Advise on EF 85mm f/1.2 L II USM

Yup.. the usual stuff like USM and S curve to bump up the saturations and contrast.
But the bokeh is real. The light cream shot is taken at Changi Airport Terminal 3, the lighting is low but the 1.8 is still able to handle it well.

tempting tempting... but having the 85mm on my 40D while walking around really put a big constraint on the type of shots i could take...

on a 1.6x crop .. you get a 135mm thereabouts equivalent.. but @ F1.8/F1.2 :sweat:

Incidentally, you already sold both the mk I and mk II away. :bsmilie:

I sold the MK2, kept the MK1 (since some joker offer me 1.1K for the MK1 just because it's old lens). From image quality, I can't really see any diff between the 2, and AF speed diff between the two weren't enough to make a difference in my hit rate.

I would suggest you consider the 70-200 f/2.8 IS/Non-IS for its versatility, especially if you intend to use it to shoot your boys whom I believe are very active :)

Hi ray_stinger, yes i have seriously considered the 70-200 f/2.8 IS. Went to the shop, attached it and found that it was just too much for me. Can't have the best of everything i know but the bulk and weight is a real turn off for me. Also the hollywood white will attract plenty of attention, especially those who's used to taking without asking.... ;)

Hi airbooster, the 85/1.2Ls are not for fast moving children regardless of indoor or outdoor, with or without flash. The AF is rather slow and coupled with the shallow DOF at f/1.2, your keeper rate will be seriously affected. If you are fixed on the 85mm focal length, the 85/1.8 is the best one for your intended use. AF is among the fastest and 1.8 is more forgiving and still gives very good bokeh.

If you really wish to rent to try it out for yourself, can try rental companies/services such as http://www.camerarental.biz/canon.php. Btw, I'm not advertising for them, just helping you find one that has both the 85/1.2II and 85/1.8 for rent.

HiFlyer,

Tks for the link. Will see if it makes sense in my case to rent first esp the 1.2L. And yes the super shallow DOF and slow AF is a real concern for me right now. Haiz. Kids just wont stay still.... hehe

This is shot at F1.2....hand hold. Cat is moving and turning head most of the time. (No post porcessing done, resized only)

Hi lightning,

Wow tks for the pics! It does say a thousand words! Now you are really getting my heart racing... hehe

Yeah.. 85L is my dream lens but I have tried it once before buying and the AF is really slow. Unless the subject is stationary, you would have a hard time getting the AF locked. But once you got the right focus, the result is amazing.. drool.. it's shines well in low light condition, e.g. your boys bedroom, playground at night etc.

The 85 1.8 on the other hand is fast, lighter and cheap. I got a 2nd hand for about $350. Unless you got money to burn or do this for a living, I would suggest getting the 1.8 instead.

After lightning's post, i was convinced. But after your post, i am confused...:bsmilie:

Hmm, i dont do it for a living. so perhaps the 1.8 is the way to go. TKS!

friends?

or your colleagues?
drool.gif

Hehe, magic ice breaker mah. Take pics then offer to email, print, show, meet up for editing.... ;p

This will really take photography to a new level. Did i hear someone says "foreplay".. haha

Okok please queue up to sign the release form.:angel:

If I have fast moving children outdoors, I would use the Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM. The bokeh isn't as pretty as the EF 85mm f/1.2 L II USM but it focuses so much faster.

Unless the kids sit still, the EF 85mm f/1.2 L II USM is not going to be much use.

Good luck if you are going to use the 85mm f1.2L on hyper-active kids running around.

If you think that the 85mm f1.2L can do the job, why not the 85mm f1.8?

The only main difference is the bokeh. How creamy do you want it to be since you are not shooting professionally? Bokeh from the 85mm f1.8 is good enough.

Furthermore, the shallow DOF at f1.2 is a challenge if you dun know how to handle it. Most of your shots will be unusable like what flyer had mentioned.

Good luck if you are going to use the 85mm f1.2L on hyper-active kids running around.

If you think that the 85mm f1.2L can do the job, why not the 85mm f1.8?

The only main difference is the bokeh. How creamy do you want it to be since you are not shooting professionally? Bokeh from the 85mm f1.8 is good enough.

Furthermore, the shallow DOF at f1.2 is a challenge if you dun know how to handle it. Most of your shots will be unusable like what flyer had mentioned.

Wah i really hate people like you. Pull me back to earth so quickly.... i was somewhere near pluto already... ... hehe just joking kay.

ok i got your point. And with the price falling, it's really a no brainer.

Will probably do the right thing. ;)

Wah i really hate people like you. Pull me back to earth so quickly.... i was somewhere near pluto already... ... hehe just joking kay.

I'm getting my 85mm f/1.8 within the week too =) 85mm f/1.2L? No way, not for the price and little increase in IQ & Bokeh.

No problem. :)

It is always the issue between wants and needs.

After lightning's post, i was convinced. But after your post, i am confused...:bsmilie:

Hmm, i dont do it for a living. so perhaps the 1.8 is the way to go. TKS!

Some of my shots taken using 85F1.8...to me, its enuff liao...save your $$ for the FF upgrade lah...

85F1.8 now selling for $515 at CP, its a steal...I think I paid $600+...not to mention the weight of 85F1.2...:sweat:

2606973649_501fe82e58.jpg

2606949523_5c9fe84053.jpg

Some of my shots taken using 85F1.8...to me, its enuff liao...save your $$ for the FF upgrade lah...

85F1.8 now selling for $515 at CP, its a steal...I think I paid $600+...not to mention the weight of 85F1.2...

Hey coolsigg,

Tks for the pics. Did you shoot both pics wide open? Nice to isolate her from her beau on your 2nd pic :cool: For an event shoot like this, i am surprised you have your 85 with you considering the 'dynamic' nature of such. I would normally chicken out and pull out a zoom. But these are really superb shots nonetheless. The bokeh nice and round.

Do you have any experience with the 50 f/1.2L or 50 f/1.4? If so, do they produce equally nice bokeh? Incidentally the 50 f/1.4 is the same price as 85 f/1.8 and on my 40D the 50 will essentially be 80mm. Issit also true that once i upgrade to FF, the 50mm will become white elephant?

Thanks!

tempting tempting... but having the 85mm on my 40D while walking around really put a big constraint on the type of shots i could take...

Hahaha , the type of shots you take will require the EF 600mm f/4.0 L IS USM. :bigeyes:

From one skyscraper to the other , shooting urban tigress.... :bsmilie:

Hey coolsigg,

Tks for the pics. Did you shoot both pics wide open? Nice to isolate her from her beau on your 2nd pic :cool: For an event shoot like this, i am surprised you have your 85 with you considering the 'dynamic' nature of such. I would normally chicken out and pull out a zoom. But these are really superb shots nonetheless. The bokeh nice and round.

Do you have any experience with the 50 f/1.2L or 50 f/1.4? If so, do they produce equally nice bokeh? Incidentally the 50 f/1.4 is the same price as 85 f/1.8 and on my 40D the 50 will essentially be 80mm. Issit also true that once i upgrade to FF, the 50mm will become white elephant?

Thanks!

1 shot wide open at F1.8, the other at F2. ;)

I used to have 50F1.4. bokeh wise, definitely 85 is nicer due to the longer focal length.

I don't agree the part about white elephant. each lens serve different purpose and all depends on the user. only you can answer the question yourself. :)

don't forget that in the film days, 50mm is considered a normal lens and i read that Bryan Peterson started out with only a SLR with 50mm lens because he couldn't afford anything else.

Bro when I get my 85 f/1.8 (which is some time soon), I will tempt you and convince you that f/1.8 is enough.

Why? Simply because it usually is. I am not a full-time professional, so I cannot justify the premium of the f/1.2. Furthermore, the nature of what I shoot (events, candids, street, still life) will not permit much tolerance for the slower focusing of the f/1.2.

Also, the weight of the f/1.2 (my basic set up of a 24-70 and 1DII is already heavy enough), and the fact that I probably won't be shooting at f/1.2 too much (low keeper rate, razor thin shallow DOF), gives me less reason to bother spending on it.

85 F1.2 MII AF is not too bad. Used it in event before...keeper rate...80% at F1.6 and above. You need to understand the lens limitation and strength. If have tried a few candid on 85 F1.2, the result is sweet. It just add the "wow" to the photo. Let me see if I can find any pics to show. The bokeh of the 85 F1.8 is Hexagon, while the F1.2L is over or close to round.

The primary attraction of the 85mm f1.2L is the superb bokeh.

However, ask yourself this question - For $3,000 vs $510, is it justifiable because of bokeh.

At the end of the day, how much money do you have or want to spend? If cash is not an issue, then just get both lenses. Case closed, right, isn't it? ;p