bad experience

actually i find the whole issue funny... why would a pro photographer ask a complete stranger to be his assistant in the first place. I mean there are many others around right?

Was he looking for cheap labour? My wild guess is that he saw this youngish looking chap who might work under him taking orders... unfortunately, he's too academic by asking lotsa questions (nothing wrong wif tt) but the photog was prob looking for someone with a "Yes, Sir" attitude... Just work, ask less.

i guess i shall just disclose how much he quoted.

he quoted $50 for one day's shoot. and might have to walk as far as from orchard to beach road where fotohub is with his powerpac or smt. ;)

glennyong said:
well.. even if u asked him one by one polietly. maybe what u can actualli do is like ask some qns and like ask for his namecard and discuss about the details later.

sometimes, seriously, when pple ask me lots of qns. it tells me alot about their personality.

photographers look for assistants who talk less and do more. although i myself also a student. i would rather look for someone who knows what to do den to employ someone who dunno this and that. and eventually eat up my working time.

IMHO, i believe the photographer walked off because either he got irritated because u prolly questioned about this professionalism, or u become smartie.
would you take a person as an assistant when he can't work on certain times? Or one who hasn't got experience with lighting? Or would you have told the person: but you didn't tell me that before hand!.........

This was an interview, not an actual working day.......

Hong Sien

I think i can help the professional photographer to answer your question :

Q1. I can't tell you the working hour, the actual working hour will depend on the client requirement. Working hour will depend on the client, not by us.

Q2.The main role of the professional photographer or their assistant will have to prepare carry all the gear, I can't tell U what we should carry, that will depend by the nature of the work, out-door or in-door. Yes ! professional photographer their gear are very heavy, you have to prepared to carry all heavy staff all the time.

Q3.Today business are so bad, we have to accept all kinds of work.

Professional photographer have to prepare Embarassed by their clients, event sometime the clients will show colour to you, make late payment, you have to accept it, do not show your temper or colour to the clients. Yes! today some of the clients do not respect the professional photographer, they may call you camera man.... but pro don't feel angry, they have to accept it, they don,t throw temper infront of the client, they don't feel they are not respect by the client, because simply they don,t have the choice.

Brother, time are bad, pro have to work like dog. Yes! the professional photographer said is right, you are not ready to be a assistant, take my advice, if you can excel in other field, you should go ahead & take photography as your freelance work or hobby!

All the best.

allcowsmoo said:
i guess i shall just disclose how much he quoted.

he quoted $50 for one day's shoot. and might have to walk as far as from orchard to beach road where fotohub is with his powerpac or smt. ;)

He was probably in urgent need of a helper at short notice, tot he saw someone whom he could exploit...later backed off when he found u too inquisitive.

He wasn't looking for an assistant, he was looking for a porter.:)

Peter: I think he should have answered as you did and it probably won't be so much of a problem. How can one stand up to clients if he can't even answer a newbie assistant?

Peter Lim said:
I think i can help the professional photographer to answer your question :

Q1. I can't tell you the working hour, the actual working hour will depend on the client requirement. Working hour will depend on the client, not by us.

Q2.The main role of the professional photographer or their assistant will have to prepare carry all the gear, I can't tell U what we should carry, that will depend by the nature of the work, out-door or in-door. Yes ! professional photographer their gear are very heavy, you have to prepared to carry all heavy staff all the time.

Q3.Today business are so bad, we have to accept all kinds of work.

Professional photographer have to prepare Embarassed by their clients, event sometime the clients will show colour to you, make late payment, you have to accept it, do not show your temper or colour to the clients. Yes! today some of the clients do not respect the professional photographer, they may call you camera man.... but pro don't feel angry, they have to accept it, they don,t throw temper infront of the client, they don't feel they are not respect by the client, because simply they don,t have the choice.

Brother, time are bad, pro have to work like dog. Yes! the professional photographer said its right, you are not ready to be a assistant, take my advice, if you can excel in other field, you should go ahead & take photography as your freelance work or hobby!

All the best.
Hi Peter,

Yes, times are bad, and some clients may treat photographers as technicians...this still doesn't mean photographers should treat assistants like dogs too...........

Hong Sien

hongsien said:
Hi Peter,

Yes, times are bad, and some clients may treat photographers as technicians...this still doesn't mean photographers should treat assistants like dogs too...........

Hong Sien
I am saying the pro have to work like dog, NOT PHOTOGRAPHERS SHOULD TREAT THEIR ASSISTANT LIKE DOGS........

Zerstorer said:
He was probably in urgent need of a helper at short notice, tot he saw someone whom he could exploit...later backed off when he found u too inquisitive.

He wasn't looking for an assistant, he was looking for a porter.:)

Peter: I think he should have answered as you did and it probably won't be so much of a problem. How can one stand up to clients if he can't even answer a newbie assistant?
Agree what you said.

This could work better for you from what I see. The person are looking for cheap labour and it is not wise to handle equipment that you are not familar. Who know instead of earn that $50 you might end up paying for a damaged equipment that might be or not be your fault in the first place. It is also doubtful why he pick fotohub to recurit assistant and not happy for you to ask questions. I rather have an assistance who will ask me question when he need to know then a smart ass one that screw up the job. I have seen euongh of those trying to impress my client only end up making a fool of themselve. Who know if you have taken the job and you might end up in a vice production like pornagraphy :bigeyes: :bsmilie:

Peter Lim said:
I am saying the pro have to work like dog, NOT PHOTOGRAPHERS SHOULD TREAT THEIR ASSISTANT LIKE DOGS........
I know that, that's what I meant too, but this photographer couldn't stand being asked questions, what does he expect from a young guy? He was treating this guy with no respect......it says alot about the photographer as a person.

HS

i have assisted a few photographers and i gotta say that they are not the same. if he asks me to carry lights and lightstands and walk from orchard to beach road, i would tell him because i know that i will most probably not be able to do it.

asking before hand before committing will prevent situations where we are stuck in the middle of somewhere and not being able to proceed because of the assistant's limitations which were not brought up earlier. in this situation, i would probably be seen as "malfunctioning goods" or "defective goods".

he asked me if i am a full time student, which i told him i was. and he said that his time slots might suit me. only then i enquired more.

singscott said:
Who know if you have taken the job and you might end up in a vice production like pornagraphy

:eek: :bigeyes: :faint: :bsmilie:

Yup, looks like he was looking for a porter.. not an assistant.. Boy, you were wanted for exploitation. :)

hongsien said:
I know that, that's what I meant too, but this photographer couldn't stand being asked questions, what does he expect from a young guy? He was treating this guy with no respect......it says alot about the photographer as a person.

HS
Agree.

lets see if we can all learn from this sort of situations.

what do you think i should have done on the spot ?

allcowsmoo said:
i have assisted a few photographers and i gotta say that they are not the same. if he asks me to carry lights and lightstands and walk from orchard to beach road, i would tell him because i know that i will most probably not be able to do it.

asking before hand before committing will prevent situations where we are stuck in the middle of somewhere and not being able to proceed because of the assistant's limitations which were not brought up earlier. in this situation, i would probably be seen as "malfunctioning goods" or "defective goods".

he asked me if i am a full time student, which i told him i was. and he said that his time slots might suit me. only then i enquired more.
You are NOT "defective goods" or "mulfunctioning goods", carry lighting equipment from orchard road to Beach road? He must be crazy.......I think what he try to said is pro sometime have to carry heavy staff and walk a long distance......

They are some pro they like to bullshit and tell the youngster how great they are, or challenge you mission impossible, when I am a assistant, I meet one pro he told me he can use the slide projector in the dark room to make a 3fts x 5fts colour print with perfect colour.......

allcowsmoo said:
lets see if we can all learn from this sort of situations.

what do you think i should have done on the spot ?
Next time if you meet this kind of pro, just simply give him a smile and tell him you are bussy...because some other pro may engage you at the same time slot......and they willing to pay you $100.

catchlights said:
uncle peter, don't need to sleep har?

so free? come here and see see look look. :bsmilie:
Just like you lah.....please don't call me uncle leh, I am just 18 years and 360 months old only, tomorrow afternoon i got shoot, so i can sleep late....what you want me to see? i

I'm younger that you and I respect you, so call you uncle lor....hahahah

Now aday so many people here want to learn how to "tan chiak", we must catch up fast and work harder, if not people say we "pian chiak" one.....hahahah