Perhaps could also consider inviting some of the experienced CSers as guides? A courteous PM is all it takes. Then they could help lead a group of newbies for you. I see you guys have another big outing lined up next Sat and again, there's only 3 guides to lead 20 shooters. I don't mind helping out for this if i'm free. But do invite people like Bananadiver, Sinned79, Clipper79, Wurdelak, Royale with Cheese, Draken etc. So many street shooters at the Streets section to choose from. Not all will come, but even one or two will be invaluable to those who really want to learn
wah! thanks for mentioning me... haha i am also very new lah, in the process of learning :sweatsm:
ok a few points to note when shoot in big groups (which i am not really comfortable with cos i prefer to shoot in much smaller groups if not alone), pardon me if i am too frank here:
1. Shoot outs tends to evolves in to TCSS sessions with little or not much photos being taken.
2. Like others mentioned here... make sure there is a purpose (eg, landscape? Street shoots? Food? Cats?) so that the session will not evolve into TCSS sessions.
Some suggestions:
1. Plan the shootouts with a purpose (eg, landscape? Street shoots? Food? Cats?)
2. Keep the group to a manageable size
3. Big groups attracts attention and will 'scare' off your subjects... so like what others suggested, if its a big group, u can break them into smaller groups and group them according to preferences (Landscape, street shoots, etc)
4. Timing/Weather of the shoots is important too. For example, if you want landscape shoots, make sure the sky is bluish enough and not the white sky (usually morning 8-10+ and afternoon 4-5+ is good time) so that you need not PP until so jialat later but if the sky colors is not good, can be flexible, do some street shoots if there is interesting subjects (keep your eyes open!) around you. Dun rule out food photography too cos i am sure you guys will eat together before or after the shoot. If it happens to rain, it makes interesting street shoots too but of cos if it is pouring, then take shelter lah! Just some suggestions from me.
Happy shooting and learning! :sweatsm: