Anyone still doing or interested in Large Format?

the thread seems active even in the wee hours :)

Join in the fun Ro-Ro!

Soon we can start an after midnight supper club oso! :bsmilie:

Speaking of which ... I hungry. :rolleyes:

Tried to scan my 4x5 as a 6x9cm (x2), didn't do justice to the trans :(

Anyways I have a huge headache about LF tripods ... ugh.

Tried to scan my 4x5 as a 6x9cm (x2), didn't do justice to the trans :(

Anyways I have a huge headache about LF tripods ... ugh.

LF tripod is easy - just get one that's rated at at least 2x the total weight of your camera + back + lens. :bsmilie: Err...different people will have different opinions in this. Usually, have to consider all the different factors such as how, where, how high, how low etc.

Forward offered to lend you his use first mah.

Alternatively, a super steady option is a surveyor's tripod. Get the lighter wood ones from overseas.

LF tripod is easy - just get one that's rated at at least 2x the total weight of your camera + back + lens. :bsmilie: Err...different people will have different opinions in this. Usually, have to consider all the different factors such as how, where, how high, how low etc.

Forward offered to lend you his use first mah.

Alternatively, a super steady option is a surveyor's tripod. Get the lighter wood ones from overseas.

Thanks for the lesson.

By the way, whos da guy with the long hair as a mini-dark cloth?
And the one who smokes that funny thing?

Anyways, the last shot on my Leica today. (That round mark is caused by bending the film due to improper loading!)

3782213944_c37df7b6d2.jpg

Thanks for the lesson.

By the way, whos da guy with the long hair as a mini-dark cloth?
And the one who smokes that funny thing?

Anyways, the last shot on my Leica today. (That round mark is caused by bending the film due to improper loading!)

3782213944_c37df7b6d2.jpg

OOU! I remember that 'RAISE-GRAB' shot! :bsmilie:

The yandao with the long hair is yilishengxian. :devil:

The one who smokes the funny thing is from la-la land. :bsmilie:

OOU! I remember that 'RAISE-GRAB' shot! :bsmilie:

The yandao with the long hair is yilishengxian. :devil:

The one who smokes the funny thing is from la-la land. :bsmilie:

La-la land? It must be you! :bsmilie:
This is going wayy OT. Haha

Nor me lah!

I am from LAR LARD land! :bsmilie:

Hey, check out this ebay tripod: 110418114712

Nor me lah!

Hey, check out this ebay tripod: 110418114712

But, I thought you were from HA HAR land?

Looks beautiful, but he says no overseas shipping.

USD34 for in-country shipping already, imagine the shipping price if delivered by FedEx ... :bigeyes:

Wonder what surveyor's tripod's go for in SG?

So far the only ones I've seen in use (currently) are the yellos metal Leica ones. :bigeyes:

A little nonsense now and then
is relished by the wisest men ...
especially in all-things photography

--------------------------------------------------
Is it difficult to push away the five
robbers lodged in this human body?
Well if you want to know who these
five robbers are....follow this exciting LF thread. ;):)

Wonder what surveyor's tripod's go for in SG?

So far the only ones I've seen in use (currently) are the yellos metal Leica ones. :bigeyes:

Well, the difference between surveyor, survival
nor perseverance or either obstinancy is that
one is made from strong will, and the other
from strong won't.

------------------------------------------
Who is strong then?
I think he who can control his passions is,
for it was said that the one who is
wealthy is one who is satisfied with
his portion. ;):)

I've scanned the slides and had a look at the images and here they are.

This is the best image I've got:
A.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-3.jpg

These 2 looks underexposed:
B.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-2.jpg

C.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-1.jpg

This is the size of the slides when compared to the scanner:
D.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyond3.jpg

In the meantime I'm looking for a way to upload a high resolution scan of the image =.=". These are 600dpi, I'll attempt a 4800dpi scan to see
if I can see the details clearly when I got the time as this takes a long time ...

I've scanned the slides and had a look at the images and here they are.

This is the best image I've got:
A.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-3.jpg

These 2 looks underexposed:
B.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-2.jpg

C.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyo-1.jpg

This is the size of the slides when compared to the scanner:
D.
RandomPointandShootSeriesLI-Beyond3.jpg

In the meantime I'm looking for a way to upload a high resolution scan of the image =.=". These are 600dpi, I'll attempt a 4800dpi scan to see
if I can see the details clearly when I got the time as this takes a long time ...

ooo.. nice.. i haven't got my trans yet :cry:

[replying thread #190] Thank u ‘forward’ for ur kind reply…well said.. :thumbsup:

Thank u Dream Merchant. U guys must be pro man. I’m new to clubsnap hehe. Hook on to slide films many years ago. I wanted to learn more on medium format stuff, so I contacted Prof Castleman fr NTU (she’s the guru in medium & LF man!!) but she’s too busy to teach pte lessons…so sad…dun know whether anyone serious enough to gather enough ppl & learn fr her?? Hehe…what hardware do u use to scan ur LF slides?

Would've loved to join the last outing, but was out of town. Will there be a next outing? Would love to join you guys...

Hi Sfink,

It would be an honor to have you with us!

We will be shooting again this coming Sunday. Please visit this thread for more details: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=554220

Guys, in case you're wondering ... Sfink shoots both digital as well as medium format and has extensive experience doing Architecture and Industrial work, among other fields.

Hi Komodo,

We're not pros, just enthusiasts in love with large format.

Yeah, there is quite a bit of difference using transparency materials as compared to negatives and digital. The feeling is almost palpable! We're a young group, in more ways than one, and all of us are learning from each other.

I've included a few very helpful links previously, but here they are again for your convenience:

Some really excellent reading for anyone interested:

Very comprehensive guide: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

What's a View Camera: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/View_camera

What's a Field Camera: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Field_camera

What is Scheimpflug principle: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scheimpflug_principle

A Visual Demo of the Scheimpflug principle in use (really easy to understand): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gR4m70xr9mE

Hope this helps.

CHEERS!

Please not the change of day of the 2nd LF Shoot Outing from this Saturday 8th Aug to this SUNDAY 9th Aug.

This is to accommodate those who can't make it on Sat.