Badminton-related question

erwinx said:
Any recommendations for other Carbonex? Preferably don't want it to be too-head heavy.

Carbonex is relatively cheap (say if i wanted to splurge on a Cab 21SP it would cost only $79.90), compared to say, Armortec and Nanospeed. Anyway, if we ever have a clubsnap badminton group, can try other racquets as well.

Mmm... I usually will see the part near the grip to see if it is a 2U or 3U....is there 4/5U???

If I am not wrong, that indicate the weight right???

I got a 3U racquet at $50. Not sure what series that is, but I think it is good enough for me....

I am an experienced.... but not good... type of player....

Hougang or YCK groups on or not???? :confused:

dennislim said:
now got new models ... armour tech 700 and 800 series ... lower end ones are 500 and 300 ...

even have nanospeed series ... 7000 and 8000 =P

Wah... all these sounds very expensive to me... have not followed the pricing for a while, since have not played for a while too.... :sweat:

Halfmoon said:
Mmm... I usually will see the part near the grip to see if it is a 2U or 3U....is there 4/5U???

If I am not wrong, that indicate the weight right???

I got a 3U racquet at $50. Not sure what series that is, but I think it is good enough for me....

I am an experienced.... but not good... type of player....

Hougang or YCK groups on or not???? :confused:

2U, 3U, etc is the grip size larrrrr not related to weight

erwinx said:
Any recommendations for other Carbonex? Preferably don't want it to be too-head heavy.

Carbonex is relatively cheap (say if i wanted to splurge on a Cab 21SP it would cost only $79.90), compared to say, Armortec and Nanospeed. Anyway, if we ever have a clubsnap badminton group, can try other racquets as well.

Muscle Power is okay for me (now they got promotion, quite cheap compare to be4 sale).....like it v much. If racket too light, it is very difficult for me.,especially when smashing and return when being attacked, light rakcet also means weak return lor (for me), i prefer the heavy one.

erwinx said:
thanks for the advice guys. was hoping if anyone had lobang for mass order price for shuttles :)

Hehe.. that'll be a great idea. ;)

alechim said:
I play also :bsmilie:

:think: Me too... ;)

But i can only afford a Gosen racquet... :sweat: :embrass:

Wolfgang said:
:think: Me too... ;)

But i can only afford a Gosen racquet... :sweat: :embrass:

Fortunately it's not the racquet but the player :D

Heh, if its the racquet that makes the diff, I think Singapore wouldn't have any problem winning most of the major tournaments.

ermmm..let's not go there lah....

same with every hobbies, u buy what u can afford.......

kenshinz said:
Heh, if its the racquet that makes the diff, I think Singapore wouldn't have any problem winning most of the major tournaments.

erwinx said:
Fortunately it's not the racquet but the player :D

Unfortunately racquet does make the difference. Good racquet requires less arm power vs. lousy one. Good string is also very-very important. They play important role in delivering power and accuracy in our play.

I used to struggle with Carbonex racquet because my arm is too weak I think, but after using Yonex Ti and MP series all of sudden my smash, drop shots have improved so much. For me personally, I'm playing much better with good racquet. :)

hmm...tempting tempting.... i always cannot lift the shuttlecock high to the rear of the court....... heh

budiman said:
Unfortunately racquet does make the difference. Good racquet requires less arm power vs. lousy one. Good string is also very-very important. They play important role in delivering power and accuracy in our play.

I used to struggle with Carbonex racquet because my arm is too weak I think, but after using Yonex Ti and MP series all of sudden my smash, drop shots have improved so much. For me personally, I'm playing much better with good racquet. :)

Kim Dong Moon said:

HAhaha...... is it??? Ok.. thanks.... :bsmilie:

never knew got so many badminton kakhis here. for shuttle, can try protech. durable but a little heavy. hard to kill when smashing. but at least more friendly to pocket cos can easily last twice of yonex shuttle.

me using ti10 and very happy with it.

compare to photgraphy, badminton is cheap cheap cheap ah :bsmilie:

one good racket the cost about same as a lousy lens can last you for a long long time!

surge said:
never knew got so many badminton kakhis here. for shuttle, can try protech. durable but a little heavy. hard to kill when smashing. but at least more friendly to pocket cos can easily last twice of yonex shuttle.

me using ti10 and very happy with it.

compare to photgraphy, badminton is cheap cheap cheap ah :bsmilie:

one good racket the cost about same as a lousy lens can last you for a long long time!
re-string every month - $240 ($20x12mths - extreme case)
grip - $24 ($2x12mths)
shoes - $100 ($50x2 pairs/year)
total - $364/year (exl racket, shuttle (varies), court)

it is well less than what u have spent on the last 2 visits to pub/dicso ;p

scud said:
grip - $24 ($2x12mths)

What about the cost of the racket itself?

You mean you have not broken any so far? :D

restring every month!!! and broken racket!! warao...u guys really hardcore manz!!!!!! :sweat:

Helbreath said:

haiyo.... just wanna compare the $$ spend on badminton is not as great as in photography. ;p
broke 2 rackets so far, due to broken T-joint and a twisted shaft.
my other old rackets still around, who wants c8sp?

scud said:
grip - $24 ($2x12mths)

wa lao ... u play everyday ah ... need to re-string every month ?

Kim Dong Moon said:

looking at the yonex website, it seems that U=weight and G=grip size?