Architectural + Cityscape Photography #7 (The photos)

Reluctant to post this. :bsmilie: Obvious tilting and maybe distortion?
C&C please. :embrass:

4805146664_6d5d9a2b31.jpg

I find learning things in this order may help:
1. horizontally correct (i.e. the line from horizon to horizon correct)
2. vertical perspective correct (i.e. align using spirit leveller so that keystone effect is minimized)

One reason is, there may be overloading of information especially when some of us are just starting out, and already know some things automatically and trying to correct other things. Take it one step at a time ;)

After that, go on to things like getting composition balance (which is actually there in your picture!), exposing to get the highlights, mid-tones and shadows (or how to recover these in Photoshop) so that the details of the buildings can be pulled out, etc... I find that I used to get these by luck but knowing makes me make an effort to consciously do it.

And the worst part is, after Kit spent all that time telling us not to cut that right-most building into half (i.e. crop it out), we still do it :p *slaps forehead*

I should probably have cropped off the picture left and right to what Gravism have, but decided to keep the wider crop (and a higher sky) :dunno: experiment mah... never get scolded, won't know what's wrong. Why I did that was because I wanted more of the sky in the pic, and thus I had to balance that out with wider sides.

What do you think?

WC#3

WC#3
[/QUOTE]

I think your experiment worked. It is very balanced hrizontally and vertically to my eyes. :thumbsup:

A lot of nice shots for this outing! :)
Even though sky was not co-operative, I think almost all the photos are more than just passable.

This is my favourite

NNB - #7. This is certainly (for me) one of the more passable shots of the day :lovegrin:

4804170676_72bed50fee_b.jpg

Not sure if my eyes playing tricks on me, but it looks slightly tilted.
I think UOB Building makes a good reference, since it's in the middle of the frame. The building looks like it's slanting slightly to the left, and its reflection is slanting slightly to the right.

WC#2

I initially took three bracketed shots, planning to exposure blend them but the cloud movements were quite drastic and the difference in lighting between the three pics not that great. So rather than doing an exposure blending (HDR would not have worked as well due to major cloud movements), I chose one pic, and worked on it.

Did a few post processing for this, mainly multiple layers of B&W at varying opacity, and combining them selectively. To get the grunge look, I actually converted to a B&W pic before reapplying back "color" from the original pic. Cropped off unwanted ground area, and got this. I purposely blew up the area lighted up by Parliament, dimmed the bottom left and bottom right areas; not sure if that was good or bad but it was intentional. I thought it would attract the viewer's eyes to the parliament.

C&C welcomed!

this is a cool shot. tks for sharing your workflow!

You prob know this already also but just to explain a bit more of the issues of this pic NNB#5 to the rest. The space remaining on the right side of the pic (Singtel building to edge) looks okay but the building on the left is cut off abruptly. There isn't really any way I can think of that can fix it because a vertical shot was taken to capture the tallest building. Well... not really can't, because if lens is not wide enough, can move backward and that's what you did with NNB#7 thus managing to get all the buildings nicely in.

For NNB#7, there's a wee bit too much space on the right/not enough space on the left. It's just a wee bit.

Which you got it right in NNB#8 ;)

Yeah bro, yeah i know.. Its was not cut off abruptly.. As a matter of fact, the angle of shoot cannot accommodate tat many buildings on the extreme left.. But its a gd example to newbies and guide them on the important aspect of compositional balance and adequate spacing between edges.. #7 only a bit only lar.. dun nitpick leh.. haa.. :bsmilie:

And the worst part is, after Kit spent all that time telling us not to cut that right-most building into half (i.e. crop it out), we still do it :p *slaps forehead*

I should probably have cropped off the picture left and right to what Gravism have, but decided to keep the wider crop (and a higher sky) :dunno: experiment mah... never get scolded, won't know what's wrong. Why I did that was because I wanted more of the sky in the pic, and thus I had to balance that out with wider sides.

What do you think?

WC#3

Nt bad to me at least.. but seems a little too much sky in this.. personally i will prefer a tighter crop.. perhaps tt's jus me.. :think:

A lot of nice shots for this outing! :)
Even though sky was not co-operative, I think almost all the photos are more than just passable.

This is my favourite

Not sure if my eyes playing tricks on me, but it looks slightly tilted.
I think UOB Building makes a good reference, since it's in the middle of the frame. The building looks like it's slanting slightly to the left, and its reflection is slanting slightly to the right.

Tks bro..

Izit~?! i better check again den...

I just noticed the post count for this thread dropped from 80 to 68. Some culling work done?

WC#3

I think your experiment worked. It is very balanced hrizontally and vertically to my eyes. :thumbsup:

Thanks.. one other thing I did was selectively brighten/darken some of the buildings, especially that sore eye on the right :sweatsm:

this is a cool shot. tks for sharing your workflow!

Yes... did you spot the CCTV also? :sweat:

#7 only a bit only lar.. dun nitpick leh.. haa..

Only if you stop including me.. err, I mean "active rubbish" a.k.a. shooters, from your photos. :bsmilie:
I prob took WC#1 when you took your shot. Was hoping I'd be hidden.

Nt bad to me at least.. but seems a little too much sky in this.. personally i will prefer a tighter crop.. perhaps tt's jus me.. :think:

Yeah, to show, my camera very wide the leh. Keke. Actually I cropped already; thinking if I crop some any more, will be not here. not there. So I left it with that much sky after thinking through. Right or wrong, is another thing lah.. yeah also agree, personal preference also come into play. I tend to be weird also.

Folks!! Stumbled upon this..... Its refreshing to see works on Singapore by a foreigner. I especially liked the few on the Helix.

http://www.stawiarz.com/city_of_shadows_singapore/index.php
I liked his compositions, though I felt that his B&Ws were too contrasty. Looks like quite a lot of blown highlights.
I suppose it's his style, though I don't find myself feeling "wow" when I look at them.

I liked his compositions, though I felt that his B&Ws were too contrasty. Looks like quite a lot of blown highlights.
I suppose it's his style, though I don't find myself feeling "wow" when I look at them.

Heh.. I quite like. Maybe been staring at too many Ansel Adams lately :rolleyes:

Kinda of agree with you on this one br0.. Too much of everything for comfort..

but agreed with Kit tt the Helix Bridge ones were pretty good..

hi bros. sorry for tha late post,,just too busy for my daughters bday,,hehehe
tnks bro kits, for the outing last saturday..

4805059114_4ce1d5b950_z.jpg

4805059056_0154867c15_z.jpg

4805059106_c12408ea06_z.jpg

sorry bros for the tilted images becoz of my lousy lens,hehehe,tnks for viewing..

hey bros,,just want to share some photos of the action in ELGIN BRIDGE,,hehehe.
bro bryan & bro kits..good stolens shots..:thumbsup::

4805059116_d8b2f23519_z.jpg

2.csnapers in action as well......

4805064150_71164d0e44_b.jpg

happy viewing!!:thumbsup:;)

Two pictures with different cropping

WC#1B

WC#3B