A55 or A580?

As was mentioned earlier that 30% light goes to EVF while 70% goes to the Image sensor only.

Would that mean that we have to maintain a default EV +0.3 for all our shooting at ALL the time for the A33/55 models ?

Because the image sensor is always receiving lesser light than there is, I think this is a disadvantage.
The picture to be taken will always require a slower shutter spend, higher ISO or larger aperture. Correct ?

:confused::confused::confused:

Perhaps academically correct however you also left out another advantage that without the mirror flap , the in camera vibrations are eliminated ! :) your slow shutter speeds are more usable now too. 1/3 loss is really small loss ba, after all Sony has compensated with a sensor that's more iso capable I think it evens out at the end of the day

Sony's AF has ALWAYS been fast and accurate and always used phase-detect AF, unlike the slow-as-mud contrast detect Canon and Nikon use in Liveview mode. Every review out there has praised Sony's AF for it's speed and accuracy, especially in difficult lighting conditions.

So I'm not sure what your issue is, Sony was already excellent in AF and now they're getting better. :dunno:

That's a very bold statement ............ what really counts is the AF tracking .... like when you are shooting an oncoming subject. So far, the A55 seems to be lagging in this area as assessed in DPR. :think:

What good is 10fps if all the shots are OOF ............. :p

That's a very bold statement ............ what really counts is the AF tracking .... like when you are shooting an oncoming subject. So far, the A55 seems to be lagging in this area as assessed in DPR. :think:

What good is 10fps if all the shots are OOF ............. :p

Dpr compared a55 to d3s and 1dmk4 which is not fair. Dpr also mentioned for the same price range, a55 af is hard to beat.

Btw are we buying things based on what dpr says??? :dunno:

taking away the 10fps, the rest of the features IQ already beat all competitors with same price range.

dun expect a sub 1k camera to perform as well as 2-6k plus camera,
unless one is going to shoot sport for living. most entry level camera will performance with limitation with regard to afc accuracy. what a33 had in offer is unrivalled fast liveview and high fps shooting at less than 1k.
plus the advantage of having good n useful feature like the panaromic mode....think of the shot u able to take with a 8-16 sigma ultra ;)

Dpr compared a55 to d3s and 1dmk4 which is not fair. Dpr also mentioned for the same price range, a55 af is hard to beat.

Btw are we buying things based on what dpr says??? :dunno:

taking away the 10fps, the rest of the features IQ already beat all competitors with same price range.

OK ..... but just look at the AF test data on this camera ...... Imaging Source .... 10FPS but with the shutter lag 0.22s and 0.103s (Full and Pre-AF) ..... you will not get your 10 shots all in focus for sure if you shoot randomly. :)

Power-on Time 0.9 sec
Shutter Lag,
Full Autofocus 0.220 sec
Shutter Lag,
Prefocused 0.103 sec
Shot to Shot time 0.52 sec
Continuous Speed 9.04 fps
(32 shots)

OK ..... but just look at the AF test data on this camera ...... Imaging Source .... 10FPS but with the shutter lag 0.22s and 0.103s (Full and Pre-AF) ..... you will not get your 10 shots all in focus for sure if you shoot randomly. :)

Power-on Time 0.9 sec
Shutter Lag,
Full Autofocus 0.220 sec
Shutter Lag,
Prefocused 0.103 sec
(32 shots)

shoo...go away...dun disturb the sony newbies and haolian:sticktong with yr 10k worth of high end cameras :sticktong

Let him compare lo, using a 10k equipment vs 1k equipment. This mean, next time he planning to sell his gear, should be about 1k la.:bsmilie:

Power-on Time 0.9 sec
Shutter Lag,
Full Autofocus 0.220 sec
Shutter Lag,
Prefocused 0.103 sec
(32 shots)

Most dslrs of this price range has shutter lag of 0.2-0.5, including pre and Full focus. Mirrorless perform between 0.3-1s even.

So for less than 0.2, i would say its quite good already. You must also consider than since it has no mirror flap, this 0.2 should be simultaneously during shutter closes, so its negligible and thats why can go up to 10fps.

having shoo mr zen away...however i do agreed with his part on the afc..which i feel sony still need to improve.... as for af(single)... i confident enough to said that the a850 can beat both his high end cameras in total darkness environment

Most dslrs of this price range has shutter lag of 0.2-0.5, including pre and Full focus. Mirrorless perform between 0.3-1s even.

So for less than 0.2, i would say its quite good already. You must also consider than since it has no mirror flap, this 0.2 should be simultaneously during shutter closes, so its negligible and thats why can go up to 10fps.

My NX10 can do better .... 30FPS ........ for 1s .....can at least get 10 good shots .....cheaper than A55 somemore........ :p

having shoo mr zen away...however i do agreed with his part on the afc..which i feel sony still need to improve.... as for af(single)... i confident enough to said that the a850 can beat both his high end cameras in total darkness environment

.....what hi-end camera? NX10? ......... manual focusing even I cannot do that in total darkness ............. :p

My NX10 can do better .... 30FPS ........ for 1s .....can at least get 10 good shots .....cheaper than A55 somemore........ :p

Aiyo, need to really calculate till so precise meh? 9.04 or something else fps is consider enough loh...

Why you need those super types of spec for dslr leh, when you are not shooting a 700++KMH rocket dragster leh?

Aiyo, need to really calculate till so precise meh? 9.04 or something else fps is consider enough loh...

Why you need those super types of spec for dslr leh, when you are not shooting a 700++KMH rocket dragster leh?

.... dun get us wrong .... we are not undermining the capabilty of the Sony Cams ..... just TCSS here :)............. the day will come when your Sony cam can capture an oncoming bullet ......but make sure that it's built like the Nikon F5 ............ :p

Use your equipment as it was meant to be ................ peace, prosperity and progress to all ......... :cheers:

Hm nx10 suffers from severe afc tracking problems right ?

Anyway if want to pick flaws thee are plenty to pick for every CAm de :)

A55 innovative pdt , don't cost you an arm or leg. Want perfect 10fps with spot on aft tracking , I think I want to charge a head for that

Yeah agree that peace to all for all camera users , handphone cameras to NASA Hubble scope !

Just an interesting note from Luminous Landscape: the author has never used a video camera with the kind of AF tracking accuracy and speed at any budget... given this issue about AF tracking accuracy, it seems that the AF module was optimised to track for video rather than still shots... the lag that DPR reports would make sense since there is more latitude in video than still shots... in any case, even the hughly vaunted 1Ds Mk3 AI-Servo AF mode took 3 firmware updates to tame and even then it does not work as advertised... AF tracking for still shots is still pretty iffy actually even in the best cameras... I never use it in my A900 for that reason since the camera does not really know what you want to shoot...

geeesh, can some one comment about A55 vs. Canon 550D?
tat will be fair, rite? Canon 550D is older... but the price still more expansive, rite?

Power-on Time 0.9 sec
Shutter Lag,
Full Autofocus 0.220 sec
Shutter Lag,
Prefocused 0.103 sec
(32 shots)

Lets compare the A55 with D5000 and 550D, since all these models are similarly priced. All these 3 are shooting a fast moving object. Its impossible for entry level DSLRs like the D5000, 550D and A55 to achieve 100% AF in fast subjects. But 50% is entirely possible.

So if all cameras gets a hit rate of 50%, the A55 would hv 5 pictures in focus, and the 550D / 5000D would have 1-2 only.

And the 550D is more expensive than the A55... D5000 should be same price.

Infact even if the 550D and D5000 achieved a 100% AF focus (which is impossible, these 2 camera's AF arent that fast), they would still have lesser pictures than the A55. Not to mention the mirror slap vibrations at continuous shots will be more pronounced, it will cause even more shots to be blurred, whereas the A55 has no mirror slap.

Seriously speaking, I dont think I can find a better sports camera for around $1k than the A33/A55. Not to mention it has the fastest AF speed in video mode of all DSLRs, which is a big bonus.

Lets compare the A55 with D5000 and 550D, since all these models are similarly priced. All these 3 are shooting a fast moving object. Its impossible for entry level DSLRs like the D5000, 550D and A55 to achieve 100% AF in fast subjects. But 50% is entirely possible.

So if all cameras gets a hit rate of 50%, the A55 would hv 5 pictures in focus, and the 550D / 5000D would have 1-2 only.

And the 550D is more expensive than the A55... D5000 should be same price.

since... 550D and A55 are mentioned, found this video testing on youtube, from this i guess we should know which video quality is better.

[vid]kHPaVD0pHpQ[/vid]

What I like about the A55 i the Auto focus during the process of video capturing... The af motor turn silently like how the professional video camera does. it does not do the photo way of af. The other is the design... :D it reminds me of the medium format cameras just that it is small. Anyway just a small note for nikon users saying that sony is lousy... guess what nikon buy camera sensors from sony, so what will it reflect about nikon if you say sony is lousy??.. :D

Peace..

seems like A55 is the way to go! now is to wait till they come to sg, compare price and try it out :D:D