anyone into turntable and vinyl records?

swimcraze

hi, i am thinking of taking buying a turntable and collecting some records. Anyone knows which the things i should look out for when buying them? i have absolutely no idea about them but am interested in starting a new hobby :) can anyone help?

thanks.

Hiya,

You need to go to the Echoloft at www.echoloft.com - an excellent Sg site for Hi Fi buffs. Head over to the Lounge (that's their forum) and click on the Echoloft Grooves section (that's the Vinyl-specific site). Lots of extremely helpful folk there, all of whom will be more than glad tolead you down the dark path... :)

Cheers and good luck.

I am a casual listener of LPs, with an AIWA turntable and 100 or so records. You may look out for section 64 of the classified in Straits Times/Lianhe Zaobao for places that sell second hand LPs.

One shop located at Ubi avertises there and that sells records, cleaning solution, empty plastic sleeves, and used turntables for $80-$200+, the telephone number is 6744**** (cannot remember). Another shop called Go Cat Go at Peninsular Plaza or Shopping Centre (can't remember) sells LPs which cost below $10 per piece, though some are mouldy and need cleaning.

swimcraze said:
hi, i am thinking of taking buying a turntable and collecting some records. Anyone knows which the things i should look out for when buying them? i have absolutely no idea about them but am interested in starting a new hobby :) can anyone help?

thanks.

Playing vinyl records and compact discs are totally different.

While you can just pop in a CD into the player, the same cannot hold true for a turntable and record. There is cleaning and vacuuming of the record, alignment of cartridge etc etc. The maintenance of a vinyl system (hardware and software) is really taxing, but if you're willing to endure, it will be very rewarding.

AudioSport still ard?

yah i am interested in buying 1 turntable in working condition as my dad left a lot of vinyl records.

For the avid DJs - Technics 1200 MKii or the newer model - can't go wrong

For audiophiles - Projekt series ... kinda forgot which model. :embrass:

Talking about turntables....think it's time for me to hunt for a used Technics MK II.... got loads of 12' singles from the 80's....anybody got lobang?

:sweat:

Don't tempt me into getting 1 as well. Love the chrome finish on that baby ... But if you're after sound quality, don't get it since its direct drive, noise tends to be a problem so those audiophiles say about direct drive turntables.

haha...talking abt TT (turntable), i was in and out of it twice....first one was a 20yr + Thoren, 2nd one was a Project TT..........

as mentioned before playing LP is totally different from CD, u gotta clean it before playing, then after 20 min or so u gotta flip it or change LP......ai...ultimately my laziness took over....gave up.....haha...

on the other hand, if the TT is properly set up, the sound is :thumbsup:

dEthANGeL said:

Don't tempt me into getting 1 as well. Love the chrome finish on that baby ... But if you're after sound quality, don't get it since its direct drive, noise tends to be a problem so those audiophiles say about direct drive turntables.

dEthANGeL said:

Not quite true ........... the debate between a direct drive turntable and belt drive turntable has been going on for ages.

You'd be surprised to know that a Technics SL-1210 Mk II can sound pretty decent, when set up correctly.

Robert said:
Playing vinyl records and compact discs are totally different.

While you can just pop in a CD into the player, the same cannot hold true for a turntable and record. There is cleaning and vacuuming of the record, alignment of cartridge etc etc. The maintenance of a vinyl system (hardware and software) is really taxing, but if you're willing to endure, it will be very rewarding.

hi Robert!

in what way is it rewarding? how is the sound quality??? thanks!

Robert said:
Not quite true ........... the debate between a direct drive turntable and belt drive turntable has been going on for ages.

You'd be surprised to know that a Technics SL-1210 Mk II can sound pretty decent, when set up correctly.

Hmm ... very true .. i'm not really a fan of belt driven turntables due to slack after a while, then one has to change the belt.

im pretty keen in the 1210MK ii ...But just wondering what kind of catridge to pair it up with. I simply love the chrome and refined finish. Just that LPs are really hard to come by and they're expensive.

Hi everyone,

I just stumbled onto the Audio Note Singapore webpage (just Google it), and they have apparently got a pre-owned Rega Planar 2 for $490. The P2 has an excellent reputation as an outstanding starter deck and its easy set-up, no fuss. Audio Note is in Adelphi and I expect most of you hang around that area - so go have a look.

Its good to buy a cheaper pre-owned TT if you are just starting out. For the vinyl hobby, 60% of beginners chuck their sets and records after 6 months, the rest of them will get hooked solid and eventually end up with a library of 60 000 records. When you don't know yet, start cheap and collect software first before the upgrade bug hits you - or not...

The difference in sound? You'd have to listen really to hear the difference between digital and analogue. But the difference is instantly obvious. I can't really explain it apart from saying that digital has the dynamics that vinyl struggles to match - the highs are higher, low bass is lower, details are more finely etched. But a halfway good vinyl rig brings out the soul of music - its more fluid, more organic. Its like they say - CD is like observing a Monet close up, Vinyl is like stepping back a dozen steps to gaze at the big picture. Any photography analogies for that? :)

BTW, if you live in the US, the great advantage is that there is still a LOT of software available - including some really cheap yard sale stuff. Check out the Audio Asylum page for the Vinyl Asylum. Again like Echoloft, full of helpful fascinating people and fun facts from Vinyl crazies.

Good Luck and Happy Hunting

Jim

haha....dun tempt me leh! hmmm..... 3rd attempt?

haha.........

marmaladecorgi said:
BTW, if you live in the US, the great advantage is that there is still a LOT of software available - including some really cheap yard sale stuff. Check out the Audio Asylum page for the Vinyl Asylum. Again like Echoloft, full of helpful fascinating people and fun facts from Vinyl crazies.

Good Luck and Happy Hunting

Jim

yesh! getting used eqpt is the way to go for hifi...esp if u are not too sure abt ur interest....u save money upfront and if you want to give up you dun lose much too....

to tempt u further...here is the link ---> http://www.hifi.com.sg/2ndhand/2ndhand.asp

marmaladecorgi said:
Hi everyone,

I just stumbled onto the Audio Note Singapore webpage (just Google it), and they have apparently got a pre-owned Rega Planar 2 for $490. The P2 has an excellent reputation as an outstanding starter deck and its easy set-up, no fuss. Audio Note is in Adelphi and I expect most of you hang around that area - so go have a look.

Jim

swimcraze said:
hi Robert!

in what way is it rewarding? how is the sound quality??? thanks!

Rewarding :

a) my personal take on this - I find CDs convenient, but a very thin 2-dimensional sounding as compared to the LP, which is fuller, more rich sounding. You can hear the difference almost immediately even with above-average condition LPs

b) there is a lot of beautiful music from the past (1950s - 19080s) that is available on LPs but not released on CDs.

dEthANGeL said:
Hmm ... very true .. i'm not really a fan of belt driven turntables due to slack after a while, then one has to change the belt.

im pretty keen in the 1210MK ii ...But just wondering what kind of catridge to pair it up with. I simply love the chrome and refined finish. Just that LPs are really hard to come by and they're expensive.

The changing of the belt is part-and-parcel of the hobby itself. Similar to photography, some parts of your camera also need changing after a while.

With regards to the cartridge, you can't go wrong with a decent Shure or Audio Technica, or even Ortofon. It really boils down to your budget.

Robert said:
The changing of the belt is part-and-parcel of the hobby itself. Similar to photography, some parts of your camera also need changing after a while.

With regards to the cartridge, you can't go wrong with a decent Shure or Audio Technica, or even Ortofon. It really boils down to your budget.

Yup, true. Spoke to my dad about this before, he has an antique Thorens deck which needs to be rewired internally due to the amount of hum and feedback when you play a LP.

As to catridges, yes those are the ones to go for. But looking for a speicifc model to suit your listening tastes is another.

As for CDs vs LPs, CDs i feel that you need a pretty good player / cabling and equipment to do justice. I'm using an AMC CD6b with tubes for listening. I feel its good enough. A walk around adelphi amazes me as some shops actually playing LPs that sound much like CD (yes its that good) ... these are one of the factors i'm thinking of going to LP. Seriously in SG we lack the software, not sure where i can find new age / vocals / smooth jazz kind of material on LPs, and they usually cost a bomb.

dEthANGeL said:
Yup, true. Spoke to my dad about this before, he has an antique Thorens deck which needs to be rewired internally due to the amount of hum and feedback when you play a LP.

Which Thorens model?