Any regrets after switching from DSLR to full M4/3 system?

Bro.. Sell EP3 and buyEM5!!

haha... wa lau.. bro... i trying very hard to tahan here. I hope i can tahan until the EM6 of the EP4 / Pen Pro appears

Bro, resistent is futile.... I know... already kena many times over..... GET IT! and the poison will be cure......... for now... ;)

errrr..... I'm confused why I still itch for a FF DSLR...... kena too deep a poison from CS?? :embrass:.....

Maybe, either way, its just another piece of equipment, I miss the weight of smaller sensor cameras, but no point changing again

Bro, resistent is futile.... I know... already kena many times over..... GET IT! and the poison will be cure......... for now... ;)

this type of poison do not have a perm. cure. .

I bought FF so that I can take shots like this:

Bokeh Light Up by ◄Halogen¶╝, on Flickr

Of course, you can do that with the 25mm f0.95 (for a much higher price). For everything else, the OMD works great for me.

Just be aware of the pros and cons of the various systems - FF, APS-C, APS-C mirrorless, 4/3, m4/3.

I find I'm lacking in dof lei hahaha

Thanks. With all my researches and your collective inputs, there's a hi chance ill likely go for mirror-less/m43. I remember the days I have my dslr (d300s, d90, 60d, 7D) I tried doing project365/apad but wasn't able to finish because there were times I've been lazy due to its weight...

Been using my Samsung S3 all this while or sometimes my old Sony p&s T100 but over time, I'm a bit limited to the output of the pictures and IQ. Now, I'll go back and check the epl5 again and compare. I'll take a peek of the highly OMD too

It's good that you more or less knows what you want now. In doubt still? wait for 2nd hand, at least if it fails to meet your expectations, you can sell it for less heart pain. In CS, you have the best BNS in Singapore ;) caveat emptor of course.

I took a spin today with friend's FF DSLR (very old one, Canon 1DS + 100/2.8 as well as EPL5+12-35 f2.8, 45/1.8, 75/1.8), was half deciding to bring the canon 100/2.8 + epl5 with 12-35 for my son's birthday party in school, but after using for 15min while waiting for his bus, I decided to just stick with EPL5. It wasn't so much the weight, but rather the bulk of it and also user issue, I'm out of touch with using DSLR, didn't even have a big enough sling bag for it amongst the kids stuff I had to carry on my backpack haha. Certainly the AF was very fast even for a cam this old, and the large OVF oh so shiok!

But with EPL5 it was more fun and easy to compose and with different angles possible that would have been much more difficult with the DSLR, sure there are articulate screen but I doubt the AF using live view would be as fast as EPL5.

An awkward angle without awkward positioning, never know what kids are up to next moment...

To get the DOF (almost) close to FF, the 75 F1.8 was mostly used, or as elgin rightly mentioned 25/0.95 could be employed to get the DOF that one needs but at a high cost and manual focus. In any case, if razor thin DOF is a must have thing, should go FF/MF/LF or PP (microcosm can teach you how to do F0.95 DOF).

So again, there's users for DSLR & mirrorless & compact cameras & certainly film, MF, LF etc...so just the best tool that suit one's needs. I certainly won't be using FF for a while unless it's mirrorless :)

Alternatively, hope to organize a shoot soon enough, you can join and play with some of the gears, it's highly addictive guaranteed :bsmilie:

the adage, "the best camera is the one you have with you"... will always rule over whatever choice you make.
unless you have it with you and STILL miss the shot then of course, that camera is not doing its job. Like the old iOS which needed you to snap a picture with the screen controls.
Try doing that with gloves on during cold weather, almost impossible.

Bro.. Check this out.. Pro photog taking 50 weddings on iPhone..

Photographer to shoot 50 weddings in one day with his iPhone: Connect

I've seen that before. He pro mah, I not hahaha, plus he using iPhone, I using HTC ;p

In any case, I didn't really search all his photos, but the few I see are in relatively good light. My first wedding was pretty dark, I wouldn't dare use a phone to capture photos (at least not with phones made today). I remember watching Fstoppers shoot a fashion shoot with iphone, but he had huge light, if he can shoot in poor lighting condition and get pictures that majority would give thumbs up, that'd be amazing, again, we have to work to the limits of the gear, and compromise to get around the limitations, but if there's no compromise, its difficult. But its another topic of course hahaha

I switched from D700 -> Panny GX1 -> Oly E-M5. The GX1 is now my backup spare camera because of its size. So far totally no regrets switching to a much lighter platform. Go hiking also no problem because I can easily dump my 12-35 and E-M5 into my bag, compared to my old D700 combo where a special bag is usually required to protect it.

I would advice TS to get dslr. First of all u can shoot in more complex lightnings situations with strobe lights. Af is fast n accurate n u got tonnes of lenses to play. Pair with cheap prime like 35 f1.8 and use rapid strap,dslr setup is actually not that heavy. 2ndly m4/3 lenses are actually more ex.I m quite surprise actually. If u want light n small u could consider nex system also

In summary... Bro here is saying if dont get M43, sure regret.... ;):bsmilie:

I would advice TS to get dslr. First of all u can shoot in more complex lightnings situations with strobe lights. Af is fast n accurate n u got tonnes of lenses to play. Pair with cheap prime like 35 f1.8 and use rapid strap,dslr setup is actually not that heavy. 2ndly m4/3 lenses are actually more ex.I m quite surprise actually. If u want light n small u could consider nex system also

Actually, m43 also can shoot in complex lightings with strobes. AF is accurate though not nearly as fast. And the mirrorless cameras also got tonnes of lenses to play with, with the right adapter. Depends on what lenses you're talking about I find, else, I find that DSLR lenses are more ex. But regardless of the system, they each have their own pros and cons

Im on the stage now comparing prices of the epl5 from amazon and local shops here. However, i just realized there's past models such as the epl3 and ep3? Do they have huge differences? Will there be an ep5?

E-P5 rumored to be out some time this year. And yes, there are such models

Im on the stage now comparing prices of the epl5 from amazon and local shops here. However, i just realized there's past models such as the epl3 and ep3? Do they have huge differences? Will there be an ep5?

Epl3 is lite version and cheaper than ep3. Ep3 has extra dial to control, slight more buttons, oled screen, touchscreen focus, can change the grip, built in flash, faster fps (though AF same I feel). Epl3 has a tilt screen which ep3 doesn't have.

Epl5 has almost everything you get with ep3 except the sensor is 16mp Sony sensor and less dial, much better IQ at high iso, about 2 stops. And it has tilt screen too which cab shoot self portrait.

Ep5 should be coming soon.

if i may chip in my views.

i started off with a Canon 7D, had it for 2 years plus before i began to feel the bulk of the DSLR. weight was not the major issue, it was more of the size of the gears. there were times when i just want to bring a small camera out for dinner or leisure walk but i only had the 7D which means i need to lug a big bag along too.

then i turned my eye to the Olympus OM-D. it was a big mistake because i totally fell in love with it. :sweat: got it straight off and i must say it IS A JOY TO USE! the files that came out from the E-M5 can certainly go head to head with the 7D. going high ISO, i can say that at 3200, the E-M5 knock the socks off the 7D. the only reason why i kept the 7D was due to the fast PDAF and the brilliant 10-22 + 17-55 i had. the 17-55 was largely used to chase down my 2 years old niece and 10-22 for weekly landscapes work. the performance of the E-M5 was too close to that of the 7D(less the AF), putting form factor into the equation, no prize for guessing which camera got to see more action.

due to the pros of each system, i knew that i wanted to have a FF + m43 setup. so to widen the differences between both cameras, i sold the 7D for the awesome 5DMK3. truly a magnificent machine is the MK3, super fast + accurate AF and great high ISO performance up to 12800.

so now, i paired the 5DMK3 with the 16-35L II for landscapes stuffs, the 70-200L for portrait use and the 40 STM for small-ish walkabout setup. the E-M5 is mated to the Pany 20/f1.7 and Oly 45/f1.8, mainly for portrait and leisure usage.

it really boils down to what you want from your gears, by managing your expectations, it will be easier for you to come to a decision. if you can't, then buy both, like me! :sweat::bsmilie: