Anyone jump ship from canon to nikon here?

It's getting off topic.

You know it's not just that. An e.g., older motherboards do not support the new processors even if they are built for the older 32 bit processors. Nvidia and ATI are two other companies that leave people chasing.

The only way not to be caught is not to be in it (or not be bothered by the new products - I'm still using a celeron 566 ;p ancient by today's standards). On a positive note, if there are no advances and new products priced to beat competitors/gain market share, DSLRs would probably still cost more than $3-4k for just the body.

Actually more people jumping ship from Nikon to Canon than the other way.

Is ok if you want to switch system, provided you can sell all your canon stuffs instead of letting them collect dust.
Is a pity to see camera equipment lye down there doing nothing.

I believe there will be quite a number of Canon users (300D, film cameras users) who would be tempted to go for the D70 when it's launched, especially those that did not have a large investment in lenses. it's a good thing for both existing Canon and Nikon users ;p cos there will be more demand for 2nd hand Nikon lenses and more supply of 2nd hand Canon ones.

i got this sudden urge... to decide to buy both nikons n canons till the day i die.
it will feel like havign a wife in the day n a mistress @ nite...
:bsmilie: :D :p

juz humour :)

Wow the arguments in this thread sound so painfully familiar....do a search and you can find countless other similar posts like these... :rolleyes:

Technology is always advancing, prices keep dropping, new models with new features are being churned out all the while. Why be concerned over what this particular product from that particular company lacks a certain feature, not enuff pixel count, AF speed sucky blah blah....each and every product has its strength and weaknesses. No camera is perfect. Competition is always good coz it will result in better and more affordable priced products for us, the consumers. And the technology is still developing. Digital photography is still in a relatively infant stage, lets not be overly cynical or critical of certain rival manufacturers' products, and just look forward to what the future has to offer. There is so much more to come!!

mpenza said:
Competitiors leap frog each other from time to time. if they don't do so, they get marginalised. I believe both Nikon and Canon have R&D teams which try to forecast the future consumer demands and aim to meet them at the right time.
mpenza has summed it up best here. Basically sums up the whole 'N vs C' thread (not only this one but countless others) perfectly. And to many many other 'N vs C' threads yet to come. Wht waste your breath arguing pointlessly over equipment specs which will become passe a year or so from now? Just go out there with what you have and enjoy yourself taking pictures, thats what you bought a camera for in the first place, isn;t it? :blah:

Btw, Canon EOS 1Ds II is out :) check out Canon subforum!

It's EOS 1D II, not 1Ds. (correction only). :)

sprockett said:
hahah hi guys! to tell u the truth, i sold ALLLL my canon stuff abt 3 mnths ago liao... save for my 420ex and 550ex... Basically, i realised i wouldnt be shooting for the last 3 months of 2003, so i decided heck, sell all, and wait till PMA... i was originally going to save up for a full 10D + dream lens system, but now that Nikon is coming up with some good stuff too, i was thinking of jumping ship (even though im very used to canon stuff). Jumping ship isnt that big a deal for me, coz i only have my 420ex and 550ex left...

so right now its either 10D, 10D succesor(if its announced), or D70.... and im seriously contemplating the D70.... Unless the 10D successor (if there is even one) is SIGNIFICANTLY better than the D70, or if its at the same price, will i consider it... right now my plans for a 10d are shelved.. (unless really cheap lah)

the more i browse nikon stuff, the more im getting tempted.. u guys r rite, with the 18-70 + the superb 12-24 (HALLO CANON??? WHERE IS UR EQUIVALENT!!) D70 looks about right... not to mention the superb price point...

never the less, having used canon all teh while, i don't know if i will be able to adapt to nikon....
and 1D mark II confirm out of my budget.... so sad.

mmm.sounds just like me! i'm saving up towards a full system too.=) and i;m just lingering around waiting for the new 10D/D100 replacement to decide which system to fully utilize.

Castlesinthesky said:
mmm.sounds just like me! i'm saving up towards a full system too.=) and i;m just lingering around waiting for the new 10D/D100 replacement to decide which system to fully utilize.
Yes, its a good time to keep a hold onto those megabucks first. :D If the announcements by Canon & Nikon are anything to go by, good things will be coming our way soon...just need to wait a little while. PMA 2004 is only a few weeks away...TAHAN!!! :bsmilie:

U can get the following in nikon...

12-24, 24-120VR, 70-200VR :D u're done! Heehee.

or 17-35, 28-70, 70-200VR

Multiple combos! :devil:

And VR 200-400mm F4, this is where you are done.

Noo!!! NOooOO!!! NooOOOooo!!! ;p

Ok guys, chill out on the N and C, let's talk about the 18-70! :D