Alan Photo Poor Service

If there's such a word.

I've frequent TCW,CP,MS and AP. Prices normally don't vary very much. But when it comes to sales, only AP have yet to convince me to part with my money.

It actually comes with the psychological effect when services and prices are "inconsistant". Furthermore, their price tags are in codes..subjected to the salesman intepretation... could be part of the culture of SLS... but as a society, we are looking for more "transparent" pricings. I have felt more "safe" when I can upfront see the price tagged on the item and make my own decision rather than pestering the salesmen to decipher the price for me... then again you may not know are you getting a good deal or getting chopped. (This is why you must do your homework first)

Now, there are a posts here that claims AP sometimes sells grey in place of "originals".. another psychological blow to the shop's reputation.

That being said, one must be aware that the abovementioned shops are sometimes recommended by forumers here due to their repeated partonising of that shop, thereby a comfortable "relationship" was established. For most forumers here trying to squeeze a good deal from the a/m shops the first few times you visit (or anywhere for that matter). Maybe the expectation is set too high. Then again, if you feel the "services" provided to you is way below your benchmark... then by all means act accordingly.

Last possible cause is that AP may not be aware of forums such as this, or for that matter took internet age at it's stride and change the business management accordingly, of course, the better example here is EG, I'm sure the majority of their customers are refered (directly or indirectly) from the forums such as here.

Simply ask yourself before any purchase,

what budget you have for the item after researching the item.

do you care really care for good CS, product reliability/quality or price really matters?

product is available else where?

is there a possibility that you may return for exchange or other service?

For myself, if I am buying new lens & camera I buy from CP (since PG is closed now).
Consumerable & accessories, I will get anywhere where price is the lowest (unless like cokin filter which only CP has the widest stock).

We are buying things everyday, for sure we will encounter good & poor CS. While I cannot say poor CS is right but we do have a choice where to buy & to share the upsetting event. So let youself & the rest make their choice for the next purchase.

kingkangkong said:
sucks lar.
I walk in, spiked blonde hair.
they bo chup. ask them price, give me stupid look.
stupid people. got good money in brown envelop inside school bag.

went to other shop to buy camera.

then walk back to AP with big plastic bag with camera JUST to buy batteries.

Excellent come back! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: If there's one thing I've learnt from CS is that our student members have a lot of moolah! Dun pray pray ahh.....

hmm.. usually if i go AP, first thing on my mind will be to look for Steven.. after that... if other guys approach me.. i will say i am looking for Steven.. tats all... hahaha.. that young guy... attitude rather poor la... imagine i almost got K by him... he offered a pricing higher den Steven by 1 to 2 hundred dollars.... i so long nv go liaoz.. i think Steven forget me liao la... cham la...... :cry:

vandrew said:
Just went to Alan Photo in SLS this afternoon. Previously bought a 1GB Lexar 40X WA CF card at S$380 and intended to get another piece or a 2GB. The guy who served me was very rude. I told him I bought it at S$380 just 1 month ago and he said its impossible to give me the same price cos its below cost. I didn't believe it as I got the receipt to prove it. Then I asked him the price for the 2GB and said there is no stock rudely and told me to find it myself in the cupboard to check.

Very poor CS. I just walked out of the shop and went to East Gear to get it. AP is added to my blacklist of shops now and will never ever buy or recommend my overseas colleagues again to this shop. It has just become another shop like the others in SLS. :thumbsd:
The one run by half past sixes? Run fast!

Add me to the list. Poor service there. Rude sales personnel.

Dear CSers, let's all blacklisted this shop. Make sure all adhered to it and let them serve only the tourists, since they're only keen in foreigners!

1. Stick to the same person. To the right person and not the wrong person.

Recommendation: look for,

a)fair guy...usually in white collar T-shirt...short hair...... usually very short and sharp with attitude and prices.(boss)

b)the oldest of them all and short (Steve Lim)

2. No bargain. If the prices suit you, just buy it lah. Otherwise, walk out without any regrets.

3. Stick to the things you want. Don't let the salesperson recommend for you, otherwise he will chop you!

4. Go there on weekdays. On weekends, it is crowded and the service is unsatisfactory.

kingkangkong said:
its not a question of price. We arnt bitching about them ripping us off.
its about the service attitude. or rather the lack of good attitude.

someone mentioned its a customer and retailer relationship.
I totally agree.
I was IMPECCABLY polite. They were curt and rude.
Perhaps, they just dont like queen's english.
or they just dont like students.

Personally, AP prices are about the same as everyother shop in SLS.

I do not see students being disregarded as you have experienced. How did you get this feeling? Was it from your attire? If so, just move on to the next salesman

My personal experience is that AP is a little more tricky to deal with compared to Cathay or MS Color in terms of service and pricing.

However, I do not find the level of service as bad as what is claimed here. AP staff in general are not particularly courteous but I do not find them rude. Just avoid those who do not look too friendly. But the good thing is - as what some of you have mentioned, when you deal with some salesmen you do get exceptional service

As for pricing, I do find their pricing about the best among the major stores with Cathay being the most pricey. For example. a lens I asked for was quoted $1570 by TCW (but grey set), $1550 (by AP), $1590 (by MS Color) and $1695 by Cathay. Another lens I asked - AP quoted me $2369 and Cathay quoted me $2550.

I must add that I did not ask for e-quotes from Cathay & MS Color which would likely be lower, but I don't like the idea of e-quotes which is cumbersome, slow and even without replies. For AP, I don't need e-quotes to get good pricing and that's what I like about AP

It's your call, but I do find that all the major stores have their own niches - plus and minuses and peculiarities. Understand these and you'll be happier.

Virgo said:
Add me to the list. Poor service there. Rude sales personnel.

Dear CSers, let's all blacklisted this shop. Make sure all adhered to it and let them serve only the tourists, since they're only keen in foreigners!

I have experienced poor service from MS, AP, CP and even John 3:16.
BUT ... I have also experienced good service from MS, AP, CP and John 3:16.
Of course, I met different people when I got the good service.

When I am buying something, I always get the quotation from all of them. And usually other shops too, like Parisilk.
Compare the prices and then decide where to buy it from. You are the customer and you decide.

I don't really have 'friend' at MS, CP and John3:16.
But, at AP, I always see Peter. He treats me well. But, if MS, CP or John happened to have lower price, I will just go to them and get the stuff from them.

In general, Singapore has yet to improve its customer service.
Should we blacklist Singapore??
Of course not.

48 replies (almost all negative) and 1267 views, all within 24 hours for this thread. This says it all about AP, i think.

hlminolta said:
In general, Singapore has yet to improve its customer service.
Should we blacklist Singapore??
Of course not.
Actually, we are in no position to blacklist, since we live here. But tourists do. It is not uncommon nowadays for tourists to even rate Hong Kong's customer service as better than that in Singapore, which IMO says a helluva lot. Garmen should forget spending how ever much billion on revamping Sentosa, and instead should just try to educate retailers on the value of customer service. That would be money much better spent.

...value your own dignity?

$10? $5? May be $20?

For me...it's more. That's why I do my research over the phone and usually I go for the trust worthy ones like CP, LORDS or even CWS and yes, these old faithfuls (especially Sam from CP and James from Lords) give good, personal and friendly service. So...why why why do people, just for some measley price difference, go out of their way, get subjected to rude service? :think: Ain't worth it if you ask me.

Just give these Ang-moh a** kissers the cold shoulder and take your $$ elsewhere.

Mmm funny I have been persuade not to buy things at AP many times when I asked for certain items. They will tell me the truth and also let me try the items for me to decide myself. How is that for salesmenship. :bigeyes:

onlock said:
3. Stick to the things you want. Don't let the salesperson recommend for you, otherwise he will chop you!

Just a thought, do these salesperson earn commission for the sales that they bring in?

AP been giving some of us here very good prices that other shops can't beat (it's not $10, $5 or $20, add another zero behind these figures). Brought my friend, who's also a regular, there to get two cam bodies plus few other accessories. We actually didn't bother to check the goods even though the bill came up to a five-figure sum and salesperson actually insisted.

Yea, it's a shop in SLS. But why weren't we afraid of being "chopped" (like finding charger missing, item not working, etc, etc)?

It all boils down to one word, trust.

Another tip here... if you want to build a good PR with folks there, don't expect to win all the time. For example, if AP had saved me like a hundred bucks from the last sales, I wouldn't haggle over $10 just because its other competitors sell it $10 cheaper. Who doesn't want the best price/deal? Sometimes, just got to learn to give-and-take, I can guarantee you'll have more to gain in the long run, and make both buyer and seller happier ;)

Gymrat76 said:
Exactly, you're the customer, and YOU decide where and what to buy. I've never tried AP, so I can't say anything about them. I would recommend you to Lords in Lucky Plaza, though I've yet to buy anything from them, I've always been treated nicely and politely by staff there. Same goes for Parisilk at Holland.

Yep Ups for Parisilk in Holland... look for the more stately looking indian gentleman with the side parting... suspect he may be the manager... He speaks pretty well and knows his stuff well...

Also, theres another younger tall guy who is mebbe less stately, but knows his stuff too..

My family now regular customer of Parisilk.=) from digicamera to MD to wine cooler!!

On another note, perhaps more relevant to this thread, I suppose there are 2 sides to the coin. The presence of Angmohs may or may not be a good thing... cos with their presence, you find that some of the service ppl learn to be more articulate and will offer you more background and specs and tips on what youre buying... Others tho, will KA the less knowledgeable angmoh for $$...

In the end it boils down to the attitude of the sales ppl. The angmohs hardly are the crux of the problem! But like many of you, I would just leave if theyre being all nonchalant about it, even if they got rock bottom prices... rather pay more for another place where i will have a positive experience and have confidence that the product i buy wont break down as soon as i get home.=)

canturn said:
It all boils down to one word, trust.

Another tip here... if you want to build a good PR with folks there, don't expect to win all the time. For example, if AP had saved me like a hundred bucks from the last sales, I wouldn't haggle over $10 just because its other competitors sell it $10 cheaper. Who doesn't want the best price/deal? Sometimes, just got to learn to give-and-take, I can guarantee you'll have more to gain in the long run, and make both buyer and seller happier ;)

i agree, i think that a lot of buyers are super cheap, $5 also want to bargain/haggle.

Myself, i know what CP is charging. If cheaper than CP, good enough for me (because CP is actually cheaper than quite a few other places) Why try and bargain for another $5 off? When I bought my camera from AP, I didn't ask them what the price was. I just told them CP's price and they wrote out a receipt with a lower price.

AP was also one of the main sponsors of Clubsnap's birthday bash at the Zoo. If AP was only interested in making profits from tourists, why did it bother sponsoring a 'locals' events?

This thread had served it's purpose in sharing the thread starter's experience. It'll now be closed.

Marketplace