Beginners Outing(Part 10)-Sunset at Woodlands Waterfront(Photos thread)

Here's mine :)

Woodland.jpg

Woodlands3.jpg

Woodlands2.jpg

hi
were u using some kind of filter?
how did u manage to take long exposure without over exposing ?

Thanks zelot! Haha! Forgot to bring my spirit bubble too. Nice outing and condolence to cleonbus for feeding his tian ya GND to the fishes. :S

hi
were u using some kind of filter?
how did u manage to take long exposure without over exposing ?

first was 1/15s, second was 1/1.3s (less ambient light), and third was 1/30s.... long exposure meh?

Looks like the flash was too bright... makes the photo look washed out.
Shouldn't crop people's knees off, and then include wasted space at the top.

Haha ya.We even tried 12 times leh:bsmilie:

Hi longshu, nice meeting you at the Woodlands Waterfront's Outing, if o.k. attach here some pictures which I show you at the jetty yesterday.

Ohhhh...so you are that guy who came up to our LCD screen and said: 'Good good'?I thought you were some stranger and almost called the cops:bsmilie:

Thanks zelot! Haha! Forgot to bring my spirit bubble too. Nice outing and condolence to cleonbus for feeding his tian ya GND to the fishes. :S

Its the b***** s***** wind:angry::angry::angry::angry::angry:

Hi guys

Paiseh I didn't meet you all at the same spot. :P

Here are my photos. Was waiting for twilight but the clouds ruined it.

4733253308_9f49009d13_b.jpg

4732609047_38504ba431_b.jpg

4733251086_ce4c40cb94_b.jpg

Great. Except for the slanted horizon. Actually the clouds make yr photo more interesting ;p

first was 1/15s, second was 1/1.3s (less ambient light), and third was 1/30s.... long exposure meh?

I used matrix metering with GND. Normally to smooth the water in this case is to stack the GND and ND filter. However, I didn't bring and also, stacking 2 Tian Ya ND filter will produce a magenta cast... So I exposed normally and juz blurred the water in my PP.

Matrix metering in okay since i got GND on.

good. :thumbsup: the sky looks dramatic. However I think u might need Zoom in + rule of thirds.

Anyways good stuff :)

Yup, i struggled to show the wide angle with my 18-55mm kit lense.. So I forsake the boring water and show most of the vast sky with the little-mess of the JB cityscape.

Thanks for the great outing, Cleon. Didn't know this place existed prior to this outing.

K-x5.jpg

1st row(Squatting):cleonbus, longshu, Minerva, ???, ra1nb0w
2nd row: Odyssey-Boy, frostyInterpid, songws, magicianhisoka, torak, Valkrieangel, quizesilver

And here are my shots:

4735451109_36195fda59_b.jpg

4736088566_3d5411b604_b.jpg

All comments are welcome.

I used matrix metering with GND. Normally to smooth the water in this case is to stack the GND and ND filter. However, I didn't bring and also, stacking 2 Tian Ya ND filter will produce a magenta cast... So I exposed normally and juz blurred the water in my PP.

Matrix metering in okay since i got GND on.

i see thanks

Actually to get long exposures without filter, you can:

1. Set your ISO to the lowest. For my D90, it was ISO 200
2. For your aperture,use F11 or F13(MAX).
3. Wait from 7.30pm onwards. For my shutter speed, I always manage to go past 1-2 seconds after 7.30pm.

Thanks for the great outing, Cleon. Didn't know this place existed prior to this outing.

And here are my shots:

4735451109_36195fda59_b.jpg

All comments are welcome.

This is a nice one! You got the sky really really nicely.
Something about your image makes it look soft. I suggest you modify your watermark and see how first...! hahaha. That 'blurness' affects my view of the image.

This is a nice one! You got the sky really really nicely.
Something about your image makes it look soft. I suggest you modify your watermark and see how first...! hahaha. That 'blurness' affects my view of the image.

Thanks, bro Kevin. I had changed my watermark signature in the following photo. Still blurry?

4742102947_13de228c44_b.jpg

hahah see? The watermark really makes a difference! :)