B+W filters: worth paying so much?

Is it worth it paying so much more for B+W filters over basic hoya ones?

That is true IMHO for most DECENT brands such as Hoya and B+W. As for brands such as Vitacon, flare is very very easy to get especially when shooting into bright light.

:o Vitacon filters will have flares even if its filters are of pro-premium quality and 1mm thickness?

I will look out for it when shooting with Hoya R72 filter stack together on my lens

B+W is like BMW and Hoya is like Toyota...the 'quality of ride' though both gets you to your 'destination'.
Some don't care how's the ride quality as long as they get to their destination, while other appreciate the pleasure of quality.

Not saying that Hoya does not have quality, but to me B+W's brass ring and MRC coating is good enough to pay for the premium. In terms of real dollar value, Brass ring contains copper and copper price is definitely higher than aluminum. So if you scrap your B+W to garang guni, it they will probably worth more.. :)

So Hoya HD is Lexus. UV filters are worthless lah. You throw to garang guni, they also dun want.

Anyone knows which one has a thinner (the height) brass ring? XS-Pro or the slim F-Pro?

Thanks! Can't wait for the XS-Pro CPL to come.

There is currently no such thing as XSPRO CPL from B+W.
XS-PRO is currently only available for UV MRC/Clear only. XS-PRO allows lense cap to be put on.

For B+W CPL, it's call SLIM. CPL Slim type cannot out on lense cap and must use the provided filter cap.

So you cannot compare SLIM to XSPRO as they are different here.

I just happens to come across B+W F-Pro Gold UV filters...with gold rim....cost many times more than the F-Pro woh.

maybe by putting bling bling at the rim, B+W have finally got rid of vignette and dark edges. :bsmilie:

filterbox_gold_geoeffnet.jpg

I just happens to come across B+W F-Pro Gold UV filters...with gold rim....cost many times more than the F-Pro woh.

maybe by putting bling bling at the rim, B+W have finally got rid of vignette and dark edges. :bsmilie:

U'll need gold lenses to compliment too. :bsmilie:

Wow! Looks like limited edition.

And it cost more than S$300....:sweat: for a 77mm thread size.

Hope they'll make red ones for L lenses. :bsmilie:

Aiyah......I just buy some gold paint and paint my filter gold can liao lor......:bsmilie:

Ill paint some of my filters red as well

You won't need a red filter if you already got the L lenses...
L-coholic alert...:)