Bad encounter when buying B+W filter from Mass Sales

I bought filter from Henessy before, nice young person i must say,

since the goods is genuine, and price is very competitive, can't demand too much on other things.

anyway, you want convenient, than you have to and meet his mother.

I think most people will agree with me that your experience is nothing, compare to their experience in dealing with their mother in law, and lucky that you don't have to live with that. :bsmilie:

I bought twice from him before. First time was by postal and for some reason, he just went "missing in action" even with repeated attempt to contact him on why my filter wasn't here yet.

Second time I got direct from the fu lu shou shop. Pay, check and go. No drama.

I know some other shops that also allow customer to try out filters before buying, so he is not the only one doing that.

Saw the recommendation in the General Discussion Forum and I went ahead to contact the seller Henessy from Mass Sale to purchase a 77mm B+W filter. He advised me to go Fu Lu Shou (the address shown in his thread) to buy which I did. Upon reaching the store, I ask the lady shop owner for the filter and after she pass it to me, she started grumbling saying she has no profit for selling the filter and she is only helping a relative. I requested her to show me a 2nd filter as I noticed that the color of the 1st rim is uneven, she handled me a 2nd filter. During the process, she was very rude and asked me if I need to see more .... There were nasty remarks passed by her ... I returned the stuff to her and walk out of the shop. I immediately called Henessy to feedback on what had happened but he said there is nothing much he could do except to post on his thread that interested buyer can only inspect max 3 filters. I told him I was only looking at the second filter and asked why is she behaving in such a rude manner. Henessy explained that lady is her mother and he could do nothing!!!

I just wish to share my bad experience with you guys and warned you of the situation you would face. I have paid $3 for ERP and $2.20 for car park and never did I wish such incidence to happen to myself or anyone of you. My advise is to buy from Henessy if you do not require inspection/checking of the products for you are paying $10s or $100s of dollars.

Maybe I should elaborate more on what this shop owner did …. While I was looking at the 2nd filter, she asked if I want to see more and grab a handful of filters and threw it on the table followed by NASTY remarks …. Mind you, that is how your filter that is currently or that will be mounted on your lens are being treated … would you pay for that?
The worst part is when I feedback the incidence to Henessy, he was not even sympathetic or apologetic about the situation. He said he will indicate in the tread “buyers are not allowed to inspect more than 3 filters” (I was only looking at a 2nd filter) and he got the same treatment at home and could do nothing about it!!!

I will agree not to inspect filters if Henessy allow a 7 days return policy, its a consumer rights. Check with CASE.

While I do not have high expectation from a service provider from Fu Lu Shoa, I do not expect such treatment as a consumer in Singapore. I have intention to purchase 2 filters from him but with such encounter, I wouldn’t take it if the price is even marked down further.

It is a dignity issue. Some of you may tolerate this kind of behavior and trade off with a cheaper price offered. But if you look around in “Mass Sales”, there other advertisers for the same product with competitive price and good feedback. This is a competitive business environment, its not only about price (“or margin”) that we should only consider.

I am not discouraging people to but from Henessy. My post is to serve as a warning and to inform potential buyer of the unexpected encounter they may face. If you think your luck is good, tolerance level is high, want to take your chance, go ahead.

Lastly, I would like thank the mordorator whom had shifted my post here.

Cheers …

I guess it could be a 'misunderstanding' of sorts.

I too have good experiences dealing with Hennesy. Great Kid! :)

If there were a return policy, by all means, feel free to buy at will without inspection. No one should feel harassed into thinking that 'it's only just a filter', and certainly no one is obligated to accept anything sub par and void their consumer rights.

However, do give and take. :)

I bought quite a number of filters from him, no problem. Last time when I bought stuffs from him, I make an effort to pre-arrange with him few days before hand, to meet him at his house void deck at a time of his convenience (at night). But now not sure if he still do that. He is one of the best seller in CS.

Note on Filter Sale:
Pricing Policy: I do not use gimmick pricing where I put a higher price and then “discount” it to lower price. But my prices are definitely competitive. If you see a seller here with lower filter price than me, let me know.

New Shipping Policy: To simplify shipping, normal shipping is free and registered mail is $2, regardless of quantity purchased. But if you buy 2 or more filters, registered mail is required.

Discount Policy: If you buy more than 1 filter, each filter will have $2 discount off. So 1 filter no discount. 2 filters $4 discount total. 3 filters $6 discount total

Inspection Policy: Due to previous customers' feedback, each customer will be limited to 3 inspections. After inspecting 3 filters, if the customer is still not satisfied, we will decline further requests to inspect more filters.

If you meet my mother : Her temper not very good due to medical problems. If you receive poor service from a middle-aged lady, it should be her. Sorry I cannot do anything with it. In fact, I always quarrel with her at home. Around 2-3 times a week. She is like that one......

Now henessy has added some useful information on the mass sales thread. I think this is good since new customer won't be shock by the service. :bsmilie:

For me, given bad attitude is better than kena chopped.

I will agree not to inspect filters if Henessy allow a 7 days return policy, its a consumer rights. Check with CASE.
To my understanding (after doing some reading up). In singapore consumer rights, there is no return policy impose for all products, esp when you are talking about items, which you can have time to compare prices, check for info on it, eg. TV, radio, table, chairs and etc.
7 Days "return policy", I believe you are refering to the "cool off period". Which is specifically targeted at situations where the consumer is subjected to high-pressure sale tactics, eg. time share, insurance, investment and recently added is housing.

Anyway, certain rules that Henessy impose to seller, is because some black sheep just mis-used the good will that he used to give.
He used do all the dealing himself and meet buyers at certain locations, requested time, but some buyers just fly him aeroplane.... let him waste time. Hence he had to use his Mum shop as a trading point.
He used to provide return policy. But he kanna cheated from people who return fake B&W filter and get refund or exchange for new one, (his mum wouldn't be able to tell the difference).... hence he impose check on spot and no return policy.
While still "protecting" himself from these black sheeps. I believe he is already trying his best to keep the business as easy as possible for the buyer liao.

Now henessy has added some useful information on the mass sales thread. I think this is good since new customer won't be shock by the service. :bsmilie:

For me, given bad attitude is better than kena chopped.
I can empathize with Henessy. Now tell me, as a son, what can you do if your mother is going to treat people like that? It is good that he is now setting the right expectation so people can decide whether they want to go through with it or not.

As for me, I have dealt with him for quite a few times and all of them are from the shop in Fu Lu Shou building. Every time it is just a quick transaction of getting the right filter, pay for it and then leave. I did get a cracked plastic box one time but the filter is perfectly fine.

Meagre profits doesnt give you the rights Not to be polite.

If that is so, we would have to face with rude people all the time because NOT all businesses are making nice profits.

actually as long as the filter is genuie, it's ok...

imagine getting a fake b+w ... even if the service is good it is of no use...

sometimes we need to make the seller happy also... when they are in bad mood.. it will benefit us also if we can make them happy...

customer service personal have their mood swings too...

In General (since someone talks about lens and camera), if no inspection of goods is permitted, I guess most people will only consider buying it if there is warranty or an exchange policy. Unless you are buying things from a factory outlet with a huge discount knowing there are some defects to the merchandise.
I have heard of people going to Canon CSC and immediately being offered a 1 to 1 exchange when the newly bought camera has Manufacturing Defects (This is to say no or proper inspection was done but covered by warranty). I trust that no one would buy something with no warranty, no exchange policy and no inspection. :bigeyes:

As I have mentioned in my earlier post, “I do not have high expectation from a service provider from Fu Lu Shoa”, I have also mentioned that grumbling starts when I was viewing the first filter (I can accept that and I even ask for another filter as I have intention to buy 2 and was not satisfied with first discoloration), the person grab a handful of filters and threw it on the table (it seems to be reasonable and acceptable for some of the people who commented in the thread!:think:).

The situation could have been well managed and contained (show sympathy instead of saying will limit inspection in the thread) when it was being feedback to the seller. I am just only sharing my experience …. That’s all … :)

I feel that this is getting blown out of proportions, the grumbling of the "old woman" does not represent the standard of sales provided by Hennessy. Just live and let live, its his mother that he have to deal with, you can't expect him to make his mother provide better service for something she does not even profit from right?

TS, you are too sensitive. You are not paying big bucks to Henessy and let him earn millions of profit. It just a filter, buy and go, simple as that. I dun even need good service as long as i get my filter at a good price. Cathay is charging almost twice the price you are paying for do you know that? And the sales person is actually smiling inside the commission he can earn. :)

They didn't charge you for looking at the filters, why are you ranting about your erp and parking... you decide to go there, nobody forces you too.

Sorry TS but I just hates this sort of rants that the world is ideal and everyone should follow the same standard as you.

haha... i had positive experiences dealing with them.. In fact the sis was quite accomodating.

I guess you just appeared at the wrong time (perhaps..)

I think it is good feedback for the seller (his mum also) and other potential buyer.

There is 2 things you can't choose in life and 1 of them is your parents.

I think it is good feedback for the seller (his mum also) and other potential buyer.

There is 2 things you can't choose in life and 1 of them is your parents.

like that got many

got grandfather, grandmother

auntie
uncle
grandauntie
granduncle
cousin
blahblahblah :bsmilie::bsmilie::angel:

I bought from them twice, once from the mother and once (I think) the sister - no hassle la.
Was a little surprise they said ok to open up to check the lens (is this good or poor service?).
I quicky check to ensure no scratches, paid and left.
Think most of us choose to buy from Henessy because it is much cheaper than Cathay or MSC.
If you think no good then don't go lo. There are enough positive or Ok experience from other buyers as mentioned
above. There will always be inter personal difference. Part of life.
Maybe TS can close this thread.

Interestingly, what started off as a negative thread is turning out to be rather positive for the seller.
After seeing all the inputs, I am more determined than ever to do business with the seller for my next filter.
(I have never done business with him before.)

Actually all along we only hear one side of the story.
Have not heard from the other side (Henessy mother's side hor). Actually in interpersonal communications sometimes words spoken (in even slightly different tone) means different things to different people. eg. some people by nature talk very loud (to some it's like scolding you) but may not really mean it.