Asterix goes to Beijing

what focal length and f-stop did you use?

wah liao, you bring technicalities into the issue ;)

f/8, 200mm.
now you are gonna ask me why f/8 and why not f/4 ? :bsmilie:

ok lah. my camera was on aperture priority mode set at f/8. i couldn't resist shooting such a beautiful girl. only after i shot, i realized that the aperture was f/8. i didn't have the courage to raise my camera towards her a second time :bsmilie:

have to grow a thicker skin :bsmilie:

i absolutely love these two, you are really good! :) the first quoted one makes me jealous, haha, excellent composition and treatment. maybe a dramatic sky would work as well, but even then, i think it's pretty fine the way it is.

love the sky in the second one, it's very nicely positioned right behind the monument and the clouds are dancing. :)

What camera+lens did you use for this shot?

#19. Long Corridor at Summer Palace

2226302638_330d335d4d_o.jpg

nice shots :) and candids

was wondering how you change ur lens, while walking around or you will find a spot to change ?

nice shots :) and candids

was wondering how you change ur lens, while walking around or you will find a spot to change ?

actually, i have two camera bodies - both Canon 30D. on one body, I mount the 10-22mm lens (I just love the wide angles in architecture shots). on the other body, I mount the 70-200mm f/4 IS lens. both the bodies are slung across my shoulder in opposite directions. Its seems a clumsy arrangement, but I've got used to it. :D
I also carry the 24-105mm lens as a spare - for those in between focal lengths. Everything fits nicely into my Lowepro Microtrekker 200 backpack. Even with this arrangement, if I have to change lenses, I have to find a spot to change one of the lenses.

#20. Performance

This lady smiled at me while I happily clicked away. When I showed her the photographs on my tiny LCD, she was pretty thrilled and a little crowd gathered around me. One of the better mornings in my life. :)

2225580291_a44ebc0cb4_o.jpg

#21. Lions on the 17 arch bridge at Summer Palace

I read somewhere that there are around 500 statues of lions on this bridge. Well, I didn't really count, but there sure were a lot of statues of the lions :D

2225579991_32fd39c10b_o.jpg

wah liao, you bring technicalities into the issue ;)

f/8, 200mm.
now you are gonna ask me why f/8 and why not f/4 ? :bsmilie:

ok lah. my camera was on aperture priority mode set at f/8. i couldn't resist shooting such a beautiful girl. only after i shot, i realized that the aperture was f/8. i didn't have the courage to raise my camera towards her a second time :bsmilie:

have to grow a thicker skin :bsmilie:

oh, did she noticed you?

i dunno ;p
you think i would keep staring at her to check if she noticed me ? :bsmilie:
no lah, what if i get slapped ? ;)

jokes apart, it was just another pure instinctive shot. dunno how the people would react in such a situation. i know i would've probably explained if questioned, but still ...

#22. Locked out

When I was strolling around in Forbidden City, I noticed this tired man taking a nap in an awkward position, right at the doorstep of a locked door. I just imagined how it would be to be locked out of your own house...

2225640805_40493b4001_o.jpg

i dunno ;p
you think i would keep staring at her to check if she noticed me ? :bsmilie:
no lah, what if i get slapped ? ;)

jokes apart, it was just another pure instinctive shot. dunno how the people would react in such a situation. i know i would've probably explained if questioned, but still ...

i thought 200mm (thats why i ask) might give you some distance (to run). :bsmilie: i have been wanting to get a f/2.8 lens, at least 200mm and preferably 300mm. that will be great for such shots, plus some events/sports

dun worry. after a candid, if you make an eye contact, smile and see her response. if it is good, try raising your camera (gesture to ask for permission of shooting, you can add a nod with a smile). if still good, take a shot more, then smile again and nod your head in thanks. if things not good, dun push further (i know you won't and most ppl dun) and just move on.

they know you r a tourist, so they usually would't mind. plus the olympics is up, and everyone's keen to please and project a gd image.

i thought 200mm (thats why i ask) might give you some distance (to run). :bsmilie: i have been wanting to get a f/2.8 lens, at least 200mm and preferably 300mm. that will be great for such shots, plus some events/sports

dun worry. after a candid, if you make an eye contact, smile and see her response. if it is good, try raising your camera (gesture to ask for permission of shooting, you can add a nod with a smile). if still good, take a shot more, then smile again and nod your head in thanks. if things not good, dun push further (i know you won't and most ppl dun) and just move on.

they know you r a tourist, so they usually would't mind. plus the olympics is up, and everyone's keen to please and project a gd image.

thanks zoossh. that's usually my style for candids. but this was a stealth shot and i didn't want to face the wrath of a beautiful girl :D

#23. National Grand Theatre ...

or the Egg Shell as its fondly called

2226492246_d7a1bf1e6a_o.jpg

actually, i have two camera bodies - both Canon 30D. on one body, I mount the 10-22mm lens (I just love the wide angles in architecture shots). on the other body, I mount the 70-200mm f/4 IS lens. both the bodies are slung across my shoulder in opposite directions. Its seems a clumsy arrangement, but I've got used to it. :D
I also carry the 24-105mm lens as a spare - for those in between focal lengths. Everything fits nicely into my Lowepro Microtrekker 200 backpack. Even with this arrangement, if I have to change lenses, I have to find a spot to change one of the lenses.

wow haha okay, i should get back my other body from my sis wahaha.
i find it a pain to change lens in public... sometimes can see dust on the mirros :x

nice shot:thumbsup:
You got the whole place for yourself?
I was there 2 half years ago and it was dam crowded.Cannot even take proper shot.
Most of the place were under renovation at that time, miss a lot of sight.
Will go again after the Olympic.

nice shot:thumbsup:
You got the whole place for yourself?
I was there 2 years ago and it was dam crowded.Cannot even take proper shot.

I cloned everyone away :bsmilie:

no lah. i waited for 15 minutes or so to get this shot with relatively no people. it also helped that there weren't so many tour groups that afternoon. I just timed my shot in between two waves of tourists.

thanks zoossh. that's usually my style for candids. but this was a stealth shot and i didn't want to face the wrath of a beautiful girl :D

yeh, think you should invest in a hide (camouflage). :bsmilie:

#23. National Grand Theatre ...

or the Egg Shell as its fondly called

2226492246_d7a1bf1e6a_o.jpg

reminds me of your uluru shot with the moon.

is the red color rendering natural from the canon sensor? can't help but to ask abt the technicalities (cos i always find problems with red in mine). the red is quite over-empowering in this shot, especially in the locations next to black.

yeh, think you should invest in a hide (camouflage). :bsmilie:

reminds me of your uluru shot with the moon.

oh my. you still remember that photograph !!! I've almost forgotten that I have unfinished business in that Outback Australia thread. Haven't ended it yet.

is the red color rendering natural from the canon sensor? can't help but to ask abt the technicalities (cos i always find problems with red in mine). the red is quite over-empowering in this shot, especially in the locations next to black.

the red color is natural. i guess the reason you see the red over-powering is because the floor acted like a giant reflector to reflect the sunlight.

technicalities in this photo are ok lah, not in that other photograph of the girl ;)

#22. Locked out

2225640805_40493b4001_o.jpg
This is the kind of street n candid shot that speaks.The strong lighting added good
Contrast amongst Red ,Green and Blue. He must be damn tired.

As for the "Egg Shell" shot, how long did you exposed it? I see a good opportunity for late night shoot whereby u can have a long exposure to expo the "Egg Shell nets" ( but avoid the bright buildings on the left)