Adorama Covering up on KM 28-75 f2.8 $199 Error ???

tankm

After a good tip-off by one of the CS member on Adorama special offer for the KM 28-75 f2.8 for US$199, I went on to order one.

First e-mail I got from them states they do not accept Singapore credit card. Part of 1st e-mail below.

In order for your order to be shipped to your country (Singapore), we must
receive payment in advance via bank wire transfer or a check paid in US funds,
which will have to clear prior to shipment.
We do not accept credit card orders from this country, sorry for the
inconvenience.

Wire transfer information;
ABA #???????
CHASE MANHATTAN BANK
ACCOUNT # ??????
73 West 23rd St
NYC NY 10011

Now I got a second e-mail stating they do not ship to Singapore.

Thanks for your order, but we dont ship to Singapore
Your order will NOT be processed with credit card payment.
Your order is cancelled..

Will like to know from other CS member who have done business with them, do they accept Singapore credit card for payment ? and is it true they do not ship to Singapore ?

thanks for any inputs and comments.

no use whining lah... its not meant to be.... its not meant to be....

been trying to get some stuff from US lately, all seem to say dun ship to singapore... have to go direct to manufacturer to buy at higher price.

order and send via vpostUSA lor. tried the service twice, so far so good.

Usual story, the few bad apples have given the whole a bad name. - basically all of Asia, south & east are more or less blacklisted in the US and many other parts of the world. Mostly this is due to paranoia rather then fact, but the end result is that it is reallity and won't change in a hurry.

I believe there is a way to setup a US mailing address which will then forward on your package to Singapore - I think it's called vpost or something like that, as for payment, you're basically limited to TT unless you have friends in another country, not necessarily the US...

Sorry to hear that.

Strange though :think:, I was using DBS credit card, but ship to VPost instead of direct to Singapore. And I got the confirmation letter as below.

Either they don't accept Singapore posting address or they have low stock already? Or different co-ordinator process differently? :dunno:

Hi

Thank you for shopping at http://www.adorama.com.

Enclosed please find a copy of your invoice.
The Invoice No. is xxxxxxx.

We would like to notify you that the order you
placed with adorama.com, has been shipped to:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
East Victoria Street
C/o Meridian Iq
90221, CA 90221 USA

on 03-08-2006 Via Ups Ground Delivery.

The Tracking No. for box# 1 is xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.
You can track this shipment at:
http://wwwapps.ups.com/etracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
(Please allow 12 hours for your tracking info to be updated.)
If you have any questions please feel free to call or email us.

Thanks again for placing your order and trust with Adorama Camera.
We look forward to serve you on your next visit to:
http://www.adorama.com

Thank You

service@adorama.com
Adorama Camera Inc
42 West 18th Street
New York, NY 10011
Tel#: (212) 741-0052
(800) 223-2500
Fax#: (212) 463-7223
www.adorama.com

zcf said:
Sorry to hear that.

Strange though :think:, I was using DBS credit card, but ship to VPost instead of direct to Singapore. And I got the confirmation letter as below.

Either they don't accept Singapore posting address or they have low stock already? Or different co-ordinator process differently? :dunno:

Must be serial processing, i.e. if the address checks out then no other checks are made - who knows????

actually i have order some lens from them before. no problem so far. still waiting for my sigma 17 - 70 .....

l_n_h said:
actually i have order some lens from them before. no problem so far. still waiting for my sigma 17 - 70 .....
please let us know how the Sigma 17 - 70mm perform, quite interested also.

caseytan said:
order and send via vpostUSA lor. tried the service twice, so far so good.
i have ordered through vpost also...
maybe you better use vpost...

sure acceptable....

The main reason I post this is to find out if Adorama do accept Singapore credit card and do they ship to Singapore ? Just want to know so that I can decide if I want to have any future business dealing with them.

If they don't for both, I will not be bother to order anything from them in the future.

If they do for both, what they have done so far is just an excuse to cut down on their loses on their error. I will gladly terminate the order if they come forward and admit is an error on their part. :)

l_n_h said:

Did you use credit card for payment and shipping it to Singapore ?

I think most people aware it's not a G lens, but the price is still consider great for a new KM 28-75mm f/2.8 lens (though may be without local warranty).

Seem like Adorama don't think that is a mistake, as the 7D + KM 28-75mm f/2.8 lens is bundled on sales. And it is selling at great price (US$999.95) also ;p , and it's still on.

http://www.adorama.com/IMN7DK1.html

This the good chance to get a great camera (7D) and great lens at such a good price ;) .

zcf said:
I think most people aware it's not a G lens, but the price is still consider great for a new KM 28-75mm f/2.8 lens (though may be without local warranty).

Seem like Adorama don't think that is a mistake, as the 7D + KM 28-75mm f/2.8 lens is bundled on sales. And it is selling at great price (US$999.95) also ;p , and it's still on.

http://www.adorama.com/IMN7DK1.html

This the good chance to get a great camera (7D) and great lens at such a good price ;) .

OMG, it's so cheap package with D7D with 28-75 f2.8! Wonder where can we ever get this package in SG.. :(

tokrot said:
OMG, it's so cheap package with D7D with 28-75 f2.8! Wonder where can we ever get this package in SG.. :(
You don't need to get it in Singapore, but buy it in US and send it through Vpost ;) .

Though you will need to add on exchange rate charge, postage and 5% GST :(

tankm said:
The main reason I post this is to find out if Adorama do accept Singapore credit card and do they ship to Singapore ? Just want to know so that I can decide if I want to have any future business dealing with them.

If they don't for both, I will not be bother to order anything from them in the future.

If they do for both, what they have done so far is just an excuse to cut down on their loses on their error. I will gladly terminate the order if they come forward and admit is an error on their part. :)

Did you use credit card for payment and shipping it to Singapore ?

yap. UOB mastercard.

You might want to email Adorama to check if they have any issues with your credit card. I recently bought something from them and also received the same email. Nonetheless, when I emailed them to seek clarification, Adorama said it was ok and my order was being processed. Received the items with no further problems.

wah... if you emailing them again to clarify... help me order one more at the same price leh... heh.. that day got something on... then missed the great deal =/

Why not get a friend in US to buy for you and ship it over? Maybe some US folks in this forum can help?

tankm said:
After a good tip-off by one of the CS member on Adorama special offer for the KM 28-75 f2.8 for US$199, I went on to order one.

First e-mail I got from them states they do not accept Singapore credit card. Part of 1st e-mail below.

In order for your order to be shipped to your country (Singapore), we must
receive payment in advance via bank wire transfer or a check paid in US funds,
which will have to clear prior to shipment.
We do not accept credit card orders from this country, sorry for the
inconvenience.

Wire transfer information;
ABA #???????
CHASE MANHATTAN BANK
ACCOUNT # ??????
73 West 23rd St
NYC NY 10011

Now I got a second e-mail stating they do not ship to Singapore.

Thanks for your order, but we dont ship to Singapore
Your order will NOT be processed with credit card payment.
Your order is cancelled..

Will like to know from other CS member who have done business with them, do they accept Singapore credit card for payment ? and is it true they do not ship to Singapore ?

thanks for any inputs and comments.

Thanks everyone for your suggestion and information.

The lens is shipped and on the way to Singapore.....:D

tankm said:
Thanks everyone for your suggestion and information.

The lens is shipped and on the way to Singapore.....:D
Good to know that :), I am still waiting for mine, still hasn't reach Vpost yet, a bit slow :( .

Did you go through Vpost or other methods?