A leica Wedding

bene123

Snaps from a wedding

<object width="400" height="300" ><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="movie" value="http://www.facebook.com/v/426887773918" /><embed src="http://www.facebook.com/v/426887773918" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="400" height="300"></embed></object>

If doesn't work its on
http://behindthatleica.blogspot.com/2010/08/wedding-2010.html

benedict,

very nice. can you tell me more about it ? i did not see flash being used, i presumed you used high ISO, is this on film or digital leica ? thanks

Guys, just saw this thread which is relevant to me.

I am requested to use Leica M9 to shoot a wedding dinner. I need to cover the following segments:-

1. cocktail reception
  2. march in "here comes the bride"
  3. stage ceremony ie cut the cake etc
  4. speech
  5. Table to Table group shooting

I'd be very grateful if any big brother here can help with my questions:-

1. Am I correct to say Leica M9 for wedding dinner will need flash? Dunno whether hotel ambience going to have low light or bright light.

2. Should I bring lenses focal length 50mm or 35mm? I only got these 2. Currently I am leaning towards 35mm.

I know there is no hard/fast rule, but I am not trying to do anything fanciful. All I aim to achieve is a standard series of pictures. As long as clear, then can already. I am an amateur and this is my first wedding shoot so I am very daunted. This is my good friend so I cannot let him down.

Thank you for any tips you can give.

I am still wondering whether i should bring a flash -coz i got no flash for my m9. dun wan to buy unless really need.

Did they hire a videographer? If yes, then you could make use of the available lights from the videographer side.

50mm or 35mm? I think you need both.

Hi Shot on digital ISO 640 with my trusty VC 35 1.2 and CronV4 with sf58 set on Msoft. Half were flash shots. I was quite lucky the ambient light was good so the mixing of light worked. the Flash was off camera with nikon sc-28.
On Mr Foo and M9. It shows what happens when you have a inexperience RFer. Makes me fume.

For better work look at Mr Sean Reid (http://www.still-photo.net/wedding/home.htm) and Mr C Kuang (http://www.39eastphotography.com/)

Hi Shot on digital ISO 640 with my trusty VC 35 1.2 and CronV4 with sf58 set on Msoft. Half were flash shots. I was quite lucky the ambient light was good so the mixing of light worked. the Flash was off camera with nikon sc-28.
On Mr Foo and M9. It shows what happens when you have a inexperience RFer. Makes me fume.

For better work look at Mr Sean Reid (http://www.still-photo.net/wedding/home.htm) and Mr C Kuang (http://www.39eastphotography.com/)

Sorry about the not so positive link that affected your mood.:sweat:

LOL its ok. it makes my pic look distinct why my "style"

Did they hire a videographer? If yes, then you could make use of the available lights from the videographer side.

50mm or 35mm? I think you need both.

Got videographer. I am checking the light source. We all friends of the groom so I should be able to ride on the videographer's light. Difficult part is how to partner with videographer. My fixed lens means I must run around alot...

In Steve Huff's article, he did not use flash at all. He use M9 at ISO2500 at the wedding leh. And he say no need noise reduction. I'm not quite sure those dark dark ambience in Singapore hotel ballroom ISO2500 can make it...

I just did one on M8 + Nokton 50mm F1.1

Manual focus is damn shag when wanna cover moments.... or was I too drunk :think:

Anyway, the walk in is quite hard on manual focus, not pro enough to focus fast....
Try using 35mm, with flash & scale focus.

miss the walk in, all the shots blur, so only can take back view:
4875590809_a785d369c7.jpg

Morning Church wedding was easier, use CV 15mm on my hexar with Tri-X pushed to 1600, basically become P&S
4874986308_286f78cf8a.jpg

& most of the time I didnt get fantastic stuff because I didnt wanna get in the way of the official photographer doing his job

yes precisely my main worry is the march-in.

becauses march-in:-

(i) got very limited time available,
(ii) always under low light condition;
(iii) RF fixed lens need to find good positioning and "zoom" with legs; and
(iv) manual focus need to be sibeh fast and zun.

backup photographer is very relaxing. But main photographer very stress...

wah Royale, you do wedding photogaphy can get drunk wan...haha

Light dont have to worry, there will be alot of light blasted down on the newly weds when they march in but if there is dry ice, wa lau, good luck :bsmilie:
Its just the manual focus during march in, you gotta be damn fast

I shot F1.1 the DOF damn thin, all mis focus, si beh sian.. heehee, beer free flow lei ;)

HI Artspraken,

I use a leica m at every wedding i shoot and here's my thoughts

yes, i would certainly recommend using a flash, the reason being the hotels lights tend to be very directional during the cocktail reception and odds are you're going to at least want a little fill. for the march in and cake cutting, most of the time they will have spotlights on the couple, so shortage of lighting is not a problem generally and you won't need flash. And table to table you're certinaly going to want a flash.

if you're shooting raw at high iso, i would recommend shooting with a bias toward overexposure rather that a bias towards underexposure. This will reduce the noise in the images form the M9 considerably.

for lenses, if you're going to do table shots, odds are you're going to need a 24mm. Then just set to 1/30 at F8, set the hyperfocal distance on the lens, use flash and fire away. no need to worry about focusing and all.

for the rest of the evening, I would recommend a 50mm. 35mm is a little wide to shoot across the tables and to shoot stuff on the stage. So my take is a 24mm and a 50mm.

Guys, just saw this thread which is relevant to me.

I am requested to use Leica M9 to shoot a wedding dinner. I need to cover the following segments:-

1. cocktail reception
  2. march in "here comes the bride"
  3. stage ceremony ie cut the cake etc
  4. speech
  5. Table to Table group shooting

I'd be very grateful if any big brother here can help with my questions:-

1. Am I correct to say Leica M9 for wedding dinner will need flash? Dunno whether hotel ambience going to have low light or bright light.

2. Should I bring lenses focal length 50mm or 35mm? I only got these 2. Currently I am leaning towards 35mm.

I know there is no hard/fast rule, but I am not trying to do anything fanciful. All I aim to achieve is a standard series of pictures. As long as clear, then can already. I am an amateur and this is my first wedding shoot so I am very daunted. This is my good friend so I cannot let him down.

Thank you for any tips you can give.

for the march it, you will find it very very difficult to try and track the couple. my advice is to use the focus trap technique.

Problem with video light is that while it allows you to increase your shutter speed, it might still not be enough to freeze motion, that's why i still use a flash. Also, I won't count too much on videographer light because you'll be very limited in your angles and distance to subject to avoid blocking the vdo guy. If you think you want to go down the video light route instead of using strobe like the leica sf-24D, i would recommend just running out and buying one of those led lights/light panels so you won't be too limited by the vdo lights.

Got videographer. I am checking the light source. We all friends of the groom so I should be able to ride on the videographer's light. Difficult part is how to partner with videographer. My fixed lens means I must run around alot...

In Steve Huff's article, he did not use flash at all. He use M9 at ISO2500 at the wedding leh. And he say no need noise reduction. I'm not quite sure those dark dark ambience in Singapore hotel ballroom ISO2500 can make it...

Dear ckuang Sir,

Please accept my grateful thanks for your tips. Very much appreciated.

artspraken

die liao, I dun have 24mm lei.

Table to Table photography at wedding dinner need 24mm so wide?

If I use 35mm, do you think can make ppl squeeze...

haiz, if cannot i think i need to go and rent a wide lens

Hi Artspraken, whether you can get by on 35mm is going to be more of a question of which hotel? which ballroom? and how many tables? if there's quite a lot of space between the tables, you should have no problem.

Unfortunately, in most singaporean weddings, the ballrooms tend to be packed to the max with tables and sometimes it hard to be able to even take a step back. If you can't get a 35mm lens, you'll need to just be really careful as to where and how you split the group. the 24mm means you can get through the table shots faster and spend more time on the creative shots.