Anyone upgrade from d7000 to D700?

But dynamic range is tip subjective to e condition and lighting right

I have used the D700 side by side with someone who uses the D7000 & when I looked at the other's output, I was like wow! great camera, but actually better cameraman, better skills. The best tools in the hands of an idiot is useless. Its a terrible illusion, fantasy, misconception to think that just by owning a D700, one suddenly becomes a good photographer. Both D7000 & D700 are superb photographic tools, Based on what TS posted in the D7000 thread, one of which is reproduced below, IMO its a case of a bad workman quarrels with his tools & looking for justification from others to buy what one dont need, dont know how to use & dont use. With no love & appreciation of photography & no passion & desire to learn & improve, good photographic equipment dont mean nothing; nothing to do with being a pro or non pro. And oh, to avoid arguments, it does not mean one need pre-requisite skills to own & enjoy better stuff. Its just the thinking behind & attitude that matters.

impulse purphase..
I realised I dont realli like photography. But recently just bought D7000k , and 35mm 1.8 and tokina 11-16mm and sb 900 and dry box and Sirui carbon tripod and many filters and camera bag.

All used like less than 2 -3 times. How ? Now everything is like a white elephant. I am not rich, earning power is only 2k per month.

D700 has a huge RAW headroom in the highlights, d7000 doesnt.

But dynamic range is tip subjective to e condition and lighting right

I shot an indoor scene with raw, deliberately overexpose and underexposing to simulate extreme DR. My conclusion was the D7000 is slightly better.

hi friends. I own both D7000 and d700. No doubt D700 is a fantastic camera. But I bought D7000 as a lighter camera for travelling. I can say I have mixed feelings. D700 still 1 stop better than D7000 ISO performance. at ISO 800 and above D7000 shows visible noises in shadow area while D700 still pretty clean up to 3200. Better dynamic range or not is arguable since it didn't change much the way I use GND filters with D7000. That's ok anyways.

Basically I can say that D700 is still better than any DX cameras as of today. I more or less agree with this review: http://mansurovs.com/nikon-d700-review

D7000 is a fantastic camera at half price though. Just don't shoot it under extreme conditions you will not get disappointed.

Upgrade or not depends on your needs and budget. Sometimes it's hard to balance between needs vs wants :D

TS like to post such topics to start ppl spiting off dx vs fx things. Jialat. It won't be fair comparing dx against fx with the price difference and lens choices anw. Its true u pay for what u get, can't hope to get fx quality with dx mah.

+1, if you have to ask why you need to upgrade to FX, then you dont need.

If you can afford

Buy the best there is,
buy the one you like
and buy the one that you will use .....
and I bet you will enjoy your hobby with much more shiok...

Dun listen to those crap of 'person vs camera twisted of context' logic..... Dun waste your time to write a thesis of wants vs needs....and dun need to seek a consultant on what is your photographic style.....

Everyhing equal, the better the camera, the better the chances of capturing that memorable record that money cannot buy....

Just take note that, for most people, we have limited budget, and ones overall quality in life can be enhanced without being suck all into photography...

If you can afford

Buy the best there is,
buy the one you like

Dun listen to those crap of 'person vs camera twisted of context' logic..... Dun waste your time to write a thesis of wants vs needs....and dun need to seek a consultant on what is your photographic style.....

Everyhing equal, the better the camera, the better the chances of capturing that memorable record that money cannot buy....

Just take note that, for most people, we have limited budget, and ones overall quality in life can be enhanced without being suck all into photography...

i kinda agree .
with enough budget, buy the best you can afford.
then go around shoot happily.
but if you still cannot get nice picture, then you have to question yourself to upgrade your skill cos your equipment is already the best.

swhyge said:
If you can afford

Buy the best there is,
buy the one you like

Well said. :)

Get a medium format camera instead, no money? Just take a loan. Problem solved.

me me me!!!

bought d7k from IT show, sold it off in less than 2months. Bite the bullet and bought
-d700
-24-70/2.8
-50/1.4

Sold in less than 2 months ? Is it really that bad ? :think:

Have not used a d7k b4 but I downgraded from a 5d mkii to 60d... I must say I utterly regretted making that decision back then... Moved on to a d700(cos got on board flash) after that and I am a happy man again...

swhyge said:
If you can afford

Buy the best there is,
buy the one you like

Agree....to each his/her own...no right or wrong.

technoglitz87 said:
Ur wrong, MONEY is better. In fact, it's the best.

Yes, to a certain point.
The main ideal of getting a camera is to create images. What is the point of wasting time debating which is better camera and not putting any effort of creating better images with what already own or have now?

Fyi, somebody is already on radar screen now.

technoglitz87 said:
Ur wrong, MONEY is better. In fact, it's the best.

Inflation is higher than bank interest ...gold is best at the moment :)

Anyway, life is short, for hobbyists like me, I just buy what I think I can afford while keeping in mind other commitments and wants. If I have the spare $$, I don't mind spending more to get a better camera or lens.

Have not used a d7k b4 but I downgraded from a 5d mkii to 60d... I must say I utterly regretted making that decision back then... Moved on to a d700(cos got on board flash) after that and I am a happy man again...

My case almost same with you,
I downgraded from 1D2 to 60D,
really regretted after this decision.

after that I moved to nikon D700,
becomes happy NIKON user now :)

Inflation is higher than bank interest ...gold is best at the moment :)

Anyway, life is short, for hobbyists like me, I just buy what I think I can afford while keeping in mind other commitments and wants. If I have the spare $$, I don't mind spending more to get a better camera or lens.

Hahaha agreed! Inflation is horrible. Anw, back to topic. Comparing D700 to D7000 is not fair. at least compare it to a D3. DX for budget students like me :)