A850: More details...

OT a little... wat raw processing software r u guys using. Would love this for nxt upgrade as getting tired with the 7D slow hit-n-miss AF. However, my old PC (Athlon 2500) cant install the current Photoshop. Last time I got a free copy of PhaseOne with the Sandisk Extreme iii.

So, once upgrade, have to consider a PC upgrade as well. Oh boy... its gonna cost :sweat:

OT a little... wat raw processing software r u guys using. Would love this for nxt upgrade as getting tired with the 7D slow hit-n-miss AF. However, my old PC (Athlon 2500) cant install the current Photoshop. Last time I got a free copy of PhaseOne with the Sandisk Extreme iii.

So, once upgrade, have to consider a PC upgrade as well. Oh boy... its gonna cost :sweat:

For me, I am using Linux, so it may not be suitable for you. Though, looking at the file size (I am using A900), get yourself at least a core 2 CPU and minimum 2 GB (the more the better) RAM.

You can get a "definitely strong enough" PC for 1k.

And my preferred software is Capture 1 Pro. The amount of details that it retains even at high ISO... :sweat:

Many a time, its not just the $. I dread spending the usual 8-12hrs to migrate, install and config my PC. Juz realised I still have 1 pending upgrade for my Capture1 and installed it last nite.

And my preferred software is Capture 1 Pro. The amount of details that it retains even at high ISO... :sweat:

Capture 1 Pro? Is it better than Lightroom? I am used to the Lightroom interface and ease of use liao.. but open to better software...:)

details retain at high ISO? u mean after the noise reduction process @ Capture 1 Pro?

Capture 1 Pro? Is it better than Lightroom? I am used to the Lightroom interface and ease of use liao.. but open to better software...:)

details retain at high ISO? u mean after the noise reduction process @ Capture 1 Pro?

Lightroom and Camera RAW (Both Adobe products) mangle the details of the SONY RAW files and also boost noise apparently... it's something to do with the software engine not optimising the conversion of RAW files...
C1 Pro is supposed to be the best for now... but it's interface is not as good as Lightroom... that's all that I've read. You can read up David Kilpatrick's test at www.photoclubalpha.com.

WOW.....i didn't know that!

thought all raw processing sw process the files more or less the same way..

WOW.....i didn't know that!

thought all raw processing sw process the files more or less the same way..

From what I learnt, Sony uses proprietary raw file format.

Happily burnt a hole in pocket :P

Feels good to have a solid body in my hands again. Strangely I do not see a flash cap holder to park on the camera strap....

You already got A850?

That thing on the strap is not a flash cap holder. That is the viewfinder eyepiece cover for use when shooting long exposure. It is to prevent light leak from the viewfinder.
It is missing from the A900 and A850 is because their viewfinders already have a built-in cover. You can activate it via the lever found on the left of the viewfinder. ;)

Then where can I park the flash cap?

Put in your bag lor... I don't remove until I need to use the flash... anyway I have lost it also now come to think of it... haha...

Oic, kk one good ergonomic feature design they took out.... time to keep it somewhere first

i compared some shots taken with A850 and A700 at similar ISO levels (1000, 1250 and 1600) and the noise levels of the RAW files of A850 seem to be higher than that of the A700.

is it just me or?:dunno:

i compared some shots taken with A850 and A700 at similar ISO levels (1000, 1250 and 1600) and the noise levels of the RAW files of A850 seem to be higher than that of the A700.

is it just me or?:dunno:

You need to learn PP the picture

8831_130986247903_651472903_2371074_7347011_n.jpg

ISO6400, using A900

I'm shooting up to ISO 800~1600 thee days for indoor concerts. The A900 performs really well for the high ISO with good fast lens. My workflow is .arw (raw) post processed in Aperture. I hardly use much photoshop these days.

You need to learn PP the picture

8831_130986247903_651472903_2371074_7347011_n.jpg

ISO6400, using A900

I was comparing straight out of camera RAW shots. :)

but then again, that's real good noise reduction u did. Mind teaching me some of your tricks?

I'm shooting up to ISO 800~1600 thee days for indoor concerts. The A900 performs really well for the high ISO with good fast lens. My workflow is .arw (raw) post processed in Aperture. I hardly use much photoshop these days.

I usually process the raw files in LR and that's it too. I dun really use photoshop but use GIMP for really complex image manipulation.

Was happy (though i can be happier with better noise performance - but that's a separate issue altogether) with A700 ISO performance especially i shoot low-light events at ISO 1000 - 1600 too. The firmware v4 lets me totally turn off NR but the raw files are still acceptable if not pixel-peeping. :)

However, A850 picture seems noisy even on the camera LCD screen :dunno: have yet to explore it on the PC. Not enough time to explore it but will take it out for a spin and really compare.