i am wearing specs, can i still watch with 3d glasses? is it comfortable enough to be worn for a couple of hours?

The 3D goggle should be large enough to hold your glasses inside. I am wearing glasses too and have no problem with it.

Is the show at GVMax IMAX 3D? If so might want to watch again at GVMax. ;p

Just found out that GVMax is neither IMAX nor showing 3D version. :(

How do you think this movie should/will end?

Will you fight for yourself for the human race to survive at home or to protect the rightful interest of the local NAVIs?

i like the scenes where the Navi's leaped into the sky to shoot the arrows through the armored grass of cockpit of the helicopters.

I caught it in the cinema yesterday in 3D, I'd give it two thumbs up. The story was predictable, but the effects when viewed in 3D is truly awesome. It wasn't difficult to believe that the planet exists.

Catch Avatar in 3D!

P.S. Bring along wet tissues to clean the frames and something cotton to clean the glass.

Can the same grass be use to view 3D movies which we play on our bluray disks?

The 3D goggle should be large enough to hold your glasses inside. I am wearing glasses too and have no problem with it.

Just found out that GVMax is neither IMAX nor showing 3D version. :(

Other cinemas are also showing the 3D version. Are the 3D all the same technology/standard? :dunno:

I may watch it this weekend. Never watched a 3D before.:sweatsm:

Other cinemas are also showing the 3D version. Are the 3D all the same technology/standard? :dunno:

I may watch it this weekend. Never watched a 3D before.:sweatsm:

Wah you very mountain tortoise. Then mai tu liao, quickly go watch. :bsmilie:

If you're referring to the 3D Avatar movies, yup all of them uses the same technology across the cinemas. And in case you do not want to watch the 3D version they have normal one too (but no point as part of the essence of this movie is 3D).

But for 3D technology, it has been improving through out the years. For example, some older 3D movies (during the 80s) uses "complementary color anaglyphs", which requires the viewers to wear goggle with different colors on each eyes (usually blue & red). It was then follow by "linear polarized glasses" were polarizer with different phase angle is used on each eyes. The latest technology is of course the "liquid crystal shutter glasses" which is the one used in this movie.

And for those who are thinking of keeping the google for other purpose, no you can't, as GV will make sure you return the glasses at the end of the movie. There is even a fine of $80 if the google is damaged upon return. :)

For those who have watch 3d movies with linear polarized glasses and liquid crystal shutter glasses, are there any differences?

the 3D in cinema is overrated...the 'stuffs' are not popping out as much as those in the theme park's.

I beg to differ, theme park's ones are just too gimmicky, very much scripted to make things fly out at you.. Whereas the current usage of 3D in cinemas is more subtle to add that immersive experience..

For those who have watch 3d movies with linear polarized glasses and liquid crystal shutter glasses, are there any differences?

Yup, the shutter glasses works much better. It is made of plastic & rubber and has a sensor at the nose bridge area, and needs a (coin) battery to operate. If you cover up the sensor you will see double image as the goggle will not be syncing to the screen. ;p

The linear polarized glasses can be quite al cheapo and made of paper and 2 pieces of plastics with different polarizing angles. It can be a very frustrating experience if you happened to get a "lemon" which the plastics are not installed properly (either flipped over or mixed up between left and right side). :rolleyes:

One of the best show I had watch..! :heart:
The 3D is fantastic & surreal, really like what they advertised, like looking thru ur eyes :thumbsup:

James Cameron remains my favourite director w/ this show & agreed he should only film
it w/ this 3D technology to showcase the vast & gorgeous Navi world & not 15 years ago..

My $14 well spend & looking forward to sequel :lovegrin:

Watched it tonight...the normal version...and it was terrific....Lucas's magic... :thumbsup:

Yup, the shutter glasses works much better. It is made of plastic & rubber and has a sensor at the nose bridge area, and needs a (coin) battery to operate. If you cover up the sensor you will see double image as the goggle will not be syncing to the screen. ;p

:

Just curious: Has anyone encountered a battery flat during the show? or You got a spectacle that was not working so well?

I suppose the battery is brand new with every show. Isn't it? :think:

watching tonight!

anyway the only think i dun like about 3D movies is their googles... so uncomfy on the face.

Spoiler alert?

You want spoiler?
OK, here it goes:
:
:
:

:
:
:

:
:
:

In the end ah.... got credit roll, showing the casts, etc....:bsmilie:

Sorry, can't resist myself from pulling such childish pranks.
On serious tone: go and watch it!

Just curious: Has anyone encountered a battery flat during the show? or You got a spectacle that was not working so well?

I suppose the battery is brand new with every show. Isn't it? :think:

They have most probably done a study before hand and know how many shows the battery can last. Don't think they change new battery with every show.

so which 3d theater do you guys suggested? really want to view the 3d specular version.

Having seemed the 3d n 2d versions in avatar, the latter ready cannot make it. So I advice better spent your money to view the 3d version so as to do greater justice to your eyes

just watched. its nice! :)

I didn't like it
granted, I watched the 2d version, but I felt it was very "american"
of course the natives are a bunch of nature loving hippies who use bows and arrows

I think it lacked a certain ability to connect with the viewer, and I never felt surprised during the movie in the same way that District 9 surprised me.