:( Bad experience for my first camera...

sigh...sometimes we gals are really at a disadvantage when buying electronic stuffs.

point of lesson, must do homework before buying.

and i HATE SLS.doh!:rolleyes:
yes i agree with you

girls usually get chopped very badly...

yes i agree with you

girls usually get chopped very badly...

especially petite gals, innocent innocent naive naive looks.
kenna beri jialat one ah.:bsmilie:

thanks to all, from now on, I will learn to improve my photo taking skills and my pricing knowledge as well. ;p By the way, this is a really a popular site, very hard to connect.

Welcome to CS.

At the very least, the Casio is a good camera. You paid a bit more, not that much, just go and shoot, make some beautiful pictures.

Well if u did not do any research or ask around, be it Gals or Guys u will kana chopped badly by those SL Sq shops.

agreed..have to do homework b4 going down to buy stuff. dat time i went there to get ML-L3 remote.. AP not opened yet.. went to another shop asked. The fella pressed calculator and says gib discount.. 72 dollars. :bigeyes:

i say siao si bo..the RRP is only 16.:sticktong

agreed..have to do homework b4 going down to buy stuff. dat time i went there to get ML-L3 remote.. AP not opened yet.. went to another shop asked. The fella pressed calculator and says gib discount.. 72 dollars. :bigeyes:

i say siao si bo..the RRP is only 16.:sticktong

stangle him with the ML L3.

Many Many years back, i was nearly conned by 1 of those photo shop in SL Sq (forgot name aready). Quote me $80 for a Canon Ixus battery, luckily i did not buy from them. Went home & check Canon Singapore Website it state RRP $60. That guy was over charging me $20 for that battery......

So, if i buy any digicam stuff from SL Sq, will only go to AP

Usually, for my practice, do some research online from websites like DPreview, reviews from those who own the gear in ClubSNAP (..and others), and go to shops which carry the products that you are interested to try out. Thereafter, look for shops with reasonable price and good service (some listed by Francis247 in this thread). Or ask the friendly people in CS for opinions. That goes for both camera and camera accessories buyers. Just sharing with all.
by_specs.gif

stangle him with the ML L3.

the ML-L3 bery small la..think stuff down the throat and let him choke better. must use ur big lens to knock some sense into him.. ah beng looking fella oso want to kotok. no die b4. kekeke:bsmilie:

oh.i tot it's those corded remote controller.
put a bomb in his shop, use the ML L3 to remote trigger.

wa...u bery terror leh.. don see u naive naive..petite..scared scared.:sweat:

Moral of the story? Never buy from a Chao Ah Beng esp those that work out of electronics stores in Sim Lim Sq, Towers and Lucky Plaza.

:cry: . This is the first time I bought a camera in SIM LIM square and I think I overpaid for this casio Exilim Z60 at this shop (Hi-V Trading). Let me simplified my experience in Hi-V.
I was planning to get a Canon IXUS60, I asked for the price and he gave me the best price S$380 which is the best deal I heard compared with other shops S$412. Then, he start to introduce me Casio Exilim Z60, he said this is better than the Canon model. I tried to compare the performance both of the cameras, found that Casio is better than Canon (Canon’s LCD screen keep flickering). End up, I have to beg him for a “great deal-S$450’ consist of:
Camera, camera case (non leather), 1 original battery, (1 unknown brand battery and 1 GB Toshiba SD card for S$50) and THAT”S ALL!!!!!!!
After I bought the camera, I found that Harvey Norman is selling the same model at S$399 which included tripod, 1GB + 512MB memory cards, and a leather case. On top of that I also found out that the Casio standard promotion (S$399) till January End consist of a free leather case and a 512 MB memory card.
I was stunt!!! That means the guy in Hi-V did not give me any great deal and it is actually more expensive than the Casio standard promotion! Even worst I found out that Hi-V is actually one of the authorized dealers of Casio. Hence, I went back to Hi-V to get back the 512MB memory card (item in standard promotion package), the shopkeeper treated me rudely and threw my camera package on the table.
I have learned the lesson. Personally, I think I really overpaid for that camera. As an intelligent consumer, I think you all have a better judgment than I do.

With a shop named HIV, you know you're not going to get anything good going in there. :) At least you got your camera and not full blown AIDS. :bsmilie:

sigh...sometimes we gals are really at a disadvantage when buying electronic stuffs.

yeah, sometimes girl ask for stuff and guy ask for stuff at SLS get different prices one lor.

aiyah, but it's only for this kind of geeky thing lah. when it comes to normal shopping, got some girls can smile smile pout pout until the salesman give big discount one... or extra free gift...

So sad to hear about your experience. I also had a similar experience at SIM Lim but when buying a phone (not a camera). The price was cheap but it lacked one accessory which I was not aware of. In the end we had to threaten the guy that we will call CASE before they agreed to give the accessory.

Bottom line. From then on, I never bought anything at Sim Lim. Photo stuff you can buy from the reputable shops already mentioned. Electronics you can buy at Funan. It may be slightly more pricey but you are more sure about the quality and completeness of your purchase.

sometimes i see tourists shopping there, feel kind of 'sad' for them.

they look like walking carrots.:embrass:

that having said, if you have good lobang in SLS, prices are really cheap.
in fact, cheaper than what you can find in funan.

Sorry to hear about your bad experience. Now that you have the camera - enjoy it and I hope you take beautiful memories with it.

yeah, sometimes girl ask for stuff and guy ask for stuff at SLS get different prices one lor.

It's not just a girl/guy thing - I know whenever I open my mouth to ask for prices of items in Singapore, I'm sure to get "chopped like a carrot", because of my aussie accent. Key is to do research - and internet forums are the best way for consumers to share knowledge and experiences.

i always make up my mind to buy what i wanted. if the salesman come to physco me into buying other stuff, i will walk off without even speaking to him. That way I will know what i buy not salesman say this good that good. Anyway, you are not paying so much more. $50 to learn a lesson in the real world is very cheap. Happy shooting with the cam and let the sad story of yr mind.

I agree with DeSwitch. Anyway, always purchase from shops with shop assistances that you know or recommended when at Sim Lim Square. Never purchase from strangers whose main objective is to transfer as much $$$ from your pocket to their pockets.

You may want to report this matter to SLQ management to ensure this shop is not listed in the preferred shops list in SLQ. In this way, you are doing Singapore a favour as tourists will really get a fair competitive price for goods they are looking in Singapore.

Cheers! ;)