice to keep the pic simple (isolation) as you have a few signages which maybe a bit distracting :think:

Thanks for your feed back guys... Over processing noted.... anyways these are my initial days with PS... and thanks for letting me know the right way of posting the images... some more images... feedbacks welcome.... cheers

4871407868_5dea2d2bf0_b.jpg

4871407860_a4144acfea_b.jpg

Thanks
Sujay

For #1, it seems like you PP too much until I can see the halo effect around your objects.. do control the amount of contrast you wanna apply to your pics..

For the #2, you have also over-do on ur PP.. notice the leaves on the right? they've all become white.. nt sure what are u trying to tell us from this pic :dunno:

U may wish to tink a little on your composition and tell us what is your intent of this shot.. dun worry, keep shooting you'll do better :)

I have decided to include a B&W of #06.

Tell me what you guys think. ^^

4871839141_6e45b14e7c_b_d.jpg

Yo, i think u can try a B&W conversion for this one..but the tones a bit flat? how u convert?

Edit: And then again, the lighting is rather flat and diffused that day, sadly.

B/W doesn't work for this photo, am afraid...
Or maybe you can try to tweak your B/W conversion for more contrast. But I think the lighting is pretty flat, and the straight-on compo doesn't give you much options in terms of cropping or other PP.
I suggest putting this photo aside and don't think about it :)

Yo, i think u can try a B&W conversion for this one..but the tones a bit flat? how u convert?

Edit: And then again, the lighting is rather flat and diffused that day, sadly.

B/W doesn't work for this photo, am afraid...
Or maybe you can try to tweak your B/W conversion for more contrast. But I think the lighting is pretty flat, and the straight-on compo doesn't give you much options in terms of cropping or other PP.
I suggest putting this photo aside and don't think about it :)

Hmmm.. I can try to put a bit more contrast but then.. it will be not so nice either.. :think:
might agree that the lighting that day wasn't too good.. oh well.. try again next time..:cry:

thanks a lot for the feedback.. ^^

There are different ways, and different tools to convert a coloured photo (especially an uninteresting flat coloured one) into B&W, Sepia or any of those mono/two-coloured photos. The ability to choose how much of each of these individual red, blue, green, yellow, orange, etc allows you additional option to play with your picture and allow more of one colour to be brighter and another colour to be darker. That's my fav method of conversion, rather than just desaturate all the colours, which pretty much leaves you with the same picture sans colour. You can also play with contrast and brightness without having to worry your colours will go haywire. In addition, dodge and burn is much easier to handle in B&W (I seldom use this, preferring to control the amount of individual colour to go through).

I am rather bored at home. With your permission, I may like to try to do something with it.

There are different ways, and different tools to convert a coloured photo (especially an uninteresting flat coloured one) into B&W, Sepia or any of those mono/two-coloured photos. The ability to choose how much of each of these individual red, blue, green, yellow, orange, etc allows you additional option to play with your picture and allow more of one colour to be brighter and another colour to be darker. That's my fav method of conversion, rather than just desaturate all the colours, which pretty much leaves you with the same picture sans colour. You can also play with contrast and brightness without having to worry your colours will go haywire. In addition, dodge and burn is much easier to handle in B&W (I seldom use this, preferring to control the amount of individual colour to go through).

I am rather bored at home. With your permission, I may like to try to do something with it.
Yes please wildcat. Permission granted. I will be happy to learn sth from you too.